Music @Antje Wiech

Tue, 23.10.2018

Museum Theatre

Pantheon Road
600 008 Chennai

This concert is one of ten performances on a tour that spans India, Sri Lanka and Pakistan.

Wolfgang Haffner (drums)                     
Ferdinand Kirner (guitar)
Simon Oslender (piano)                                           
Christian Diener (bass)

Wolfgang Haffner is one of Europe’s most prolific jazz drummers and composers. His illustrious career started at the age of 18 when he was discovered by legendary German trombonist Albert Mangelsdorff. He has played with some of the best known German and international jazz musicians across generations and has garnered enormous international success.

The extensive list of musicians he has played, recorded and toured with includes Chaka Khan, Al Jarreau, Pat Metheny, The Brecker Brothers, Ivan Lins, Jan Garbarek, Gregory Porter, Michael Franks, Roy Ayers, Bugge Wesseltoft, The Manhattan Transfer, Nils Petter Molvaer, Esbjörn Svensson, Till Brönner, Cassandra Wilson, Clark Terry, Johnny Griffin, Nils Landgren, Mike Stern, Chuck Loeb, Konstantin Wecker, Die Fantastischen Vier, to name just a few. Wolfgang also collaborates with heavy weights of the electronic music scene such as Ricardo Villalobos & Nightmares on Wax.

He can be heard on about 400 albums, has played all major Jazz Festivals around the world, toured in 100 countries – from Japan to the US and from South Africa to Brazil. He has recorded 16 solo albums and has made a name for himself as a producer of bands like Mezzoforte and German singer Max Mutzke.

In 2010 & 2018 he received an ECHO award, followed by the cultural award from his hometown Nuremberg in Germany. In 2017 the city of Baden-Baden awarded him the “Joachim-Ernst-Berendt-Ehrenpreis".

In 2015, his album Kind of Cool (ACT Records) went to #1 in the Jazz charts, and stayed on the German top 100 pop album charts for 5 weeks. The latest album of his band, Kind of Spain (ACT Records), was released in 2017 and will be featured extensively on this tour.

Seating on first come first served basis. Kindly be seated by 6.45 pm