Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

by Hasan Falih from Baghdad
Alsadrea Chopin

Hassan Falih W
Salam Yousry © Goethe-Institut

Hasan Falih is an Iraqi novelist. He was born in Baghdad in 1981. He has a Master’s degree in Graphic Design. He is a teacher at the Graphic Designs Department of the Fine Arts Institute in Baghdad. He also works as a scriptwriter at the Independent Iraqi Centre for Film.

Hasan has written several novels including Taxi Crown in 2015, Reader of the Clay in 2016, a collection of short stories in 2017, and the novel Cameras and Angels published in 2018. In 2015, his play The Alawi Well, which is centred around the owner of a sacred well in Najaf where the dead are washed, won first prize at the theatre festival run by the Institute of Fine Arts. Hasan participated in a workshop organised by the Booker Prize in Amman, Jordan. It was conducted under the supervision of various important Arab novelists.

The situation in Iraq and its impact on Hasan’s work

Hasan says that despite all the problems and sectarian conflicts, Iraqi writers have managed to produce 700 novels from 2003 until now. In Saddam’s era, everything was militarised to the dictator’s advantage, including poetry, music, photography, novels, films and media. Although Iraq still has many problems, it cannot be compared to before, according to Hasan.
 
His 2015 novel Taxi Crown is about the 286 students of Baghdad University whose names were all Sabah. They were all rounded up and were executed in 1981 in Najaf for the simple reason that a secret member of an opposition party was named Sabah.

The project

The novel, funded by Spotlight Iraq is about the new problems plaguing contemporary Iraq. It is about young musician and composer named Ashur from an old neighbourhood in Baghdad called Al-Sadrea. His family named him Ashur after his deceased uncle who was killed in the Iran-Iraq war. He dislikes his name, and the people of the Alsadrea district give him the name Chopin Alsadri after the famous Polish composer Frédéric Chopin.
 
After 2003 and the fall of regime, Ashur buys a piano from a second-hand street market. He faces a series of obstacles in the way of fulfilling his passion for music. Alsadrea homes are small and have small doors. When he brings the piano, it cannot fit into the house door. There are also militias in the area who forbid music. He hears that the newly formed Iraqi government is trying to change the national anthem. He tries to compose the anthem in the hopes of winning money and renting a place to keep his piano safe. In the middle of all of this, including the attacks on music and culture, Ashur still adamantly tries to compose music.  

Dedicated to musicians and the plight of music in Iraq

Hasan is concerned, both as a teacher and a novelist, about the plight of art, music and culture in general in Iraq. He mentions that up until now, there has been an orchestrated effort to close down all the fine arts institute in Iraq and to label music as haram– forbidden according to religious doctrine.  Hasan says that music is a culture, a language in itself and he believes that much can be said through music that cannot be said in words. This is why Hasan dedicates this novel to the plight of musicians and music in general as a fine art and an expression of culture.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

von Hasan Falih aus Bagdad
Alsadrea Chopin

Hassan Falih W
Salam Yousry © Goethe-Institut

Hasan Falih ist ein irakischer Romanautor. Er wurde 1981 in Bagdad geboren. Er hat einen Masterabschluss in Grafikdesign. Er ist Lehrer für Graphikdesign an der Fakultät der Schönen Künste der Universität von Bagdad und arbeitet als Drehbuchautor für das Iraqi Independent Film Center.
 
Hasan hat mehrere Romane geschrieben, darunter Taxi Crown (2015), Reader of the Clay (2016) und Cameras and Angels (2018), sowie eine Kurzgeschichtensammlung (2017). 2015 gewann sein Theaterstück The Alawi Well über den Besitzer einer heiligen Quelle in Nadschaf, in der traditionell die Toten gewaschen werden, den ersten Preis beim Theaterfestival des Instituts für Schöne Künste. Hasan hat an einem vom Booker Prize in Amman/Jordanien organisierten Workshop teilgenommen, der von mehreren bedeutenden arabischen Schriftstellerinnen und Schriftstellern geleitet wurde.

Einfluss der Situation im Irak auf Hasans Arbeit

Hasan weist darauf hin, dass es irakische Schriftstellerinnen und Schriftsteller trotz aller Probleme und konfessionsbedingten Konflikte geschafft hätten, von 2003 bis heute insgesamt 700 Romane zu produzieren. Unter dem Regime Saddam Husseins sei das Land militarisiert und alles in den Dienst des Diktators gestellt worden, so auch Dichtung, Musik, Fotografie, Literatur, Filme und Medien. Obwohl der Irak noch immer viele Probleme habe, sei die Situation kaum mit damals zu vergleichen, sagt Hasan.
 
In seinem Roman Taxi Crown von 2015 geht es um die 286 Studenten der Universität von Bagdad, die alle den Namen Sabah trugen und im Jahr 1981 zusammengetrieben und in der Stadt Nadschaf hingerichtet wurden. Grund allein war, dass ein heimliches Mitglied der Oppositionspartei Sabah hieß.

Das Projekt

Der Roman Alsadrea Chopin, unterstützt von dem Projekt Aktionsbühne Irak, handelt von den neuen Problemen, die den Irak der Gegenwart prägen. Es geht um den jungen Musiker und Komponisten Ashur, der aus einer ehemaligen Nachbarschaft in Bagdad, Al-Sadrea, stammt. Er ist nach seinem im Ersten Golfkrieg getöteten Onkel Ashur benannt und der Name gefällt ihm überhaupt nicht. Die Menschen im Viertel nennen ihn deshalb Chopin Alsadri, nach dem berühmten polnisch-französischen Komponisten Frédéric Chopin.
 
Nach dem Fall des Saddam-Regimes im Jahr 2003 kauft Ashur auf einem Straßenmarkt ein gebrauchtes Klavier. Doch der Weg, seiner Leidenschaft für Musik nachzugehen, ist voller Hürden. So fängt es schon damit an, dass das Klavier nicht durch die für Al-Sadrea typische kleine, schmale Haustür passen will. Auch die in der Umgebung operierenden Milizen wollen Musik verbieten. Als Ashur hört, dass die neugebildete irakische Regierung eine neue Nationalhymne sucht, macht er sich an die Arbeit diese zu komponieren. Er hofft, dadurch genug Geld zu gewinnen, um eine sichere Unterkunft für das Klavier zu mieten. Inmitten seines kulturfeindlichen Umfelds komponiert Ashur unbeirrt weiter.

Eine Widmung an irakische Musikschaffende und die Misere der Musik

Hasan ist, sowohl als Lehrer als auch Schriftsteller, besorgt über die kritische Lage von Kunst, Musik und Kultur im Irak. Bis heute gäbe es großangelegte Initiativen, die die Schließung aller Institutionen für Schöne Künste im Irak und die Brandmarkung von Musik als „haram“ (religiöses Tabu) anstrebten. Für Hasan ist Musik eine Kultur und Sprache für sich, mit der er Gedanken und Gefühle ausdrücken könne, die mit Worten nicht zu kommunizieren seien. Aus diesem Grund widmet Hasan den Roman den Musikschaffenden, die im Irak unter schwierigen Bedingungen arbeiten müssen, sowie der Musik im Allgemeinen als Kunstform und Ausdruck von Kultur.

Top