Five Million Incidents | Workshop Mahila Zine

Mahila-Zine © Manmeet Sandhu © Manmeet Sandhu

Open Day: Friday, 18 & Saturday, 19 October 2019, 11:00 onwards | Public Talk: Friday, 18 October 2019, 19:00

Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan New Delhi

3 Kasturba Gandhi Marg
110001 New Delhi

Mahila Zine invites all interested women artists to participate in one-day workshop towards content generation for the 5th issue of Mahila Zine. The theme of the one-day workshop is Secret spaces/ hiding places.

We all have our secret spaces, where, at times, we stash away our most treasured memories, object d’ affection and now and then steal a few moments to be who we really are or to simply snuggle with our lover, hiding away from nosy aunties and uncles.

We women have other secret spaces too - where or how we hide our sanitary napkins enroute to the loo, where homemakers hide their extra cash/savings, when we hide chocolate wrappers under the bed as little girls, where we hide our true feelings from the best friend we are crushing on, secret meeting places for a revolution, etc. 

It is these special little nooks or holes in the walls, pockets in petticoats that we want to celebrate before they completely vanish in the internet and digital world.

Let's share our secrets in the form of drawings, illustrated maps, montages, visual narratives, photo essays, poems, stories and so on.

The works created in the workshop will be displayed at the venue between 17-19 October 2019 and some will be selected to be included in Mahila Zine Issue 5.
   

Back

Five Million Incidents | Workshop Mahila Zine

Opn Day: Freitag, 18. und Samstag, 19. Oktober 2019, ab 11 Uhr | Public Talk: Freitag, 18. Oktober 2019, 19 Uhr

Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan New Delhi

3 Kasturba Gandhi Marg
110001 New Delhi

Das Mahila Zine lädt alle interessierten Künstlerinnen zu einem eintägigen Workshop ein, in dessen Rahmen Inhalte für die 5. Ausgabe kreiert werden sollen.

Das Thema des Workshops lautet: "Geheime Orte/Verstecke".

Wir alle haben unsere geheimen Orte, an denen wir unsere kostbarsten Erinnerungen aufbewahren; an die wir uns zurückziehen, um für kurze Zeit wirklich wir selbst zu sein - oder um in den Armen eines geliebten Menschen zu liegen, verborgen vor neugierigen Blicken.

Wir Frauen besitzen besitzen darüber hinaus besondere Arten von Verstecken und Geheimnissen: Wir verbergen unsere Hygieneartikel auf dem Weg zur Toilette, als Hausfrauen einen Notgroschen für schwere Zeiten, als Kinder Bonbon-Papiere unter unserem Bett, als Heranwachsende unsere Gefühle vor unserem heimlichen Schwarm und als Aktivistinnen den geheimen Treffpunkt für die feministische Revolution.

Es sind diese kleinen Nischen und Verstecke, Löcher in der Wand und Taschen im Unterrock, die wir zelebrieren und bewahren wollen, bevor sie in Zeiten der Digitalisierung und des Internet für immer verschwinden.

In diesem Workshop teilen wir unsere Geheimnisse, in Form von Zeichnungen, bebilderten Karten, Montagen, visuellen Erzählungen, Foto-Essays, Gedichten, Geschichten und dergleichen mehr.

Die Arbeiten, die aus dem Workshop hervorgehen, werden vom 17.-19. Oktober 2019 am Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan ausgestellt und eine Auswahl wird in der 5. Ausgabe des Mahila Zine veröffentlicht.
   

Zurück