Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

by Sherko Abbas & Hemin Hamid from Erbil and Sulaymaniyah
The memory of the place returns in a historical context

The Memory of the Place Returns in a Historical Context by Hemin Hamed and Sherko Abbas
Salam Yousry © Goethe-Institut

Sherko Abbas is a Kurdish-Iraqi artist. He was born in in 1978 in Iran, where his family lived as refugees, and returned to Iraq when he was two years old. He studied Fine Art in Sulaymaniyah and graduated with a Masters in Fine Arts from Goldsmiths College, University of London in 2015. He employs various media, including video, performance, sculpture and sound, to represent the sonic and visual memory and geopolitical situation of contemporary Iraq.

Hemin Hamid was born in 1973 in Erbil, where he also grew up. He studied at the Fine Arts Institute in Erbil in 1997 and later completed his BA in Arts with the University of Sulaymaniyah. Hemin exhibited his artwork and research in different parts of the world including UK, France, and Germany among others.

Sherko Abbas’s project

Sherko’s project is based on the Red Security Building in the city of Sulaymaniyah, which was a symbol of Saddam’s era of executions, imprisonment and torture of Kurdish dissidents.
 
Sherko’s vague memories of seeing a caravan after the Red Security prison building was broken into when the city was liberated in 1991 stayed with him. At the time, Sherko was almost 11 years old when he saw the caravan with colourful women’s clothes, underwear, anti-pregnancy tablets and other materials. This left its impact on him, and years later he wanted to inquire further into this story and bring it back to life. Since 2008, Sherko has been trying to find documents and hints to recover some information. This caravan was seen for a few days during the uprising in the courtyard of the prison. It later disappeared without a trace; not even a memory or a story of it remains. The Red Security Building, its notorious history, its ugly architecture and formation have mystified Sherko, therefore he has been searching for evidence about various stories related to this building which is now a museum. 
 
For Sherko, art is a platform to showcase reality and bring these events back, to give them a space and a voice, and to memorialise and document them as part of the history of Red Prison.  The name of this part of his documentary is Paper Puppet Testimony, which recounts the stories of women in prison through experimental documentary.
 
Similarly, the memory of the footballers who played in this field before it became a prison is ignored also. There is a map of it, which highlights the land on which the prison was later built, a prison notorious for the persecution and torture of the city’s political activists. This part of the documentary is called ‘Map on Map’.
 
Sherko is interested in stories that are easily forgotten, and he wants to bring them to light and give them a platform to be narrated and told as new realities.
 
His project is a collection of photos, sketches and maps, as well as two documentaries. He uses the testimony of his father, who filmed the liberation of the Red Prison, to create sketches of the caravan.

Hemin Hamid’s project

Hemin’s joint project with artist Sherko Abbas represents the plight of the people who once lived in the Erbil citadel and the Red Security Building in Sulaymaniyah and how, with the transformations of these locations, their memories were ignored and erased by the parties behind the restoration.
 
The Erbil citadel which is one of the most ancient places in the world, and has been inhabited for thousands of years. The citadel has been restored in different eras, the last restoration happening a few years ago. More than 800 families were relocated and compensated, but when Hemin began working with them for his project, he learned that they still miss the citadel and are sad to not be living there any longer.
 
This project was inspired by this fact. Hemin criticises the restoration of the citadel, which was not studied well; the people’s long history of living in this place was not considered. The citadel will be turned into a museum, and Hemin believes that it is not fair to ignore people’s memory in the process, which will erase their living experiences.
 
Hemin involved the former residents in the creation of a model of the citadel using only their memories of living there–no photos. His work comprises painting, performance and a model of the Erbil citadel: a small version of it made from clay according to people’s memory.
 
This project was exhibited in April 2019 in the city of Erbil, and Hemin is currently planning to exhibit it in Sulaymaniyah too.
 
Hemin and Sherko’s work question the transformation and restoration of both the citadel and the Red Prison, especially with regards to how the memories of those who lived in both locations and were relocated were erased. The artists believe that the authorities should not erase their memories and should instead study their lives, experiences, memories and belongings and incorporate them as part of the heritage of these museums. The telling of history and the transformation of places into museums are not neutral acts; political bias and power all play a part on whose story is remembered or erased.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

von Hemin Hamed und Sherko Abbas aus Erbil und Sulaymaniyah
The Memory of the Place Returns in a Historical Context

The Memory of the Place Returns in a Historical Context von Hemin Hamed und Sherko Abbas
Salam Yousry © Goethe-Institut

Sherko Abbas ist ein kurdisch-irakischer Künstler. Er wurde 1978 im Iran geboren, wohin seine Familie geflüchtet war, kehrte jedoch mit zwei Jahren in den Irak zurück. Er studierte Kunst in Sulaymaniyya und machte seinen Master of Fine Arts am Goldsmiths College der University of London (2015). Er arbeitet mit verschiedensten Medien und Kunstformen, wie Video, Performance, Bildhauerei und Ton, um das akustisch-visuelle Gedächtnis und die geopolitische Situation des gegenwärtigen Iraks darzustellen.
 
Hemin Hamid ist 1973 in Erbil geboren und dort aufgewachsen. 1997 studierte er am Institut für Schöne Künste an der Universität in Erbil und absolvierte später einen Bachelor in Kunst an der Universität von Sulaymaniyya. Hemin hat seine Kunst und Forschung bereits in verschiedenen Ländern der Welt ausgestellt, unter anderem in Großbritannien, Frankreich und Deutschland.

