Jenga CCI - Global Project

Update

In response to the Government of Kenya’s directives and guidelines to curb the spread of COVID-19, the JENGA CCI team at the Goethe-Institut Nairobi is primarily working from home. We continue to be available during business hours on email and telephone. Please find our contact information here.

About the project

In Kenya and most other African countries, the cultural and creative industries form part of the fastest growing and most dynamic economic sectors. On behalf of the German Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ), the GIZ (Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit) and the Goethe-Institut - Project; Culture and Creative Industries promotes the emerging market of cultural and creative industries in Africa and the Middle East.

In Kenya, JENGA CCI – Project Culture and Creative Industries aims at sustainable development and supporting culture and creative industries through an integrative educational and funding strategy as well as promotion of advocacy. Given targeted interventions in knowledge exchange, capacity building, and structural reforms on a legal and economic level, JENGA CCI aims to unlock the enormous potential of the creative industries through:

  • Training and capacity building for practitioners in the cultural and creative industries
  • Promotion of cooperative projects and structures by holding intra- and intersectional dialogues and networking events.
  • Support of business development models, economic and legal counselling for companies in the cultural and creative sector.
  • Development and promotion of interest groups and advocacy.

Project Collaborators

Twaweza Communications Limited is a strategic communication institution established in 2000 and based in Nairobi. Working in the areas of public policy, media and culture for sustainable development Twaweza Communications is committed to increase public knowledge and action through research, training, advocacy and documentation for accessibility, agricultural policy, and sustainable environment, equity in gender relations, accountable leadership and people centred governance.

For JENGA CCI, Twaweza Communications delivered training and workshop sessions for various creative practitioners as well as contributed to policy advocacy, capacity building and knowledge exchange.

Imara Round Tables
Seven round table forums were held between April and November 2019. The themes covered included Entertainment Law and Intellectual Property; Opportunities for Cooperation in Film, TV and Digital Media; Skills and the Future of Creative Industries; Creative Industries in Urban Environment; The Gaming Industry in Kenya; Tourism and Cultural Industries;  and Trade and Cultural Industries. Participants included creative sector stakeholders from education institutions, legal profession, government agencies, creative industry practitioners among others.

Policy Advocacy
Often using results from the Roundtable series, Twaweza Communications continues to engaged various stakeholders in the development of policy for the Creative Sector.  In July 2019, Twaweza participated in the review of the Department of Culture and Heritage Strategic Plan. They have also facilitated workshops on the National Culture Policy and Bill and continue to engage and advise on policy.
HEVA Fund is an East African Company that believes in the transformative social and economic potential of the creative sector in the East African region. Since their inception, they have sought to be at the forefront of helping producers of cultural goods and services in Kenya and in East Africa to build high-value, profitable businesses, where new ideas will come to life, and where the highest potential for great profits, great jobs and happy people will be found.
In collaboration with JENGA CCI, HEVA Fund has designed a facility focused on young women in creative enterprises, looking to increase their production capacities, launch new product lines, invest in new technology and expand their distribution networks in the East African market. HEVA Fund is an East African Company that believes in the transformative social and economic potential of the creative sector in the East African region. Since their inception, they have sought to be at the forefront of helping producers of cultural goods and services in Kenya and in East Africa to build high-value, profitable businesses, where new ideas will come to life, and where the highest potential for great profits, great jobs and happy people will be found.
In collaboration with JENGA CCI, HEVA Fund has designed a facility focused on young women in creative enterprises, looking to increase their production capacities, launch new product lines, invest in new technology and expand their distribution networks in the East African market. The Young Women in Creative Industries Fund is directed at supporting the applicants‘ working capital needs as well as acquisition of production assets. Alongside the financial investment, business support and learning facilities to improve the productivity of successful beneficiaries will be provided in the following ways:
  • Investments in production, inventory and logistics technologies
  • Support increasing the unit value of a product by product development
  • Increasing access to necessary post-production capacities

Current Projects

State of the ARt is a joint initiative between the Goethe-Institut and BlackRhinoVR that sets out to use immersive technologies to change the way artists create and experience art. Established in 2016, BlackRhino VR is a Kenyan based virtual and augmented reality agency located in Nairobi that specializes in creating AR/VR content and solutions that are adaptable and relevant to the African market.

