Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

by Redwan Talib from Sulaymaniyah
Apricot Tree

Apricot Tree by Ridhwan Talib
Salam Yousry © Goethe-Institut

Redwan Talib was born in the city of Halab (Aleppo) in Syria. He completed nursing school and, at the age of 34, moved to Damascus to live there. After the first Arab Uprising in 2014, he left Damascus and found refuge in the Kurdish city of Sulaymaniah in Iraqi Kurdistan. He worked as nurse while also pursuing his passion for theatre. He has been a theatre actor since 1997. His first time directing was in 1998.

Redwan’s love of the theatre did not spring from academia; he does not hold any qualifications in the field. While in Damascus, he worked as playwright with a group called ‘Lesh’ in Arabic, meaning ‘Why’. Their director was the famous Syrian Nour Murad.
 
The decision to seek refuge Sulaymaniah was the result of Redwan and his wife’s research on the cultural life of the city, which is known for its art and theatre. They arrived expecting many doors to open for them, but the region was at war with the Islamic State and there was a financial crisis. Despite these problems, Redwan managed in 2015 to start theatre work in Sulaymaniah.

The Apricot Tree Project

The idea for the Apricot Tree was inspired by the time when an art organisation from the German parliament, supported by the Goethe-Institute, ran a workshop for five days in which Iraqi women were taught to write plays. Each woman had a story to tell, and a theatrical play was composed from these stories and performed after the workshop. The play was performed at the Virgin Mary church in the old part of Sulaymaniah, called the Sabonkaran neighbourhood.
 
What attracted Redwan’s attention to this workshop was the story of a twenty-five-year-old form Mosul, whose house was destroyed when ISIS invaded the city. Despite the tragedy, the woman was worried about the beautiful apricot tree in their garden. She didn’t know whether the tree was still standing there or whether it had been burnt down and destroyed like her home.
 
Redwan believes this story carries a high level of aesthetic, representing the way in which terror, war and ISIS attack everything beautiful and destroy it. This is also a manifestation of women’s dreams and their anxiety for the disappearance of life’s beauty. This play speaks a great volume of Iraqi women’s sufferings.
 
While women wrote the play, the actors were both male and female. The play, lasting about fifteen minutes, was written in Arabic, then translated into Kurdish. The show was presented at the Cinema Salim venue hall, and a good number of people attended this show. Redwan was the director.
What amazed him about the play was the spirit of women who desire so strongly to break free from the barriers imposed upon them by society and their eagerness to express themselves and to fight for the beautiful values of freedom and life. He hopes to be able to find the support necessary in order to continue his work and showcase it in other cities.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

von Redwan Talib aus Sulaymaniyah
Der Aprikosenbaum

Apricot Tree von Ridhwan Talib
Salam Yousry © Goethe-Institut

Redwan Talib wurde in Aleppo, Syrien, geboren. Er beendete eine Ausbildung als Krankenpfleger und zog im Alter von 34 Jahren nach Damaskus um. Im Anschluss an den ersten arabischen Aufstand verließ er 2014 Damaskus und zog in die kurdische Stadt Sulaymaniyya, Irak. Dort arbeitete er als Krankenpfleger und ging nebenbei seiner Leidenschaft für das Theater nach. Schon seit 1997 ist er als Theaterschauspieler tätig und seit 1998 als Regisseur.
 
Redwans Liebe für das Theater wurde nicht im Rahmen einer akademischen Laufbahn geweckt; er hat keine formale Ausbildung in diesem Bereich. Während seiner Zeit in Damaskus arbeitete er als Drehbuchautor mit einer Gruppe namens Lesh (Arabisch für „warum“). Ihre künstlerische Leiterin war die berühmte Syrerin Noura Murad.
 
Der Entscheidung, nach Sulaymaniyya zu flüchten, ging eine Recherche voraus, bei der sich Redwan und seine Frau über das Kulturleben der Stadt informierten; Sulaymaniyya ist bekannt für seine Kunst- und Theaterszene. Sie erreichten die Stadt in der Erwartung, viele offene Türen vorzufinden, doch der Krieg gegen den sogenannten Islamischen Staat und die Finanzkrise belasteten Sulaymaniyya. Diesen Schwierigkeiten zum Trotz fand Redwan 2015 Arbeit am Theater.

Der Aprikosenbaum

Die Idee zum Projekt Der Aprikosenbaum entwickelte Redwan durch einen Workshop, den das Goethe-Institut, für Irakerinnen abgehalten hatte. Dort lernten die Frauen fünf Tage lang ihre eigenen Lebensgeschichten in Form eines Theaterstücks zu verarbeiten, welches später in der Virgin-Mary-Church in Sulaymaniyyas Altstadt, in der sogenannten Sabonkaran Nachbarschaft, aufgeführt wurde.
 
Was Redwans Aufmerksamkeit auf diesen Workshop lenkte, war die Geschichte einer 25-jährigen Frau aus Mossul, deren Haus beim Einzug des sogenannten Islamischen Staats in die Stadt zerstört worden war. Trotz dieses Schicksalsschlags machte sich die Frau vor allem um Eines Sorgen: den schönen Aprikosenbaum in ihrem Garten. Sie wusste nicht, ob der Baum noch stand oder mit ihrem Haus niedergebrannt worden war.
 
Für Redwan besaß diese Geschichte eine enorme Ästhetik und Symbolik. Es handelte sich hier um eine Tragödie, die repräsentativ für die Art und Weise stand, wie Krieg und Terror alles Schöne angriffen und zerstören. Gleichzeitig sah er darin eine Manifestation der Träume der Frauen sowie ihre Ängste alle Schönheit im Leben dahinschwinden zu sehen. Das entstandene Theaterstück gab vielschcihtige Einblicke in die Leiden irakischer Frauen.
 
Obgleich das Stück von Frauen entwickelt wurde, besteht das durch Radwan angeleitete Ensemble aus Frauen wie Männern. Das etwa 15-minütige Stück wurde in Arabisch geschrieben und ins Kurdische übersetzt. Die Vorführung fand in der Veranstaltungshalle des Cinema Salim statt und war gut besucht. Redwan war als Regisseur tätig.
 
Was ihn an dem Stück faszinierte, war die Geistes- und Willensstärke, die diese Frauen in ihrem Streben, die gesellschaftlich errichteten Barrieren in ihrem Leben niederzureißen, zeigten, und ihren Eifer, ihren Gedanken Ausdruck zu verleihen und für Freiheit und Leben zu kämpfen. Redwan hofft nun die nötige Unterstützung zu finden, um seine Arbeit auch in anderen Städten präsentieren zu können.

Top