Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
FARAGHAT___ammanGoethe-Institut Jordanien © / Design: Dana Baddad

FARAGHAT___amman

7Hills for Social Development and Goethe-Institut Jordan jointly launch a new residency program focused on public urban space in Amman. The program is open for artists, architects, designers, urbanists, researchers, and creative practitioners interested in questions on urban revival. Its aim is to investigate and encourage the recreation, redefinition, reimagination, and interrogation of public urban space in Amman; as both a physical and a social space. The program utilizes research, artistic experimentation, and participatory design for the creation of pocket interventions in designated locations in the city. 

CALL FOR PARTICIPATION


DEADLINE TO SUBMIT APPLICATIONS: 05.05.2022  

Parks, squares, and sidewalks are usually understood to be spatially open and accessible to everyone, yet, the usership of such spaces and its purpose is not only determined by their physical characteristics, but also defined by social expectations and regulations, which impacts the perception of the physical space. 

In Amman, public space is often regarded by its residents as being scarce, difficult to access, and not inclusive of its diverse communities. This has an impact on the sense of community, and belonging to the city. The question of public space has become even more pressing in the wake of the global Covid-19 pandemic. 

Meanwhile, neglected urban public spaces are all around Amman; unbuilt areas such as empty lots, leftover spaces, deserted parks, or physical elements that are left unfinished, such spaces provide an opportunity for designers, architects, urbanists, and artists to breathe life into the city; they offer an opportunity for interventions that are capable of creating immense change within the community, however small they are in scale. 

Known as urban acupuncture, such small-scale interventions that involve the city’s residents can contribute to creating more inclusive spaces through localized actions. Relying on methods that include mapping, surveying, site analysis, observation, exploration, and experimentation; ideas will be imagined and implemented on a micro-scale using participatory and interactive creative approaches. These urban pocket interventions within the cityscape can have a great impact on the urban fabric, improve the quality of public life, and in turn cultivate the sense of an empowered community. 

The output of this residency serves to feed into the broader framework of the 7Hills for Social Development’s Research and Development arm, in which they experiment with multi-disciplinary methods of listening, observing, participating, experimenting, and developing public spaces, and public space policy in Jordan. With this program, the Goethe-Institut also intends to highlight cultural work in public space and engage a wider audience. 

This program consists of a one-month on-site residency in Amman, preceded by a preparatory hybrid phase, that serves as an introduction and input to the participating residents. In the form of online talks, these input sessions will be open to engage the wider public in Amman.  

Based on research and direct investigation of the socio-spatial networks and the urban stories and histories therein, the participants will develop a concept addressing the issues they have identified as interesting and then, work to design a cultural intervention based on these hypothesis and questions. 

Phase 1 – Introduction, online public talks, and group discussions 

22 May – 12 June 
2 days per week

Speakers from Jordan and Germany will be invited to provide insights and inputs related to Amman as well as practices and case studies from Germany and different aspects of urbanity in general.  

Exact input sessions dates and names of experts will be communicated at a later stage. 

 

Phase 2 – on-site mapping, research and production 

12 June – 7 July 
35 hours per week

4 Jordan-based and 2 Germany-based participants will be selected. They will work in two groups out of 3. Each group will focus on a particular area in Amman.   

- Week 01: Introduction, City walks, mapping, identification, exploration and site analysis 
- Week 02: Brainstorming, proposing impactful interventions 
- Week 03: Implementation of project interventions 
- Week 04: Observing and documenting process and final presentation of outputs 


 
This is a full-time residency program of 7 weeks. Selected participants are expected to take part in the entire program, contribute to the groupwork, and present the final outputs. 

- Each participant will receive a stipend of JD700  

- A stipend for production costs will be provided by the Goethe-Institut 

- Travel costs, including economy return flights, accommodation and visa will be covered for participants based in Germany. 
The residency is open to creatives with a background in:   

- Design 
- Architecture 
- Urban design 
- Art in public space 
- Research related to the urban 
- Other relevant field with an interest in the urban context 
A jury of the cooperation partners will evaluate the applications and make the selection. The selected candidates will be notified by email. Incomplete applications will not be considered. No individual feedback can be given. 
 
 
The selection criteria are as follows: 
 
- How relevant the candidate's portfolio and professional background to the topic of the residency is

- Quality, creativity and innovativeness of initial project idea 

- Contribution to the group 
  • Language of the program is English. 
 
  • During the first four weeks: participation during the introduction session and all four input and discussion sessions is required. 
 
  • Weekly commitment during phase 2 of the program is 35 hours/week.  The program relies on group work; full commitment throughout the program is expected. 
 
  • Covid-19 vaccination proof is required for participation. Hygiene regulations must be adhered to. 

