Five Million Incidents | Sound Installation Antraal

Antraal © Sahej Rahal © Sahej Rahal

Friday, 25 October 2019, 20:00 onwards

Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan New Delhi

3 Kasturba Gandhi Marg
110001 New Delhi

By Sahej Rahal

Antraal is a collaboratively enacted performance, with non-human actors that live in simulated biomes, created using video game software.
 
In the first biome, strange limbed creatures roam virtual landscapes, driven by multiple Artificial Intelligence programmes that work in counterintuitively to each other. These counter intuitive artificial ‘minds’ produce chaotic behaviour patterns that manifest themselves in multi-legged beings, as bellowing drone sounds, that change pitch, scale, note and tempo based on their ‘mood’.
 
In the second biome, an AI driven horned biped learns to listen, by picking up audio input through a microphone. The audio cues generate chaotic interruptions in the behaviour and movement of the biped, causing it to jitter, leap, and somersault, as it wanders about its digital terrarium.
 
These biomes can be thought of as quasi sentient musical instruments that are capable of both producing and responding to sound. Taking this forward, Antraal sets out to concoct an absurd musical act between these simulated worlds and our own. Bring some noise.

Back

Five Million Incidents | Sound Installation Antraal

Antraal © Sahej Rahal © Sahej Rahal

Freitag, 25. Oktober 2019, ab 20 Uhr

Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan New Delhi

3 Kasturba Gandhi Marg
110001 New Delhi

Von Sahej Rahal

Antraal ist eine interaktive Performance mit nicht-menschlichen Akteuren, die in mittels Videospiel-Software simulierten Biomen leben.

Im ersten Biom durchstreifen bizarre Kreaturen die virtuelle Landschaft. Sie werden gesteuert von mehreren K.I-Programmen, die gegeneinander arbeiten und so chaotische Verhaltensmuster erzeugen; vielbeinige Wesen, die dröhnende Brummtöne von sich geben, aufsteigend und abfallend und pulsierend in unterschiedlicher Frequenz, je nach Stimmungslage ihrer virtuellen Erzeuger.

Im zweiten Biom haust ein von künstlicher Intelligenz animierter gehörnter Zweibeiner, der lernt, auf Klänge seiner Umgebung zu reagieren, die er über ein Mikrofon  aufnimmt. Die klanglichen Reize lösen zufällige Störungen seines Verhaltens und seiner Motorik aus: Er erzittert, springt und überschlägt sich unwillkürlich auf seiner Wanderung durch sein digitales Terrarium.

Die Biome können als quasi-intelligente Musikinstrumente begriffen werden, die sowohl Töne erzeugen, als auch auf sie reagieren können. Antraal lässt aus der Interaktion dieser beiden simulierten Lebensräume und unserer realen Welt ein absurdes Musiktheater entstehen.

Zurück