Anniversary

Celebrating 50 years of existence in 2009

As part of the celebrations to mark 50 Years of the Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan in New Delhi, two videos were commissioned with snippets of interviews with people who have worked with and have been associated with the Institut. They can be viewed below:
Aruna Vasudev, Magdalene Duckwitz and Aruna George reminisce about the early years of the Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan. When it first opened, the Institut was housed in an office in Connaught Place – before it became the buzzing and busy place we know today. The recollections range from Magdalene Duckwitz speaking about the beginnings of the library to Aruna George remembering the enthusiastic reaction of the multitudes of people lining up – literally from the office door, down two flights of stairs and to the main road – to register for the first German language courses.
 


Partners who have worked closely with the Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan talk about their associations and the value that the Institut has added to the cultural scene in fields ranging from film, dance and music to theatre, literature, language, art, and various other cultural discourses. Other partners reminisce about the Café in it’s heyday; the close links between Institut and the Delhi Public Schools and the importance of the library as a value add to the city’s cultural milieu.

Jubiläum

50-Jahr-Feier 2009

Im Rahmen der Feierlichkeiten, die das 50-jährige Bestehen des Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan in New Delhi markieren, wurden zwei Videos in Auftrag gegeben. Die Videos beinhalten Ausschnitte aus Interviews, welche mit früheren Mitarbeitern oder Partnern des Instituts geführt wurden. Weiter unten können die Videos angeschaut werden:
Aruna Vasudey, Magdalene Duckwitz und Aruna George denken zurück an die ersten Jahre des Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan.  Als das Institut eröffnet wurde, war es in einem Bürogebäude am Connaught Place ansässig – bevor es zu dem pulsierenden und geschäftigen Ort wurde, den wir heute kennen. Die Retrospektive reicht von Magdalene Duckwitzs Erinnerungen an die Anfänge der Bibliothek bis zu Aruna Georges Rückblick auf die enthusiastische Reaktion einer  Vielzahl von Leuten, die sich anstellten, – wortwörtlich von der Tür des Büros, durch zwei Treppenhäuser bis unten auf die Hauptstraße – um sich für die ersten Deutschkurse anzumelden.
 


Einige Partner, die eng mit dem Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan zusammengearbeitet haben, sprechen über ihre Beziehung zu dem Institut und den Wert, den das Goethe-Institut für die Kulturszene, insbesondere in den Bereichen Film, Tanz, Musik, Theater, Literatur, Sprache und Kunst, hat. Andere Partner wiederum erinnern an das Cafè in seiner Blütezeit, die enge Verbindung zwischen dem Institut und den öffentlichen Schulen in Delhi und die Bedeutung der Bibliothek als wertvolle Erweiterung des kulturellen Milieus der Stadt.