Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

by Yasir Kareem from Baghdad
Dunia

Dunia by Yasir Kareem
Salam Yousry © Goethe-Institut

Yasir Kareem was born in the southern city of Nasiriyah. He completed his degree in Chemistry in 2010 from College of Chemistry in Baghdad. Then he started a Master’s degree 2015-2017 in Europe in film directing, completing his scholarship with a joint Master’s programme in Portugal and Scotland.
 
As a child, he wrote poetry and short stories but because his family, like most Iraqi families, placed greater importance on medicine and engineering, he embarked on a degree in chemistry. This, however, failed to fulfil his passion for art, which he would later go on to study.

What inspired his film

Yasir’s project is a drama, his feature film. It is named after one of his four sisters, Dunia, and inspired by her story as a woman in southern Iraq. Through his personal journey of self-discovery, he saw how men and women were strictly governed by their prescribed gender roles in society and came to recognise how men have a feminine side and women a masculine side.
 
Once he finished studying in the EU, he began to research more on this subject. Yasir says that artists in Iraq cover social problems, while he believes personal problems should also be covered. “Movies should come from our inner selves, otherwise they are no different than propaganda,” he says. 

The main message of the film/plot

The film is in the development stage, but most of the short clip/promo is ready. Dunia is a feature Fiction film, in which Spotlight Iraq supported the development stage to produce a short film as a teaser for the feature film.
 
The story follows the character of Dunia, who is trying to save one of her students from forced marriage. She fails and discovers that the girl has committed suicide, which causes Dunia to feel much shame and guilt. She starts on a journey to divorce and dedicate her life to saving others from a similar fate.
 
The main message is that although forced marriages have changed from those in the past, there is still tremendous pressure on women to be able to find a good man. Many women’s lives mean nothing if they don’t have a man to rely on and the presence of a man means better status for the woman.
 
Yasir says that in Iraqi society, a woman has very little value on her own. If she lives without her parents, she is nothing. This is why a woman must find a husband. This is also another form of forced marriage, he explains.
 
The film is still in the making, and Yasir hopes to be able to gain more support to complete it. Yasir is grateful that Spotlight Iraq funded the development stage of the production of the script and the trailer.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

von Yasir Kareem aus Bagdad
Dunia

Dunia von Yasir Kareem
Salam Yousry © Goethe-Institut

Yasir Kareem wurde in der südirakischen Stadt Nasiriya geboren. Im Jahr 2010 schloss er ein Chemiestudium an der Universität von Bagdad ab. Von 2015 bis 2017 absolvierte er einen Master in Filmregie im Rahmen eines gemeinsamen Stipendienprogramms von Portugal und Schottland.
 
Als Kind schrieb er Gedichte und Kurzgeschichten, aber da seine Familie, wie die meisten irakischen Familien, größeren Wert auf Medizin und Ingenieurswissenschaften legte, absolvierte er das Chemiestudium. Dieses konnte jedoch nicht seine Leidenschaft für die Kunst stillen, der er sich später zuwenden würde.

Die Inspiration hinter dem Film

Yasirs Projekt ist ein Drama im Spielfilmformat. Es ist nach einer seiner Schwestern, Dunia, benannt und von ihrer Geschichte als Frau in Südirak inspiriert. Durch seine persönliche Geschichte und Fähigkeit der Selbstreflexion hat sich in Yasir zunehmend die Wahrnehmung verstärkt, dass Männer und Frauen streng von den ihnen vorgeschriebenen Geschlechterrollen in der Gesellschaft beherrscht werden; eigentlich besäßen jedoch auch Männer feminine und Frauen maskuline Seiten.
                                 
Als er sein Studium in Europa abgeschlossen hatte, begann er intensiver über dieses Thema zu recherchieren. Yasir meint, dass sich Kunstschaffende im Irak neben gesellschaftlichen Themen auch persönlicher Probleme annehmen sollten: „Filme sollten aus unserem Inneren kommen, sonst sind sie nichts anderes als Propaganda“.

Die wichtigste Botschaft des Films

Dunia ist ein Spielfilm, der sich noch in seiner Entwicklungsphase befindet. Die Entwicklung des Teasers des Films wurde von dem Projekt Aktionsbühne Irak unterstützt und ist fertiggestellt.
 
Die Handlung folgt einer Frau namens Dunia, die eine ihrer Studentinnen vor einer Zwangsehe bewahren will. Sie scheitert und erfährt, dass das Mädchen Selbstmord begangen hat. Dunia wird von Gefühlen des Versagens und der Schuld gequält. Während sie ihre eigene Scheidung in die Wege leitet, beginnt sie ihr Leben der Rettung anderer mit dem gleichen Schicksal zu widmen.
 
Der Film will darauf aufmerksam machen, dass, auch wenn sich Zwangsehen mit der Zeit in Art und Häufigkeit gewandelt haben, auf Frauen noch immer ein ungeheurer Druck lastet, einen von der Gesellschaft als angemessen betrachteten Mann zu finden. Das Leben vieler Frauen wird als bedeutungslos wahrgenommen, wenn sie keinen Mann finden, auf den sie sich stützen können. Die Anwesenheit eines Mannes im Leben der Frau bedeutet für sie nach wie vor einen höheren Status.
 
Yasir sagt, dass einer Frau allein in der irakischen Gesellschaft sehr wenig Wert zugesprochen wird. Wenn sie ohne ihre Eltern lebt, ist sie ein Nichts. Dieser Druck, einen Ehemann zu finden, sei nur eine andere Form der Zwangsehe.

Top