Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

by Hussain Muttar from Baghdad
A Thousand and One Stories

A Thousand Story and a Story by Hussain Muttar
Salam Yousry © Goethe-Institut

Hussain was born from a Baghdadi family in the southern city of Samawa in 1998. He completed high school in Baghdad, and is now studying Civil Engineering at the University of Baghdad.
 
The idea for his project came to him in 2016 by coincidence when his friend took a photo of him on top of a church dome in Baghdad. At the time, he didn’t know much about the place. Later, while searching for more information, he came upon a similar photo in 1918 of a British Army officer standing in the very same place. Hussain thus started a photo comparison project, which, instead of directly relating what happened to architecture in Baghdad as a story might, shows the photos to people, allowing them to form their own opinions and views. Instead of organising talks by engineers and architecture, he engages the public in speaking about the architecture around them. For Hussain, the focus should be on the people and how they want the architecture to be in their city.

With the help of local people who supported him and provided him with relevant information, Hussain searched for the locations of different old photos. The main locations were close to Al-Rashid Street in Baghdad. Some photos required months of research because he wanted to live the story and get the information first hand. He lived these stories for seven months, getting a feel for the location and how people viewed and lived in these places themselves. For Hussain, this was a journey between the past and present.
 
The project is mainly about how architecture affects society. Hussain says that architecture changes people’s personality; when buildings change or undergo demolition, old architecture remains in people’s hearts and memories.
 
One of the exhibits was a huge photo placed on the wall of a building on Al-Rashid Street during the Baghdad Walk festival, a large festival in 2018. As they walked through the area, people could admire the photos and have their backstories explained to them. Another exhibition was presented at TEDx in Baghdad in 2018. The public response was very positive, and Hussain says he never felt so supported in his life. He is indebted to all the support he received from people who helped him recover all the information and photos, which are now included in a book. Hussain performs public presentations on these stories of old architecture in Baghdad.
 
The project demonstrates what is like to live within the ruins of Baghdad and Iraq, more broadly. By searching for past architecture, Hussain hopes to restore its significance to the present and give people the hope to reconnect with their past and build a better future.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

von Hussain Muttar aus Bagdad
Tausend und eine Geschichte

A Thousand Story and a Story von Hussain Muttar
Salam Yousry © Goethe-Institut

​Hussain wurde 1998 in der südirakischen Stadt Samawa geboren. Seine Familie kam aus Bagdad, wo er die Sekundarschule abschloss und nun an der Universität Bauingenieurswesen studiert.

Die Idee für das Projekt kam ihm 2016 durch Zufall, als ein Freund ihn auf der Spitze einer Kirchenkuppel in Bagdad fotografierte. Damals wusste er nicht viel über den Ort. Später, auf der Suche nach mehr Informationen, fand er ein Foto von 1918, das einen britischen Armeeoffizier am selben Ort zeigt. Hussain begann ein Fotovergleichsprojekt, bei dem er Bilder zur Geschichte der Architektur Bagdads sprechen ließ und so den Menschen Meinungen und Sichtweisen nicht in den Mund legte, wie es bei wörtlichen Beschreibungen der Fall wäre. Anstatt Gesprächen mit Ingenieuren und Architekten zu führen, lud er die Öffentlichkeit dazu ein, über die Architektur um sie herum zu sprechen. Für Hussein stehen die Menschen und was sie sich für die Architektur der Stadt wünschen im Mittelpunkt.
 
Mit Unterstützung der Anwohnerinnen und Anwohner, die ihn mit relevanten Informationen versorgten, begab sich Hussain auf die Suche nach Fotos. Die meisten Fundorte befanden sich in der Nähe der Al-Rashid Straße in Bagdad. Manche Fotos erforderten monatelange Recherche, weil er ihre Geschichte aus erster Hand erfahren und verstehen wollte. Sieben Monate lang verbrachte er so. Er gewann ein Gefühl für die Orte und die Sichtweisen der Menschen, die sie betrachteten und darin lebten. Für Hussain war dies eine Reise zwischen Vergangenheit und Gegenwart.
 
Das Projekt dient in erster Linie dazu zu hinterfragen, wie Architektur Gesellschaft beeinflusst. Architektur könne die Persönlichkeit von Menschen verändern, meint Hussain. Wenn sich Gebäude veränderten oder dem Abriss zum Opfer fielen, verbleibe die ehemalige Architektur nur noch in den Herzen und Erinnerungen der Menschen.
 
Eines seiner Ausstellungsstücke, ein gigantisches Foto, wurde beim Baghdad Walk Festival 2018 an einer Gebäudewand in der Al-Rashid Straße angebracht. Als die Leute durch die Straße liefen, konnten sie es  neben einigen anderen Werken bewundern und erhielten Hintergrundinformationen zum Bild. Eine andere Ausstellung stellte er bei TEDx in Bagdad 2018 vor. Die Reaktionen der Öffentlichkeit waren sehr positiv und Hussain sagt, er habe sich nie zuvor so unterstützt gefühlt. Er fühlt sich all den Menschen, die ihm bei der Recherche und Fotosuche geholfen haben zu Dank verpflichtet. Seine Fotos sind mittlerweile in einem Band zusammengefasst. Hussain hält außerdem öffentliche Präsentationen zu den Geschichten von Bagdads alter Architektur.
 
Das Projekt zeigt, wie es ist, inmitten der Ruinen von Bagdad und – im weiteren Sinne – Irak zu leben. Durch seine Suche nach vergangener Architektur hofft Hussain deren Bedeutung in die Gegenwart zu holen und den Menschen die Hoffnung geben zu können, durch die Verbindung mit der Gegenwart eine bessere Zukunft aufbauen zu können.

Top