Promoting the film industry in Kenya

Binge Watching Patrick Melrose "Patrick Melrose" director Edward Berger enjoying the reception after a successful Binge Watching event - the first of its kind in Nairobi. © Julian Manjahi In 2019, Goethe-Institut Nairobi entered into a new venture with two leading film production companies to nurture the next generation of Kenyan filmmakers.
 
In partnership with One Fine Day Films and Ginger Ink Films, the institute has been running a series of workshops and binge-watching events regarding TV and web series for the first time. The partnership is targeted at training emerging script-writers, producers and directors in the film industry.


 “Intensive training workshop for budding Kenyan film-makers”

Together, the three institutions developed a year-long programme, which will eventually lead to the production of an innovative and high-profile international TV series by Berlin-based One Fine Day Films and Ginger Ink, a local film production company working in Kenya.
  Serial Writing Workshop David Baboulenes In January 2019: Full house at the Goethe-Institut Nairobi during David Baboulene's lectures.© Goethe-Institut
The first intensive training series titled The Primary Colours of Story ran from January 25 to 28. Guest mentor David Baboulene provided insights into story development for film and television formats. More than 200 interested young writers and filmmakers attended. Later on, they were asked to follow the call for applications for the more intimate second workshop edition that followed in March.
 
From March 10 to 14, 14 selected participants were guided by the mentor and expert Timo Gössler, Associate Professor for Serial Storytelling at the Film University Babelsberg KONRAD WOLF in Potsdam, Germany. The intensive workshop focused on the creation and elaboration of the storyline and characters for a drama series to be produced by One Fine Day Films and Ginger Ink Films.

Serial storytelling:Timo Gössler Together with the participants, workshop instructor Timo Gössler of the Film University Babelsberg developed the plot and characters for a web series © Julian Manjahi This was followed by a master class training programme in April, focussed on scriptwriting, directing and producing a feature film. The master class Script Writing for Screen was conducted by renowned German director Edward Berger together with script writer and actress Nele Mueller-Stöfen.
 
“We have been doing this for the last 10 years, and we have produced seven feature films dedicated for training African film-makers to produce African content,” said Ginger Wilson, a co-founder of one of the partnering film firms, Ginger Ink.
 
“We work in a mentorship-style programme where we bring in mentors, scriptwriters, directors and film actors to train the participants,” she said, rekindling memories of the 2012 drama film Nairobi Half Life, which the two companies co-produced. The Kenyan thriller was the work of Kenyan and German film crews.
 
“We also run workshops, where we bring in speakers from overseas to talk about the craft of film-making, and that’s how we ended up with this project,” she said.

“Master Class Script Writing for Screen”
 
One Fine Day Films, founded by German film director Tom Tykwer and his wife Marie Steinmann-Tykwer, works with African filmmakers to give them an opportunities to write and produce their own content. The German production firm has in recent years trained over 1,000 filmmakers from 21 African countries in conjunction with the DW Akademie.

Tess Wanjiru, 30, is among the first cohort of budding filmmakers who attended the master class Script Writing for Screen at Goethe-Insititut Nairobi.
 
“It was educative and fun,” she said, adding that the forum provided a chance to interact with award-winning film producers.
 
“I learnt a great deal from the mentors and I feel inspired,” she added. 
 
Another participant, Godwin Otwoma, 40, a script writer-cum-director said it was an exciting experience that not only enables young Kenyan filmmakers to learn new production skills but also gives them an opportunity to network.
 
Otwoma said he learnt about the event through the Goethe-Institut’s social media networks.
 
“This programme is quite beneficial. It has been an eye-opener for us in the industry in Kenya,” he added.
 
 
“Binge Watching”
 
Participants also took part in a five-hour-long “Binge Watching” of an award-winning mini-series titled Patrick Melrose directed by Edward Berger. Thereafter, the audience engaged with the film director through a lively interactive question and answer session.
 
“Personally, I enjoyed the binge-watching because we interacted with many people, including the film director,” said Grace Omondi, 22, a budding filmmaker.
 
“It’s the first of its kind,” she added.
 
According to Goethe-Institut, the initiative aims at enabling Kenyan filmmakers to produce their own films and series that are unique and resonate with the local audience. Looking at the format of series as a contemporary means of telling one’s story lies at the heart of this project.

Förderung der Filmindustrie in Kenia

Binge Watching Patrick Melrose “Patrick Melrose”-Regisseur Edward Berger beim Empfang nach einem erfolgreichen Binge Watching event – dem ersten seiner Art in Nairobi. Im Jahr 2019 hat das Goethe-Institut Nairobi gemeinsam mit zwei führenden Filmproduktionsunternehmen ein neues Projekt zur Förderung der nächsten Generation kenianischer FilmemacherInnen begonnen.

In Zusammenarbeit mit One Fine Day Films und Ginger Ink Films veranstaltete das Institut erstmals eine Reihe von Workshops und Binge Watching Events zum Thema TV und Web-Serien. Die Partnerschaft zielt auf die Ausbildung junger DrehbuchautorInnen, ProduzentInnen und RegisseurInnen in der Filmindustrie ab.

 "Intensiv-Workshop für angehende kenianische FilmemacherInnen"

Gemeinsam entwickelten die drei Institutionen ein einjähriges Programm, das schließlich zur Produktion einer innovativen und hochkarätigen internationalen TV-Serie von One Fine Day Films aus Berlin und Ginger Ink, einer lokalen Filmproduktionsfirma die in Kenia arbeitet, führen wird.

