Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

by Ahmed Hassan Al-Mayahi from Diyala
Creative Writing Project

Ahmed Al Mayahi W
Salam Yousry © Goethe-Institut

Ahmed Hassan Al-Mayahi was born in the city of Diyala, where he also currently lives and works. Al-Mayahi obtained his bachelor’s in Science and Engineering in 2017. He also studied in Jordan at the American University, obtaining a certificate in Human Development. Al-Mayahi was initially interested in human rights work, and he was involved as a volunteer in many activities in the defence of human rights, the environment and culture in Iraq. Although he greatly valued this work, his love for books and reading led him to open a bookstore with some other people in his city, and to later run a creative writing project for aspiring new writers.

Al-Mayahi’s creative writing workshops aim to teach story writing techniques to those who are in the process of writing. Al-Mayahi believes that these workshops are beneficial for those who have difficulty seeing their projects through to the end. The objective is to provide proper guidance so that aspiring writers may produce good writing, which will in turn benefit the city’s cultural landscape.

The number of participants in this workshop is twenty people, with ages ranging between 16 to 35 years.  There will be two sets of workshops lasting four days. Famous Iraqi novelist Hassan Falih will run the workshops. Having such an experienced and well-known person will hopefully serve as motivation to participants to both learn from him and continue with their own writing. The organisers would like to see a high number of women participate in order to break the gender apartheid imposed on this city. The project will start in the beginning of August this year. 

Al-Mayahi has big dreams; he wants to leave his fingerprint on the city’s cultural life. He believes that Diyala is ignored in the cultural, artistic and literary scenes. The city does not have famous artists, writers and thinkers as of yet, and Al-Mayahi hopes that his project can be a stepping stone for aspiring writers to shine.

Diyala was destroyed by ISIS, which has scarred the city’s population. In order to protect themselves, people stayed indoors during ISIS’ reign of terror. They view everything with suspicion, and this makes it difficult for them to engage with such activities. Al-Mayahi believes that humans need to be nurtured, and their awareness raised. He has many initiatives in mind. He collected books and made them available for free at the city’s “I love Diyala” book festival to motivate people to read.

All these initiatives are aimed at revitalizing a city ignored and marginalised in the aftermath of the war. To this date, there are still signs of destruction and fear in people’s hearts and thoughts. This is why Al-Mayahi’s work might not be easy in a city that is still haunted by the traumas of war, but it is not impossible.

Art and culture can play an important role in rebuilding society and bring it out of the darkness and wounds ISIS inflicted. A cultural awakening for Diyala will be a saviour.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

von Ahmed Hassan Al-Mayahi aus Diyala
Kreatives Schreiben

Ahmed Al Mayahi W
Salam Yousry © Goethe-Institut

Ahmed Hassan Al-Mayahi wurde in Diyala geboren, wo er derzeit auch lebt und arbeitet. Er hat einen Bachelorabschluss in Wissenschaft und Technik (2017) und einen Abschluss von der American University in Jordanien in Human Development. Ahmed war zunächst im Bereich Menschenrechtsarbeit tätig und als Freiwilliger an vielen Initiativen zur Verteidigung von Menschenrechten, zu Umweltschutz und Kultur im Irak beteiligt. Auch wenn er diese Arbeit sehr schätzte, ging er schließlich seiner Leidenschaft für Literatur und Lesen nach und eröffnete gemeinsam mit anderen aus Diyala einen Buchladen. Später entwickelte er außerdem ein Projekt zum kreativen Schreiben für aufstrebende Autorinnen und Autoren.
 
Schriftstellerinnen und Schriftsteller, die gerade im Prozess des Schreibens sind, können sich in Ahmeds Workshops mit kreativen Schreibtechniken vertraut machen. Ahmed glaubt, dass seine Veranstaltungen jenen helfen, denen es schwerfällt, Schreibprojekte zu Ende zu bringen. Sie sollen neue Autorinnen und Autoren unterstützen qualitativ hochwertige literarische Werke zu produzieren, um so die Kulturszene der Stadt zu bereichern.
 
Im Rahmen des Projekts gab es zwei Workshop-Durchgänge von jeweils vier Tagen geben, an denen zwanzig Personen im Alter zwischen 16 und 35 Jahren teilnehmen. Der berühmte irakische Romanautor Hassan Falih leitete die Workshops. Die Beteiligung eines so erfahrenen und bekannten Schriftstellers soll die Teilnehmenden nicht nur zum Lernen, sondern auch zur Fortführung ihrer eigenen Schreibtätigkeit ermutigen. Die Organisation der Workshops strebt eine hohe Frauenbeteiligung an, um die in der Stadt herrschende strenge Geschlechtertrennung aufzubrechen. Das Projekt hat im frühen August 2019 Jahres begonnen.
 
So hat Ahmed große Träume; er möchte das Kulturleben von Diyala mitprägen. Zu lange sei die Stadt in den Kunst-, Kultur- und Literaturszenen ignoriert worden und habe keine berühmten Kulturschaffenden und Intellektuellen hervorgebracht. Ahmed hofft, dass sich das nun ändert. Sein Projekt soll SchriftstellerInnen als Sprungbrett zum Erfolg dienen. 
 
Die Zerstörung von Diyala durch den sogenannten Islamischer Staat (ISIS) hat bei den Menschen der Stadt Narben hinterlassen. Als dieser an der Macht war,  blieben die Menschen vorwiegend in ihren Häusern. Nun betrachten sie alles mit Misstrauen, was es ihnen schwer macht, sich auf Aktivitäten wie die von Ahmed einzulassen. Doch er glaubt, dass sich Menschen mit genug Zuwendung und Bewusstseinsbildung wandeln können und dafür hat er genug Ideen. So hat er zum Beispiel Bücher gesammelt und sie auf dem I love Diyala Bücherfestival kostenlos zur Verfügung gestellt, um die Menschen zum Lesen anzuregen.
 
All diese Initiativen sollen eine Stadt revitalisieren, deren Kunst-und Kulturproduktion im Zuge des Krieges übergangen wurde und in Vergessenheit geraten ist. Diyala wird noch immer vom Trauma des Krieges verfolgt und bei den Menschen sind die Nachwirkungen von Zerstörung und Angst präsent. Das macht Ahmeds Arbeit vielleicht schwierig – aber nicht unmöglich. Kunst und Kultur können eine wichtige Rolle dabei spielen, die Gesellschaft wiederaufzubauen.  Ahmed glaubt daran, dass nur Kultur und Kunst die Aufarbeitung jener geschichtlichen Geschehnisse ermöglichen können.

Top