Pilot phase
Running from September 2019 to February 2020, the flagship project for State of the ARt took part in four phases namely: 
-weekly trainings of visual artists in various AR/VR software from the technical team at BlackRhinoVR
-art creation and critique sessions under the direction of  curator Nyambura M. Waruingi
- Integration of AR/VR assets created.
-and finally, a two week exhibition at the Goethe-Institut Nairobi titled NOMA! An XR Experience that showcased the work of the 7 participating artists. The exhibition was accompanied by a framework program that engaged artists, industry professionals, AR/VR enthusiasts and students. 
 
Find out more about the project here.


Current Project
Now in its second session; State of the ARt#DC(DuringCovid) aims to continue supporting artists in learning, experimenting and creating using AR and VR technologies. Adjusting to the realities and precautions necessary during this time of COVID, the program has been modified to take on fewer participants and combine online classes, tutorials,guides and one-on-one sessions to ensure effective social distancing.
The PerFORM music incubator is a 3-month live performance and music business program created to upskill emerging artists and their managerial teams. The incubator, a brainchild of Muthoni Drummer Queen and her team, aims to professionalize the live output of performers, train the technical crew in the live music scene and deliberately develop an ecosystem of professionals working to service the music industry including artist managers, PR practitioners and festival/event producers.

Pilot phase
Over a three month period that kicked off in September 2019, a team of seasoned professionals in the music industry worked with six young Kenyan artists through a series of classes, light and sound workshops, and direct coaching sessions to elevate their live performance presence and develop music business skills in branding, PR, intellectual property management, publishing and distribution. To showcase the growth of the artists and their bands over the project period, an Openhouse was scheduled from the 12th -14th of March but was canceled following government directives banning public gatherings to manage the spread of COVID-19. Find out more about the project’s first phase here.

Current Projects
Soon to launch its second session, PerFORM offers a more robust live performance and music business curriculum to participants, expanding its class selections to include workshops in songwriting and music production, while creating a cycle of three cohorts in a year to reach more emerging artistes and aspiring music business professionals.
Artworlds is a distance-learning podcast based on interviews with art practitioners who are successfully navigating the terrain of global artworlds. This particular, embedded knowledge is narrated through stories and anecdotes; it is a dynamic and experimental education platform designed to be easily assimilated by listeners. Rather than traditional lecture-based input that students are forced to learn at specific times, this contemporary approach gives agency and control to the students.

The podcast is a co-production between the School of Arts and Technology (SCAT) at the Technical University of Kenya and the research group Netze of the Academy of Media Arts in Cologne(KHM). The initiative is led by Melisa Allella (TUK) and Sam Hopkins (KHM) and facilitated by the Goethe-Institut.
 

Past Projects

The Creatives Business and Professional Empowerment Project was a collaboration between JENGA CCI and the Technical University of Kenya (TUK). This project supported the industry with basic and in-depth training aimed at professional and business development. 
These were facilitated through workshops, breakaway discussion forums, industry visits and open forum discussions, training in the areas of marketing, audience development, branding and product development, communication, financial management and networking.
The Copyright Project is an initiative in collaboration with WiBO Culture Artcellerator, a social enterprise that incubates and accelerates creative solutions for the changing world. Since 2016 WiBo Culture applies design thinking approaches to bring forth new solutions to the poorly structured and managed creative economy in Kenya.

The Copyright Project plans to educate and enable paralegals to administer the basic intellectual property management services at the grassroots. This initiative contributes to the array of long term solutions enabling socioeconomic resilience and sustainable livelihoods for creative entrepreneurs.  Within the pilot phase of the project an IP management handbook tailored for the Kenyan creative economy shall be tailored and utilized to educate paralegals throughout various counties of the country. Woking closely with the Kenyan Copyright Board (KECOBO) the Copyright Project will train and certify IP management agents (certified IPMA), who will be destined to work from Huduma Centers in four counties in Kenya. 