 

HOW TO APPLY

Required information to be provided in the application are: 

- Recent CV 

- Portfolio or career references: qualifications and previous activities/ projects related to the public urban space 

- Motivation letter 

- Description of an initial idea of a project to focus on as well as a creative intervention to conduct in the program 

- Contribution to the group  

In order to apply, please complete the application form under the following link

ZUM BEWERBUNGSFORMULAR

 

COOPERATION

7Hills for Social Developement is a community based skateboarding-driven non-for-profit that works to create safe inclusive public spaces, and activate them through our Urban Education Program, which includes skateboarding, arts, and vocational training components to empower local, refugee, and migrant youth in Jordan.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
FARAGHAT___ammanGoethe-Institut Jordanien © / Design: Dana Baddad

FARAGHAT___amman

7Hills for Social Development und das Goethe-Institut Jordanien starten gemeinsam ein neues Residenzprogramm, das sich mit dem öffentlichen städtischen Raum in Amman befasst. Das Programm steht Künstler*Innen, Architekt*Innen, Designer*Innen, Forscher*Innen und Kreativen offen, die sich für Fragen der urbanen Revitalisierung interessieren. Ziel des Programms ist es, die Regeneration, Neudefinition, Neugestaltung und Hinterfragung des öffentlichen urbanen Raums in Amman zu untersuchen und zu fördern - sowohl als physischer wie auch als sozialer Raum. Das Programm setzt Methoden der Sozialwissenschaft, künstlerische Experimente und partizipatives Design für die Schaffung von Interventionen an bestimmten Orten in der Stadt ein. 
 

 

ÖFFENTLICHE AUSSCHREIBUNG

BEWERBUNGSFRIST: 05.05.2022  

Parks, Plätze und Fußwege werden in der Regel als offene und für jedermann zugängliche Räume verstanden. Die Nutzung solcher Räume und ihre Bedeutung werden jedoch nicht nur durch ihre physischen Merkmale bestimmt, sondern auch durch soziale Erwartungen und Vorschriften, die sich auf die Wahrnehmung des physischen Raums auswirken. 

In Amman wird der öffentliche Raum von seinen Bewohnern oft als begrenzt, schwer zugänglich und nicht offen für die verschiedenen Bevölkerungsgruppen angesehen. Dies wirkt sich auf das Gefühl der Gemeinschaft und der Zugehörigkeit zur Stadt aus. Die Frage des öffentlichen Raums ist im Zuge der weltweiten Covid-19-Pandemie noch dringlicher geworden. 

Dabei gibt es in Amman überall vernachlässigte öffentliche Räume; unbebaute Flächen wie leere Grundstücke, Restflächen, verlassene Parks oder unvollendete bauliche Elemente bieten Designern, Architekt*Innen, Urbanisten und Künstler*Innen die Möglichkeit, der Stadt Leben einzuhauchen; sie bieten eine Gelegenheit für Interventionen, die in der Lage sind, innerhalb der Gemeinschaft immense Veränderungen zu bewirken, so klein sie auch sein mögen. 

Solche kleinen Interventionen, die die Stadtbewohner einbeziehen, werden als urbane Akupunktur bezeichnet und können dazu beitragen, durch lokale Aktionen integrativere Räume zu schaffen. Mit Hilfe von Methoden wie Kartierung, Vermessung, Standortanalyse, Beobachtung, Erkundung und Experimenten werden Ideen auf kleinstem Raum mit partizipativen und interaktiven kreativen Ansätzen entwickelt und umgesetzt. Diese "Urban Pocket Interventions" in das Stadtbild können große Auswirkungen auf das städtische Gefüge haben, die Qualität des öffentlichen Lebens verbessern und im Gegenzug das Gefühl einer gestärkten Gemeinschaft fördern. 

Die Ergebnisse dieses Aufenthalts fließen in die Forschungs- und Entwicklungsarbeit von 7Hills for Social Development ein, die mit multidisziplinären Methoden des Zuhörens, Beobachtens, Teilnehmens, Experimentierens eine andere Art der Entwicklung des öffentlichen Raums erproben und für solche Ansätze auch die Stadtgemeinde und die Politik gewinnen möchte. Darüber hinaus möchte das Goethe-Institut mit diesem Programm auch die kulturelle Arbeit im öffentlichen Raum hervorheben und ein breiteres Publikum ansprechen.

Dieses Programm besteht aus einer einmonatigen Residenz vor Ort in Amman, der eine vorbereitende hybride Phase vorausgeht, die den Teilnehmer*innen als Einführung und Input dient. In Form von Online-Gesprächen werden diese Input-Sitzungen auch für die breite Öffentlichkeit zugänglich sein.

Auf der Grundlage von Recherchen und direkten Untersuchungen der sozialen Verflechtungen und Nutzungen der urbanen Räume und der darin enthaltenen urbanen Geschichten werden die Teilnehmer*innen ein Konzept entwickeln, das sich mit den von ihnen identifizierten Themen befasst. Im Anschluss werden die Residenten auf dieser Grundlage eine kulturelle Intervention entwerfen. 