Serial Writing Workshop David Baboulenes Im Januar 2019: Volles Haus am Goethe-Institut Nairobi während der Vorträge David Baboulenes. © Goethe-Institut Die erste intensive Trainingsreihe mit dem Titel The Primary Colours of Story fand vom 25. bis 28. Januar statt. Gastmentor David Baboulene gab Einblicke in die Handlungsentwicklung für Film- und Fernsehformate. Mehr als 200 interessierte junge AutorInnen und FilmemacherInnen nahmen teil. Später wurden sie aufgefordert, sich für die exklusivere zweite Workshop-Ausgabe, die im März folgte, zu bewerben.
Vom 10. bis 14. März wurden vierzehn ausgewählte TeilnehmerInnen von dem Mentor und Experten Timo Gössler, Dozent für serielles Erzählen an der Filmhochschule Babelsberg KONRAD WOLF in Potsdam, betreut. Der intensive Workshop konzentrierte sich auf die Erstellung und Ausarbeitung der Handlung und Charaktere einer Drama-Serie, die von One Fine Day Films und Ginger Ink Films produziert werden wird.

Serial storytelling:Timo Gössler Gemeinsam mit den Teilnehmenden erarbeitete Workshop-Leiter Timo Gössler der Filmuniversität Babelsberg Handlung und Charaktere für eine Web-Serie © Julian Manjahi Im April folgte ein Masterclass-Trainingsprogramm mit den Schwerpunkten Drehbuch, Regie und Produktion eines Spielfilms. Die Masterclass Script Writing for Screen wurde von dem renommierten deutschen Regisseur Edward Berger zusammen mit der Drehbuchautorin und Schauspielerin Nele Mueller-Stöfen geleitet.

"Wir machen das seit 10 Jahren und haben sieben Spielfilme produziert, die speziell für die Ausbildung afrikanischer FilmemacherInnen zur Produktion afrikanischer Inhalte entwickelt wurden", sagte Ginger Wilson, Mitbegründerin einer der kooperierenden Filmfirmen, Ginger Ink.

"Wir arbeiten mit einem Mentorenprogramm, in dem wir MentorInnen, Drehbuchautorinnen, RegisseurInnen und FilmschauspielerInnen einbeziehen, um die TeilnehmerInnen zu schulen", sagte sie und weckt Erinnerungen an das 2012 entstandenen Drama Nairobi Half Life, das die beiden Unternehmen gemeinsam produzierten. Der kenianische Spielfilm war das Werk kenianischer und deutscher Filmteams.

"Wir veranstalten auch Workshops, zu welchen wir ReferentInnen aus dem Ausland einladen, um über das Handwerk des Filme-Machens zu sprechen. So sind wir zu diesem Projekt gekommen", sagte sie.

"Master Class Script Writing for Screen"

One Fine Day Films, gegründet vom deutschen Filmregisseur Tom Tykwer und seiner Frau Marie Steinmann-Tykwer, arbeitet mit afrikanischen FilmemacherInnen zusammen, um ihnen die Möglichkeit zu geben, eigene Inhalte zu schreiben und zu produzieren. In den letzten Jahren hat das deutsche Produktionsunternehmen in Zusammenarbeit mit der DW Akademie über 1.000 FilmemacherInnen aus 21 afrikanischen Ländern ausgebildet.

Tess Wanjiru, 30, gehört zu den ersten NachwuchsfilmemacherInnen, die die Master Class Script Writing for Screen am Goethe-Institut Nairobi besuchten.

"Es war lehrreich und lustig", sagte sie und fügte hinzu, dass das Forum die Möglichkeit bot, mit preisgekrönten FilmproduzentInnen zu interagieren.

"Ich habe viel von den MentorInnen gelernt und fühle mich inspiriert", fügte sie hinzu.

Ein weiterer Teilnehmer, Godwin Otwoma, 40, Drehbuchautor und Regisseur, sagte, es sei eine aufregende Erfahrung, die es jungen kenianischen FilmemacherInnen nicht nur ermöglicht, neue Produktionskompetenzen zu erlernen, sondern ihnen auch die Möglichkeit gibt sich zu vernetzen.

Otwoma sagte, er habe über die Social Media Netzwerke des Goethe-Instituts von der Veranstaltung erfahren.

"Dieses Programm ist sehr nützlich. Es war ein Aha-Erlebnis für uns aus der Branche in Kenia", fügte er hinzu.
 
"Binge Watching"

Die TeilnehmerInnen nahmen auch an einem fünfstündigen "Binge Watching" der preisgekrönten Miniserie Patrick Melrose, unter der Regie von Edward Berger, teil. Anschließend wurde das Publikum durch eine lebhafte interaktive Diskussion mit dem Regisseur in Kontakt gebracht.

"Persönlich habe ich das Binge Watching genossen, weil wir mit vielen Leuten interagiert haben, einschließlich des Filmregisseurs", sagte Grace Omondi, 22, eine angehende Filmemacherin.

"Es ist das erste seiner Art", fügte sie hinzu.

Laut Goethe-Institut zielt die Initiative darauf ab, es kenianischen FilmemacherInnen zu ermöglichen, ihre eigenen Filme und Serien zu produzieren, die einzigartig sind und beim lokalen Publikum Anklang finden. Das Format der Serie als zeitgenössisches Mittel zur Erzählung der eigenen Geschichte zu betrachten, steht im Mittelpunkt dieses Projekts.