Nasrin Siege Where there's Swahili, there's home

At the invitation of the Goethe-Institut, Nasrin Siege conducted a writing workshop for young people from 15 Kenyan Secondary Schools in Kapsabet in February 2017. The writing workshop was organized by PEN-Kenya as a measure to promote reading and writing among young people.

In Kenya I was surprised by… how fast my Swahili came back and helped me to feel at home again ... 
 
In Nairobi I was reminded of Dar-es-Salaam by
so many things ... Swahili, traffic, food, people, the sun, ... 

A particular beautiful experience during my visit was… to listen to the stories and poems of the young authors participating in the Creative Writing Workshop ...

My favorite dish in Kenya is… Kuku na Ugali
 
My motto of life is…
Wherever you are, try to connect with the people you meet ... 

 

Nasrin Siege is a  German Author, Psychologist and the founder of the German NGO “Hilfe für Afrika e.V.”. She was born in Iran (1950). When she was 8 years old she immigrated with her family to Germany.  Nasrin Siege lived from 1983 to 2016 - with short breaks in Germany - in Tanzania, Sambia, Tanzania, Madagaskar and in Ethiopia. Her son was born in Nairobi. Siege’s  books  have been published in Germany. Some of her novels have been translated in other languages.  

Nasrin Siege received in 1994 for her books "Sombo, das Mädchen vom Fluss" and "Wie der Fluss in meinem Dorf" the children books Award of the Berlin Senate. In 2006, she received the Austrian Two Wings Award for her  collection of traditional African stories and for her  continuous contributions as a development aid worker through “Hilfe für Afrika e.V.” in several African countries.

Nasrin Siege © Nasrin Siege

Nasrin Siege Wo Suaheli ist, ist Zuhause

Auf Einladung des Goethe-Instituts leitete Nasrin Siege im Februar 2017 einen Schreibworkshop für Jugendliche aus 15 kenianischen Sekundarschulen in Kapsabet.  Der Schreibworkshop wurde von PEN-Kenia organisiert – als Maßnahme zur Förderung vom Lesen und Schreiben bei Jugendlichen.

In Kenia hat mich überrascht,
… wie schnell mein Suaheli zurückgekommen ist und mir geholfen hat, mich wie zuhause zu fühlen.
 
An Dar-es-Salaam erinnert mich in Nairobi...  so vieles. Suaheli, Verkehr, Essen, Menschen, die Sonne...
 
Besonders schön während meines Besuchs fand ich, 
… mir die Geschichten und Gedichte der jungen Autoren anzuhören, die am kreativen Schreibworkshop teilgenommen haben...
 
Mein Lieblingsgericht in Kenia ist, 
…  Kuku na Ugali
 
Mein Lebensmotto ist, 
… Wo immer du bist, versuche dich auf die Menschen, die du triffst, einzulassen...

Nasrin Siege ist eine deutsche Autorin, Psychologin und Begründerin der deutschen NGO "Hilfe für Afrika e.V.". Sie wurde im Iran geboren (1950). Als sie 8 Jahre alt war, wanderte sie mit ihrer Familie nach Deutschland aus. Nasrin Siege lebte von 1983 bis 2016 - mit kurzen Pausen in Deutschland - in Tansania, Sambia, Tansania, Madagaskar und in Äthiopien. Ihr Sohn wurde in Nairobi geboren. Sieges Bücher sind in Deutschland erschienen. Einige ihrer Romane wurden in anderen Sprachen übersetzt.

Nasrin Siege erhielt 1994 für ihre Bücher "Sombo, das Mädchen vom Fluss" und "Wie der Fluss in meinem Dorf" den Kinderbücherpreis des Berliner Senats. Im Jahr 2006 erhielt sie den österreichischen Zwei-Flügel-Preis für ihre Sammlung traditioneller afrikanischer Geschichten und für ihre kontinuierlichen Beiträge als Entwicklungshelferin durch "Hilfe für Afrika e.V." in mehreren afrikanischen Ländern.

Nasrin Siege © Nasrin Siege