Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

by Ayman Al-Amiri from Bagdad
Black and White

Ayman Al Amri W
Salam Yousry © Goethe-Institut

Ayman was born in Baghdad in 1995. He is a professional cinema and documentary photographer. He has a diploma in cinematic art from the Institute of Fine Arts in Baghdad, from which he graduated in 2016.
 
He directed several short films based on novels and documentaries. His photography and documentaries have won several awards, and he has participated in various international festivals, among them the London Art 16 in UK in 2016 as well as the Iraq and Portuguese exhibition in 2013 entitled “A love letter from Portugal to Iraq”. His photography was published in the official catalogue of the Iraqi section of the Venice Biennale for 2013, 2015, and 2017. His work centres on the daily life of ordinary Iraqis. He captures details and documents issues that are not seen as important as more mainstream subjects. His own experiences growing up in turbulent times, witnessing various wars ranging from the US invasion, ISIS and the sectarian conflicts, are a source motivation to bring to light the interactions of people with events unfolding in Iraq.

The project

The documentary, funded by Spotlight Iraq, is shot from the lenses of four photographers from different generations. It sheds light on an important era of contemporary Iraqi history, which was archived by these photographers. They document the events with honesty and from different perspectives. The events span from the 1960s until today.
 
The first photographer is the late Fuad Shakir, considered the father of Iraqi photographers. He photographed Iraq in the middle of the last century for three decades, from the 1960s through the 1980s when the Iran-Iraq war broke out. In his photos he captured Iraq as a modern, civil, and progressive place, way ahead of its counterparts in the wider Arab world.
The second photographer is Hadi Alnajar, who started his photography career in the 1980s documenting the Iran-Iraq war as a soldier despite the censorship on photography at the time. He also captured the popular uprising in the 1990s, risking his life to document this in Karbala.
 
The third photographer is Ziad Al-Turkey, who documented Iraq post 2003. Ziad archived the social and economic destruction, in which politics played a significant role. He also documented faces, images, memories and their relations to the location. The use of black and white is a major characteristic of his photography.
 
The fourth photographer is Aymen Alamiri himself, who is an artist and photographer from the new generation. He wants to follow in the footsteps of his predecessors and is eager to revive archiving, which is weak and neglected at the moment. He compares photography between now and then and the importance of time and place.
 
Aymen’s project and work in general is ambitious and covers a variety of issues from ordinary lives to women’s rights, youth and the revival of photography and archiving in Iraq.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

von Ayman Al-Amiri aus Baghdad
Schwarzweißfilm

Ayman Al Amri W
Salam Yousry © Goethe-Institut

Ayman wurde 1995 in Bagdad geboren. Er ist ein Filmemacher und Dokumentarfotograf mit einem Diplom in Kinematografie von der Fakultät der Schönen Künste der Universität von Bagdad (2016).
 
Er hat mehrere auf Romanen und Dokumentationen basierende Kurzfilme gedreht. Seine Fotografien und Dokumentationen sind mehrfach ausgezeichnet und er nahm an verschiedenen internationalen Festivals teil, darunter Art16 London (Großbritannien, 2016) und die Ausstellung A Love Letter from Portugal to Iraq (Irak/Portugal, 2013). Seine Fotografien erschienen im offiziellen Katalog der Biennale Venedig in der Kategorie Irak in den Jahren 2013, 2015 und 2017. Ayman interessiert sich für den ganz normale Alltag der Menschen auf den Straßen Iraks und fängt in seinen Arbeiten die kleinen Details ein, die in der Massenberichterstattung nur selten im Mittelpunkt stehen. Seine eigenen Erfahrungen als jemand, der in turbulenten Zeiten aufgewachsen ist und mehrere Kriege miterlebt hat, von der US-Invasion über die Einnahme von Städten durch den sogenannten Islamischen Staat (ISIS) bis zu konfessionsbedingten Konflikten. Sie sind für ihn dabei eine Quelle des Antriebs zu zeigen, wie die Menschen im Irak mit bestimmten Ereignissen umgehen.

Das Projekt

Die von dem Projekt Aktionsbühne Irak unterstützte Dokumentation setzt sich aus Material zusammen, das durch die Linsen von vier Fotografen aus verschiedenen Generationen aufgenommen wurde. Sie gibt Aufschluss über eine bedeutende Ära zeitgenössischer irakischer Geschichte, die von diesen Fotografen mit Ehrlichkeit und aus verschiedenen Perspektiven dokumentiert und schließlich archiviert wurde. Die so festgehaltenen Ereignisse umspannen die Zeit von den 1960er-Jahren bis heute.
 
Der verstorbene Fotograf Fuad Shakir, der als Vater der irakischen Fotografie gilt, ist der erste von ihnen. Er war drei Jahrzehnte lang, von den 1960er-Jahren bis zum Ersten Golfkrieg in den 1980er-Jahren, im Irak als Fotograf tätig. In seinen Fotos fängt er den Irak als ein modernes und progressives Land ein, das als Vorbild für andere arabische Länder diente.
 
Der zweite Fotograf ist Hadi Alnajar, der seine Karriere als Fotograf in den 1980er-Jahren begann, als er den Ersten Golfkrieg als Soldat trotz herrschender Zensur dokumentierte. Er war mit der Kamera auch beim Volksaufstand in den 1990er-Jahren in Kerbela dabei und riskierte sein Leben, um diese Proteste fotografisch festzuhalten.
 
Ziad Al-Turkey, der dritte Fotograf, dokumentierte den Irak nach 2003. Ziad fing die gesellschaftliche und wirtschaftliche Zerstörung jener Zeit ein, bei der Politik eine signifikante Rolle spielte. In seinen Fotografien sieht man Gesichter, Orte und Erinnerungen. Die Verwendung von Schwarzweiß ist ein bedeutendes Merkmal seiner Fotografie.
 
Außerdem trägt Ayman Al-Amiri selbst, Künstler und Fotograf der neuen Generation, sein eigenes Material bei. Er möchte in die Fußstapfen seiner Vorgänger treten und das Archivwesen, das er im Irak für vernachlässigt hält, wiederbeleben. Er vergleicht die Fotografie damals und heute und geht auf die Bedeutung von Zeit und Ort ein.
 
Aymans Projekt ist ambitioniert und beschäftigt sich mit einer Vielfalt von Themen: vom ganzen normalen Alltag über Frauenrechte und Jugend bis hin zur Wiederbelebung von Fotografie und Archivierung im Irak.

Top