Gender Bender 2020

Gender Bender 2020
Kritika Trehan & Stawdio © Sandbox Collective

Now in its sixth year, Gender Bender is the first festival of its kind in India that showcases new works of art around gender - as a concept, discourse, construct, and as art itself. In providing a trigger grant to artists and individuals creating such work, and showcasing these projects for the audience, the aim is to add to the ever-evolving understanding of gender itself.

Details of the Festival and its fringe events, including performances, conversations, panels etc., will be announced once the COVID-19 situation becomes clearer.

However, the Grantee Showcase has always been one of the highlights of the Festival and this year is no different - whether virtual or real or a combination!

Meet the Grantees 2020:

  1. Aamir Rabbani
  2. Anonnya Banik
  3. Gargi Harithakam
  4. Nandagopan
  5. Shruthi Vishwanath & Sylvia Hinz
  6. Rashmi Ravikumar
  7. Reya Ahmed
  8. Chikka Dodda Arts Lab
  9. Anoushka Kurien
  10. Sangram Mukhopadhyay
  11. Shrishti Chatterjee
  12. Purshottam Pawar
  13. C G Salamander & Samidha Gunjal
  14. Sohini S
  15. Vikram Phukan

The Grantees 2020 were selected by an independent jury panel comprising of Irawati Karnik, Kalki Subramaniam, Ranjana Dave and Vijeta Kumar.

Irawati Karnik is a Mumbai-based writer, Playwright, screenwriter, translator, dramaturg and actor.
Kalki Subramaniam Kritika Trehan & Stawdio © Sandbox Collective

Kalki Subramaniam is a Chennai-based Transgender rights activist and artist who works with art, poetry, performance art and film.

Ranjana Dave is a Delhi-based Dance practitioner, writer, pedagogue, curator and researcher.

Vijeta Kumar Kritika Trehan & Stawdio © Sandbox Collective
Vijeta Kumar
is a Bangalore-based writer, author and Asst. Professor of English and Journalism at St. Joseph's College of Arts and Science.

Gender Bender is a joint project of the Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan and Sandbox Collective. Gender Bender is conceived, conceptualised, and curated by Sandbox Collective.