Research Reports

In 2019, Jenga CCI commissioned Santuri Media to conduct research resulting in the report: Stories and Studies of Gaming in Kenya, Tanzania and Rwanda.

The Gaming Industry in Kenya and the broader East African region has increasingly been a point of interest, and potential growth within the creative and cultural sector. According to the 2018-2022 Entertainment and Media Outlook: An African Perspective by Price Waterhouse Coopers, the video game industry grew at a rate of 21.2% in 2016 and is projected to grow at a rate of 13.2% between 2017 and 2022. The Goethe-Institut, Nairobi continues to engage with the gaming industry through workshops, roundtable discussions, exhibitions and longer-term funded projects. In 2019, Jenga CCI commissioned Santuri Media to conduct research resulting in the report: Stories and Studies of Gaming in Kenya, Tanzania and Rwanda. 

The five articles in the report can be read below:
-Analogue to Digital: The mechanics of gaming and the metagame
-Fast and Curious: The multiple actors in gaming and emerging technologies in Kenya
-Beyond hunting games and banking on betting: The example of Tanzanian Gamers and Academics
-This industry is big, bigger than Hollywood: Expanding gaming and production in Rwanda
-Kenya, Tanzania, Rwanda: Onward Together, Forging an Inclusive community.

Jenga CCI - Global Project

Update

Als Reaktion auf die Anweisungen und Richtlinien der kenianischen Regierung zur Eindämmung der Verbreitung von COVID-19 arbeitet das JENGA CCI-Team des Goethe-Instituts Nairobi hauptsächlich von zu Hause aus. Wir sind während der Geschäftszeiten weiterhin per E-Mail und Telefon für Sie erreichbar. Unsere Kontaktinformationen finden Sie hier.

Über das Projekt

In Kenia und den meisten anderen afrikanischen Ländern gehört die Kultur- und Kreativwirtschaft zu den am schnellsten wachsenden und dynamischsten Wirtschaftssektoren. Im Auftrag des Bundesministeriums für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ), der GIZ (Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit) und des Goethe-Institut-Projekts fördert JENGA CCI den aufstrebenden Markt der Kultur- und Kreativwirtschaft in Afrika und dem Nahen Osten.

In Kenia zielt JENGA CCI – Projekt für Kultur- und Kreativwirtschaft auf eine nachhaltige Entwicklung und die Unterstützung der Kultur- und Kreativwirtschaft durch eine integrative Bildungs- und Finanzierungsstrategie sowie die Förderung der Interessenvertretung ab. Anhand gezielter Interventionen in den Bereichen Wissensaustausch, Kapazitätsaufbau und Strukturreformen auf rechtlicher und wirtschaftlicher Ebene will JENGA CCI das enorme Potenzial der Kreativwirtschaft freisetzen. Dies geschieht durch:

  • Schulungen und Kapazitätsaufbau für Fachkräfte in der Kultur- und Kreativwirtschaft.
  • Förderung kooperativer Projekte und Strukturen durch intra- und intersektionelle Dialoge und Netzwerkveranstaltungen.
  • Unterstützung von Geschäftsentwicklungsmodellen, Wirtschafts- und Rechtsberatung für Unternehmen im Kultur- und Kreativsektor.
  • Entwicklung und Förderung von Interessengruppen und Lobbyarbeit.

Projektkooperationen

Twaweza Communications Limited ist eine im Jahr 2000 gegründete Institution für strategische Kommunikation mit Sitz in Nairobi. Twaweza Communications arbeitet in den Bereichen öffentliche Politik, Medien und Kultur für nachhaltige Entwicklung und setzt sich dafür ein, das Wissen und Handeln der Öffentlichkeit durch Forschung, Ausbildung, Interessenvertretung und Dokumentation in den Bereichen Zugänglichkeit, Agrarpolitik und nachhaltige Umwelt, Gleichberechtigung in den Geschlechterbeziehungen, verantwortliche Führung und menschenzentrierte Regierungsführung zu stärken.

