Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

by Noor Al Huda Faraj from Basra
The Used Doll’s Store

Noor Al Huda W
Salam Yousry © Goethe-Institut

Noor Al Huda Faraj is an Iraqi artist and journalist based in Basra. She was born in 1992 in the same city. She holds an MA, with a focus in theatre. The First Gulf War and the invasion of Kuwait by the former regime led her family to seek safety in Jordan. She lived there with her family until 2006. Upon her return to Basra, she encountered chaos, conflict and war like most other Iraqi cities in the aftermath of the fall of regime. Basra, with all its tribal and sectarian conflicts, was too limiting for a woman compared to the relative freedom she had living in Jordan. As a female artist, Noor faces many difficulties in this chaotic and conservative city, which is why she chooses art as a medium to express herself.

Project background

According to Noor due to the fact that Iraq has gone through several wars, a big number of media and art productions in Iraq only attend to the stories of war, loss, grief and politics, with each one narrating a story of historical heroism. Often the colour black dominates the art scene, as do combat fatigues, guns, and war stories. Noor believes that Iraq must simplify life in order to recover from war trauma and the past, and instead must focus on life with its more colourful aspects. Noor’s project provides a way out of the rhetoric of war and a return to life in all its beautiful simplicity.

Theatre show: the Used Doll’s Store

Noor’s project is a realist play, which is a tragicomic work of fiction. The essence of the play is about accepting the other, the one that is different. The play does not engage with the audience directly, but through the toys it seeks to promote the acceptance of different genders, religions and ethnicities in society.

The play centres around a toy store that both contains children’s toys and is a workshop that produces new toys. It is written in such a way as to allow those with hearing and speaking difficulties to understand and relate to it. The whole play is between 30 to 40 minutes long. Actors/actresses play in the role of dolls; only two of the roles are human characters: the store owner and a woman who works there.

The dolls use body language. The dialogue revolves around the entry of a new figure into the store. One of them says, “What is different is not necessarily a threat to me”. At this point, one actor/doll with a beautiful appearance comes in, but one of the ugly dolls is scared of it. The paradox here is that the ugly doll is scared of the beautiful one.
 
The play unfolds on a stage, but the theatre in Basra is not ideal as the technical services are not adequate there. This is why Noor aims to adapt her play for open spaces, like a public garden.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

von Noor Al Huda Faraj aus Basra
The Used Doll’s Store

Noor Al Huda W
Salam Yousry © Goethe-Institut

Noor Al Huda Faraj ist eine irakische Künstlerin und Journalistin. Sie wurde 1992 in Basra geboren, wo sie heute lebt und arbeitet. Sie hat einen Masterabschluss mit Schwerpunkt Theater. Der Erste Golfkrieg und der Einmarsch des alten Regimes in Kuwait ließ ihre Familie in Jordanien Zuflucht suchen. Erst 2006 kehrte Noor nach Basra zurück und fand dort Chaos, Konflikt und Krieg, wie sie in den meisten anderen Städten des Iraks nach dem Regimesturz herrschten. Ethnische und konfessionsbedingte Konflikte schränkten sie als Frau in Basra sehr viel stärker ein, als sie es von ihrem relativ freien Leben in Jordanien kannte. Bis heute begegnet Noor als Frau und Künstlerin in dieser chaotischen, konservativen Stadt vielen Schwierigkeiten, weshalb ihr die Kunst als Ausdrucksmittel umso wichtiger ist.

Hintergrund des Projekts

Die Serie von Kriegen, die der Irak erlebt hat, hätten Noor zufolge dazu geführt, dass sich viele Medien und Kunstproduktionen im Land nur für Geschichten von Krieg, Verlust, Trauer und Politik, natürlich immer in Verbindung mit historischem Heroismus, interessierten. Oft dominiere Schwarz die Kunstszene wie auch Themen rund um Krieg, Waffen und Kampfesmüdigkeit. Noor glaubt, dass der Irak sich wieder auf die einfachen und farbenfroheren Dinge des Lebens konzentrieren müsse, um sich von Kriegstrauma und Vergangenheit erholen zu können. Ihr Projekt bietet einen Weg aus der Kriegsrhetorik und die Rückkehr zum Leben in all seinen einfachen, aber schönen Aspekten.
 

Theatershow: The Used Doll’s Store

Noors Projekt ist eine im Realismus verwurzelte, fiktionale Tragikomödie. In ihrer Essenz handelt sie von der Akzeptanz derjenigen, die anders sind als wir. Das Stück interagiert nicht direkt mit dem Publikum, sondern durch Puppen. Es will die Akzeptanz gegenüber anderen Religionen, Ethnien und Geschlechtsidentitäten fördern. Im Mittelpunkt der Handlung steht ein Spielzeugladen, der sowohl Kinderspielzeuge verkauft als auch in seiner Werkstadt neue Spielzeuge herstellt. Das Stück ist auch zugänglich für Menschen mit Hör- oder Sprachbeeinträchtigungen, da vorwiegend mit Körpersprache gearbeitet wird. Es ist 30 bis 40 Minuten lang.
Die Schauspielerinnen und Schauspieler schlüpfen in die Rollen von Puppen; nur zwei Charaktere sind menschlich: der Ladenbesitzer und eine Mitarbeiterin. Die Puppen unterhalten sich über die Ankunft einer neuen Figur und eine meint: „Was anders ist, stellt nicht notwendigerweise eine Bedrohung für mich dar“. Noor geht es darum zu thematisieren, wie Unbekanntes und Fremdes unbegründet Angst auslösen kann und wie man durch Dialog und Miteinander solche Ängste und Unsicherheiten überwinden kann.
 
Das Stück ist für die Bühne geschrieben, jedoch ist das Theater in Basra technisch nicht ideal ausgestattet. Deshalb plant Noor ihr Stück für Aufführungen unter freiem Himmel, zum Beispiel in Parks, adaptieren.

Top