Exhibition Women in Design 2020+

Detail: Khoja Shiya Imami Ismaili Jamatkhana Detail: © Chirodeep Chaudhuri

Wed, 08.01.2020 -
Thu, 20.02.2020

Gallery MMB

Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan
K. Dubash Marg, Kala Ghoda
400001 Mumbai

Curated by HECAR Foundation and SNK - Somaya and Kalappa Consultants

The exhibition will include the digital Design Manifesto 2020+; the captivating works of Indian street photographer Chirodeep Chaudhuri, Indian weave installation in collaboration with textile designer Vinay Narkar and glimpses of exhibits featuring women designers from India and around the World.

The digital Design Manifesto aims to curate the beliefs and philosophy of women designers of India. It is the belief or ideology of women to come together and have their voices heard as creators and innovators. It is a beginning of a record of what has gone before, what stands today and what the future holds in the minds of Indians and women of the world working in architecture and design.
The manifesto portrays the past, present and future of design.

To add a historical perspective about the role of women in architecture, the show will also include a selection from the exhibition ‘FRAU ARCHITEKT’ by the Deutsches Architekturmuseum. Despite an increase in the number of women studying architecture, globally architecture is still a male dominated profession. This is evident not just through an actual survey of the profession but also through the general discourse around it. For example, since its foundation in 1984, DAM has produced 370 exhibitions, of which only 4 presented a monographic overview of a woman architect. The exhibition FRAU ARCHITEKT is an attempt to look at women architects in Germany as a whole, to study their history and present-day situations, their achievements, their everyday reality and their struggle to establish themselves. It examines the topic in 22 portraits, examples of projects and very personal stories from women, who made a considerable impact upon Architecture or who continue to do so. The exhibition begins with those pioneering women, who studied architecture in c. 1900 and then attempted to establish themselves in this profession. It concludes with architects in the post-reunification period, in Berlin as well as in the new Federal States, that is, the former East Germany.


Opening of the Exhibition: January 7, 2020 | 6pm.

Back

Ausstellung Women in Design 2020+

Ausschnitt: Khoja Shiya Imami Ismaili Jamatkhana Ausschnitt: © Chirodeep Chaudhuri

Mi, 08.01.2020 -
Do, 20.02.2020

Gallery MMB

Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan
K. Dubash Marg, Kala Ghoda
400001 Mumbai

Kuratiert von HECAR Foundation und SNK - Somaya and Kalappa Consultants

Die Ausstellung wird die Arbeiten verschiedener indischer sowie globaler Designerinnen zeigen. Sie beinhaltet unter anderem das digital Design Manifesto 2020+, die beeindruckenden Arbeiten des indischen Straßenfotografen Chirodeep Chaudhuri und indische Webinstallationen, die in Zusammenarbeit mit Vinay Narkar entstanden sind.

Das Ziel des digital Design Manifesto ist es, die Überzeugungen und die Philosophie indischer Designerinnen abzubilden. Es ist eine Ideologie von Frauen, die als Schöpferinnen und Innovatorinnen wahrgenommen werden möchten. Es handelt sich um den Beginn einer Aufzeichnung dessen, was Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft für Inder*innen und Frauen, die in Design & Architektur tätig sind, bereithalten.

Zur Ergänzung der Ausstellung um eine historische Perspektive der Rolle der Frau in der Architektur, zeigt sie eine Auswahl an Arbeiten der Ausstellung "FRAU ARCHITEKT" des Deutschen Architekturmuseums. Diese entstand auf Grundlage einer verstörenden Zahl, die sich im Rückblick auf die eigene Vergangenheit des DAM ergab. Unter etwa 370 Ausstellungen, die seit der Gründung des DAM 1984 bis heute auf dem Programm standen, galten rund 100 Ausstellungen einzelnen Architekten; dagegen zeigten nur vier das monografische Werk von Architektinnen. Dieses Missverhältnis wurde zum Anlass genommen, den Blick erstmals auf die Architektinnen in Deutschland insgesamt, auf ihre Geschichte und die Gegenwart, ihre Leistungen, auf ihre Lebenswirklichkeit und auf ihren Existenzkampf zu richten. FRAU ARCHITEKT erzählt das Thema in 22 Porträts, Werkbeispielen und ganz persönlichen Geschichten von Frauen, die Architektur maßgeblich beeinflusst haben oder sie ganz aktuell prägen. Die Ausstellung beginnt bei den Frauen, die um 1900 als erste überhaupt Architektur studierten und wegweisend versuchten, sich im Beruf zu etablieren. Sie endet mit dem Bauen in der Nachwendezeit, in Berlin und den neuen Bundesländern. 

Ausstellungseröffnung: 7. Januar 2020 | 18 Uhr.

 

Zurück