Für JENGA CCI führte Twaweza Communications Schulungen und Workshops für verschiedene kreative Akteur*innen durch und trug zur politischen Interessenvertretung, zum Kapazitätsaufbau und zum Wissensaustausch bei.

Imara Round Tables
Zwischen April und November 2019 fanden sieben Rundtischgespräche statt. Zu den behandelten Themen gehörten Medienrecht und geistiges Eigentum, Möglichkeiten der Zusammenarbeit in Film, Fernsehen und digitalen Medien, Fähigkeiten und Zukunft der Kreativwirtschaft, Kreativwirtschaft im städtischen Raum, die Gaming-Industrie in Kenia, Tourismus und Kulturwirtschaft sowie Handel und Kulturwirtschaft. Zu den Teilnehmer*innen gehörten unter anderem Akteur*innen des kreativen Sektors aus Bildungseinrichtungen, Rechtsberufen, Regierungsbehörden und Vertreter*innen der Kreativwirtschaft.

Politische Lobbyarbeit
Twaweza Communications greift häufig auf die Ergebnisse der Rundtischreihe zurück und bezieht weiterhin verschiedene Interessengruppen in die Entwicklung von Strategien für den kreativen Sektor mit ein. Im Juli 2019 beteiligte sich Twaweza an der Überprüfung des Strategieplans des Ministeriums für Kultur und Kulturerbe. Darüber hinaus wurden Workshops zur nationalen Kulturpolitik und dem nationalen Kulturgesetzentwurf veranstaltet und Twaweza Communications engagiert sich weiterhin beratend in politischen Angelegenheiten.
HEVA Fund ist eine ostafrikanische Gesellschaft, die an das transformative soziale und wirtschaftliche Potenzial des kreativen Sektors in der ostafrikanischen Region glaubt. Seit ihrer Gründung ist sie bestrebt, an der Spitze zu stehen, wenn es darum geht, Produzent*innen von Kulturgütern und -dienstleistungen in Kenia und Ostafrika zu helfen, hochwertige, profitable Unternehmen aufzubauen, in denen neue Ideen zum Leben erweckt werden und in denen das höchste Potenzial für große Gewinne, großartige Arbeitsplätze und glückliche Menschen vorhanden ist.

In Zusammenarbeit mit JENGA CCI hat HEVA Fund eine Einrichtung konzipiert, die sich auf junge Frauen in kreativen Unternehmen konzentriert, welche ihre Produktionskapazitäten erhöhen, neue Produktlinien einführen, in neue Technologien investieren und ihre Vertriebsnetze auf dem ostafrikanischen Markt ausbauen wollen. Der Fonds für junge Frauen in der Kreativwirtschaft (Young Women in Creative Industries Fund) ist darauf ausgerichtet, den Bedarf der Antragstellerinnen an Betriebskapital sowie den Erwerb von Produktionsanlagen zu unterstützen. Neben den finanziellen Investitionen werden Unternehmensförderung und Lernangebote zur Verbesserung der Produktivität der erfolgreichen Begünstigten auf folgende Weise bereitgestellt:
  • Investitionen in Produktions, Lager- und Logistik-Technologien.
  • Unterstützung bei der Erhöhung des Stückwerts eines Produkts durch Produktentwicklung.
  • Verbesserung des Zugangs zu notwendigen Post-Produktionskapazitäten.

Aktuelle Projekte

State of the ARt ist eine gemeinsame Initiative des Goethe-Instituts und BlackRhinoVR, die sich zum Ziel gesetzt hat, mit Hilfe immersiver Technologien die Art und Weise zu verändern, wie Künstler*innen Kunst schaffen und erleben. BlackRhinoVR wurde 2016 gegründet und ist eine in Kenia ansässige Virtual- und Augmented-Reality-Agentur mit Sitz in Nairobi, die sich auf die Erstellung von AR/VR-Inhalten und -Lösungen spezialisiert hat, die anpassungsfähig und für den afrikanischen Markt relevant sind.