Das Projekt von Sherko Abbas

Sherkos Projekt beschäftigt sich mit dem Gefängnis Amna Suraka in Sulaymaniyya, einem Symbol für die Hinrichtung, Inhaftierung und Folter kurdischer Dissidentinnen und Dissidenten durch das Saddam-Regime.
 
Alles beginnt mit der vagen Erinnerung an einen Caravan, den Sherko vor dem aufgebrochenen Gefängnis nach der Befreiung der Stadt 1991 gesehen haben will. Er war damals elf Jahre alt, aber das Bild dieses Wagens, vollbepackt mit bunter Damenbekleidung, Unterwäsche, Verhütungspillen und anderen derartigen Produkten, hat sich bis heute in sein Gedächtnis eingebrannt. So beschloss er Jahre später, im Jahr 2008, der Sache nachzugehen und die Geschichte erneut zum Leben zu erwecken. Seitdem sammelt er Dokumente und Hinweise, um dem Caravan auf die Spur zu kommen, der während der Aufstände damals einige Tage lang im Hof des Gefängnisses gesichtet worden ist. Danach verschwand er jedoch spurlos und mit ihm fast jede Erinnerung.
 
Das Amna Suraka Gefängnis, seine beengende und beängstigende Architektur und seine brutale Geschichte haben Sherko in ihren Bann gezogen, weshalb er seine Beweissuche auf alle Geschichten, die im Zusammenhang mit diesem Gebäude stehen, ausgedehnt hat.
 
Für Sherko ist Kunst eine Plattform zur Darstellung der Realität und Wiederbelebung früherer Geschehnisse. Er will den Geschichten des Amna Suraka Gefängnisses Raum und Stimme geben, ihnen ein Denkmal setzen und sie als Teil der Historie des Gebäudes dokumentieren.
 
Ein Teil von Sherkos Projekt, heißt „Papierfigurenaussage“ und ist die experimentelle Dokumentation zu den Geschichten der Frauen, die in diesem Gefängnis lebten. Ein weiterer Teil ist Karte auf Karte, bei dem er sich mit den Fußballspielern beschäftigt, die das Gelände nutzten, bevor hier Amna Suraka stand – ein Gefängnis, das in der Geschichte von Verfolgung und Folter politischer Aktivistinnen und Aktivisten der Stadt berüchtigt war. Eine noch erhaltene Landkarte dokumentiert diesen übergangenen Teil der Geschichte.
 
Sherko interessiert sich für Geschichten, die schnell in Vergessenheit geraten. Er will sie zurück ans Licht bringen, ihnen eine Plattform geben und als Realität zurückholen.
 
Sein Projekt ist eine Sammlung von Fotos, Entwürfen und Karten sowie zwei Dokumentationen. Er nutzt den Augenzeugenbericht seines Vaters, der die Befreiung des Gefängnisses filmte, um Entwürfe des Caravans anzufertigen.
 

Das Projekt von Hemin Hamid

Hemins Gemeinschaftsprojekt mit Künstler Sherko Abbas handelt von der Misere jener Menschen, die einst in der Zitadelle von Erbil und im Amna Suraka Gefängnis in Sulaymaniyya gelebt haben. Es zeigt, wie im Rahmen der Restauration und Transformation dieser Orte die Erinnerungen an diese Menschen ignoriert und ausgelöscht wurden.
 
Die Zitadelle von Erbil, erbaut an einem der ältesten durchgängig besiedelten Orte der Welt, ist seit Jahrtausenden bewohnt. In verschiedenen Bereichen der Zitadelle sind Restaurationen durchgeführt worden, die letzte vor wenigen Jahren. Mehr als 800 Familien wurden dafür umgesiedelt und entschädigt. Als Hemin jedoch begann mit ihnen für dieses Projekt zusammenzuarbeiten, erfuhr er, dass sie die Zitadelle vermissen und ihren Umzug bedauern. Dies verlieh dem Projekt wichtige Impulse.
 
Hemin kritisiert die Restauration der Zitadelle und den Mangel an Forschung, der sie begleitete; die lange Geschichte der Menschen, die hier wohnten, sei unberücksichtigt geblieben. Nun, da die Zitadelle zu einem Museum werden soll, hält es Hemin für ungerecht, die Erinnerungen der Menschen an diesen Ort außen vor zu lassen und ihre Erfahrungen damit auszulöschen.  
 
Hemin schuf ein kleines Modell der Zitadelle aus Lehm, das ausschließlich auf den Erinnerungen ihrer ehemaligen Anwohnerinnen und Anwohner basiert – also ganz ohne Fotos. Dieses Modell verwendet er neben Malerei und Performance für sein Projekt.
 
Das Projekt wurde im April 2019 in Erbil ausgestellt und im Anschluss plant Hemin die Präsentation in Sulaymaniyya.
 
Hemin und Sherkos Arbeit betrachtet die Restauration und Transformation der Zitadelle von Erbil und des Amna Suraka Gefängnisses in Sulaymaniyya, besonders die Art, wie mit ihren ehemaligen Bewohnerinnen und Bewohnern und deren Erinnerungen umgegangen wird, mit kritischem Blick. Die Künstler glauben, dass die Behörden diese Leben, Erfahrungen, Erinnerungen und materiellen Überreste nicht zerstören, sondern erforschen und in die Museen integrieren sollten. Die Transformation eines Ortes und Narration seiner Geschichte seien keine neutralen Handlungen, denn politische Vorurteile und Macht entschieden, wessen Geschichte bewahrt und wessen ausgelöscht werde.

Top