PHASE 1 - EINFÜHRUNG, ÖFFENTLICHE ONLINE-GESPRÄCHE UND GRUPPENDISKUSSIONEN 

22. Mai - 12. Juni 
2 Tage pro Woche

Referenten aus Jordanien und Deutschland werden eingeladen, Einblicke und Anregungen in Bezug auf Amman sowie Praktiken und Fallstudien aus Deutschland und verschiedene Aspekte der Urbanität im Allgemeinen zu geben.  

Die genauen Daten der Input-Sitzungen und die Namen der Experten werden zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt bekannt gegeben. 


PHASE 2 - KARTIERUNG, FORSCHUNG UND PRODUKTION VOR ORT 

12. Juni - 7. Juli 
35 Stunden pro Woche

Es werden vier Teilnehmer*innen aus Jordanien und zwei aus Deutschland ausgewählt. Diese werden in zwei Gruppen zu je 3 Personen arbeiten, wobei sich jede Gruppe auf ein bestimmtes Gebiet in Amman konzentrieren wird.   

- Woche 01: Einführung, Stadtspaziergänge, Kartierung, Identifizierung, Erkundung und Standortanalyse 

- Woche 02: Brainstorming, Vorschläge für wirkungsvolle Interventionen

- Woche 03: Umsetzung der Projektmaßnahmen
 
- Woche 04: Beobachten und Dokumentieren des Prozesses und abschließende Präsentation der Ergebnisse 
Es handelt sich um ein Vollzeit-Aufenthaltsprogramm von 7 Wochen. Von den ausgewählten Teilnehmern wird erwartet, dass sie an dem gesamten Programm teilnehmen, sich an der Gruppenarbeit beteiligen und die Endergebnisse präsentieren. 

- Teilnehmende erhalten ein Stipendium von 700 JD.  

- Ein Stipendium für Produktionskosten wird vom Goethe-Institut zur Verfügung gestellt. 

- Die Reisekosten, einschließlich Hin- und Rückflug in der Economy Class, Unterkunft und Visum, werden für Teilnehmer*innen aus Deutschland übernommen.
Dieses Residenzprogramm ist offen für Kreative mit einem Hintergrund in folgenden Bereichen   

- Design 
- Architektur 
- Urban Design
- Kunst im öffentlichen Raum 
- Forschung mit Bezug zum urbanen Raum 
- Anderer relevanter Bereich mit Interesse am städtischen Kontext 
Eine Jury der Kooperationspartner wird die Bewerbungen bewerten und die Auswahl treffen. Unvollständige Bewerbungen werden nicht berücksichtigt. Es kann kein individuelles Feedback gegeben werden. 
 
 
Die Auswahlkriterien lauten wie folgt: 
  - Relevanz des Portfolios und des beruflichen Hintergrunds des Bewerbers für das Thema der Residenz

- Qualität, Kreativität und Innovativität der ersten Projektidee 

- Beitrag zur Gruppe
  • Die Sprache des Programms ist Englisch. 

    Während der ersten vier Wochen ist die Teilnahme an der Einführungsveranstaltung und an allen vier Input- und Diskussionsveranstaltungen erforderlich. 
     
    Das wöchentliche Engagement in Phase 2 des Programms beträgt 35 Stunden/Woche.  Das Programm basiert auf Gruppenarbeit; es wird erwartet, dass Sie sich während des gesamten Programms voll engagieren. 
     
    Für die Teilnahme ist ein Nachweis über die Covid-19-Impfung erforderlich. Die Hygienevorschriften müssen eingehalten werden. 
     

BEWERBUNGSVERFAHREN

Folgende Informationen müssen in der Bewerbung angegeben werden: 

- Aktueller Lebenslauf 

- Portfolio oder berufliche Referenzen: Qualifikationen und frühere Aktivitäten/Projekte im Zusammenhang mit dem öffentlichen städtischen Raum 

- Motivationsschreiben 

- Beschreibung einer ersten Projektidee sowie einer kreativen Intervention, die im Rahmen des Programms durchgeführt werden soll 

- Beitrag zur Arbeitsgruppe  

Um sich zu bewerben, füllen Sie bitte das Bewerbungsformular unter folgendem Link aus

ZUM BEWERBUNGSFORMULAR
*Bewerbungen sind nur auf Englisch oder Arabisch möglich

 

KOOPERATION

7Hills for Social Developement ist eine gemeinnützige Skateboarding-Organisation, die sich für die Schaffung sicherer, inklusiver öffentlicher Räume einsetzt und diese durch ihr urbanes Bildungsprogramm aktiviert, das Skateboarding-, Kunst- und Berufsausbildungskomponenten umfasst, um einheimische, geflüchtete und migrantische Jugendliche in Jordanien zu stärken.

Top