Pilotphase
Das Vorzeigeprojekt für State of the ARt lief von September 2019 bis Februar 2020 und bestand aus vier Phasen:
- wöchentliche Schulungen von bildenden Künstler*innen in verschiedener AR/VR-Software, die vom technischen Team von BlackRhinoVR durchgeführt wurden.
- Sitzungen zum Kunstschaffen und zur Kunstkritik unter Leitung der Kuratorin Nyambura M. Waruingi.
- Integration der erstellten FER/VR-Anlagen.
- und schließlich eine zweiwöchige Ausstellung im Goethe-Institut Nairobi mit dem Titel NOMA!; eine XR-Erfahrung, die die Arbeit der sieben teilnehmenden Künstler*innen vorstellte. Die Ausstellung wurde von einem Rahmenprogramm begleitet, an dem Kunstschaffende, Fachleute aus der Industrie, AR/VR-Enthusiast*innen und Student*innen mitwirkten.

Hier erfahren Sie mehr über das Projekt.
 
Aktuelles Projekt
Nun in der zweiten Runde hat State of the ARt#DC (DuringCovid) sich zum Ziel gesetzt, Künstler*innen weiterhin beim Lernen, Experimentieren und Schaffen mit AR- und VR-Technologien zu unterstützen. In Anpassung an die Realitäten und Vorsichtsmaßnahmen, die während der Corona-Zeit notwendig sind, wurde das Programm so modifiziert, dass es weniger Teilnehmer*innen aufnimmt und Online-Kurse, Tutorials, Leitfäden und Einzelsitzungen kombiniert, um eine effektive soziale Distanzierung zu gewährleisten.
Der PerFORM-Musikinkubator ist ein 3-monatiges Programm für Live-Performance und Musik-Business, das zur Weiterbildung aufstrebender Künstler*innen und ihrer Management-Teams geschaffen wurde. Der Inkubator, eine Idee von Muthoni Drummer Queen und ihrem Team, zielt darauf ab, den Live-Output von Künstler*innen zu professionalisieren, die technische Crew in der Live-Musikszene zu schulen und bewusst ein Netzwerk von Fachleuten aufzubauen, die für die Musikindustrie arbeiten, darunter Künstler*innenmanager, PR-Fachleute und Festival-/Eventproduzent*innen.

Pilotphase
Über einen Zeitraum von drei Monaten, der im September 2019 begann, arbeitete ein Team erfahrener Fachleute aus der Musikindustrie mit sechs jungen kenianischen Künstler*innen in einer Reihe von Kursen, Licht- und Ton-Workshops und direkten Coaching-Sitzungen zusammen, um ihre Präsenz bei Live-Auftritten zu erhöhen und ihre Fähigkeiten im Musikgeschäft in den Bereichen Branding, PR, IP-Management, Veröffentlichung und Vertrieb zu entwickeln.

Um die Entwicklung der Künstler*innen und ihrer Bands während der Projektlaufzeit zu präsentieren, war ein Tag der offenen Tür vom 12. bis 14. März geplant, der jedoch aufgrund von Regierungsanweisungen, die öffentliche Versammlungen zur Bewältigung der Verbreitung von COVID-19 verbieten, abgesagt wurde. Mehr über die erste Phase des Projekts erfahren Sie hier.

Aktuelle Projekte
Bald in die zweite Runde startend bietet PerFORM den Teilnehmenden einen robusteren Lehrplan für Live-Auftritte und Musikbusiness an, erweitert das Kursangebot um Workshops in Songwriting und Musikproduktion und schafft gleichzeitig einen Zyklus von drei Gruppen pro Jahr, um mehr aufstrebende Künstler*innen und Fachleute aus dem Musikbusiness zu erreichen.
Artworlds ist ein Podcast zum Fernstudium, der auf Interviews mit Kunstpraktiker*innen basiert, die sich erfolgreich auf dem Terrain globaler Kunstwelten bewegen. Dieses spezielle, eingebettete Wissen wird durch Geschichten und Anekdoten erzählt; es handelt sich um eine dynamische und experimentelle Bildungsplattform, die so gestaltet ist, dass sie von den Zuhörer*innen leicht aufgenommen werden kann. Anstelle des traditionellen vorlesungsbasierten Inputs, den die Studierenden zu bestimmten Zeiten lernen müssen, gibt dieser zeitgenössische Ansatz ihnen Handlungsfähigkeit und Kontrolle.

Der Podcast ist eine Koproduktion zwischen der School of Arts and Technology (SCAT) an der Technical University of Kenya und der Forschungsgruppe “Netze” der Kunsthochschule für Medien in Köln(KHM). Die Initiative wird von Melisa Allella (TUK) und Sam Hopkins (KHM) geleitet und vom Goethe-Institut unterstützt.
 

Vergangene Projekte

Das Urheberrechtsprojekt war eine Initiative in Zusammenarbeit mit WiBO Culture Artcellerator, einem sozialen Unternehmen, das kreative Lösungen für eine sich verändernde Welt entwickelt und beschleunigt. Seit 2016 wendet WiBo Culture Design Thinking-Ansätze an, um neue Lösungen für die unzulänglich strukturierte und verwaltete Kreativwirtschaft in Kenia hervorzubringen.

Das Urheberrechtsprojekt bildet Anwaltsassistent*innen aus, damit sie grundlegende Dienstleistungen für die Verwaltung von geistigem Eigentum (IP Management) verwalten können. Diese Initiative trägt zu einer Reihe langfristiger Lösungen bei, die die sozioökonomische Widerstandsfähigkeit und nachhaltige Existenzgrundlagen für kreative Unternehmer ermöglichen. In enger Zusammenarbeit mit der kenianischen Urheberrechtsbehörde (KECOBO) schulte das Urheberrechtsprojekt IP-Management Agent*innen (zertifizierte IPMA), die von Huduma-Zentren in vier kenianischen Bezirken aus arbeiten sollen. Darüber hinaus entwickelte WIBO Culture ein Handbuch zum IP-Management, das auf die kenianische Kreativwirtschaft zugeschnitten ist.
Das Projekt “Kreatives Unternehmertum und berufliches Empowerment” war eine Zusammenarbeit zwischen JENGA CCI und der Technischen Universität Kenia (TUK). Es unterstützte die Branche mit grundlegenden und vertiefenden Schulungen zur beruflichen und unternehmerischen Entwicklung. Diese wurden durch Workshops, Break-Away-Diskussionsforen, Branchenbesuche und offene Forumsdiskussionen, Schulungen in den Bereichen Marketing, Audience Development, Branding und Produktentwicklung, Kommunikation, Finanzmanagement und Networking ermöglicht.

Forschungsberichte

In 2019 beauftragte JENGA CCI  Santuri Media sich mit der Erforschung der Gaming-Industrie im ostafrikanischen Raum zu befassen.

Die Gaming-Industrie in Kenia und in der ostafrikanischen Region erlangt zunehmend mehr Interesse und weist ein potenzielles Wachstum innerhalb des Kultur- und Kreativsektors auf. Aus dem 2018-2022 Entertainment and Media Ausblick von Price Waterhouse Coopers: An African Perspective geht hervor, dass die Videospielindustrie 2016 um 21.2% wuchs und prognostiziert ein Wachstum von 13.2% zwischen 2017 – 2022.
Das Goethe-Institut Nairobi und JENGA CCI führen ihre Arbeit innerhalb des breiten Feldes der Gaming-Industrie durch Workshops, Round-Table Disskussionen, Ausstellungen und längerfristige Trainingsprojekte fort. In 2019 beauftragte JENGA CCI  Santuri Media sich mit der Erforschung der Gaming-Industrie im ostafrikanischen Raum zu befassen.
 
Der resultierende Report Stories and Studies beinhaltet die folgenden fünf Artikel:
-Analogue to Digital: The mechanics of gaming and the metagame
-Fast and Curious: The multiple actors in gaming and emerging technologies in Kenya
-Beyond hunting games and banking on betting: The example of Tanzanian Gamers and Academics
-This industry is big, bigger than Hollywood: Expanding gaming and production in Rwanda
-Kenya, Tanzania, Rwanda: Onward Together, Forging an Inclusive community.