From the Gold Coast to Nairobi

Emeka Alams: From the Gold Coast to Nairobi

Emeka Alams was one of the artists involved in the exhibition FAVT: Future Africa Visions in Time that had its first stop on African ground at the National Museum of Nairobi in April 2017.

In Kenya I was surprised by… the traffic!
 
In Nairobi I was reminded of Seattle by
all the green trees and the coffee of course!

A particular beautiful experience during my visit was… visiting the national park for sure, we don't really have anything of that scale in west africa but also connecting with the local artist and getting a chance to explore their scene. It seems pretty small scene but dynamic and the work coming out of Nairobi is really exciting!

My favorite dish in Kenya is… chapati and that Chicken! I forgot the name.
 
My motto of life is…
You're not as great as they say but you're not bad as you think.

 

Emeka Alams is the designer of the highly praised and coveted clothing line, Gold Coast Trading Co.

Emeka Pulls from his Nigerian roots to inspire the lines and graphics that are common themes in his work. With the essence of nostalgia lingering in Emeka’s designs, he brings a fresh perspective to high-end streetwear and design, which is greatly triggered by his West African culture and fascination with storytelling.

Recently, Drawn by the strong visual narrative behind Gold Coast Trading, Emeka has been commissioned by several universities and museums in Germany to handle art direction, exhibition and interior design.
Since its creation Gold Coast Trading Co has been cosigned by likes of Vogue, Another Magazine, The Fader, Dazed & Confused, Harvard University and such international talents as Major Lazer, NaS, Pusha-T and M.I.A.

Emeka Alams © Carmen Daneshmandi
Goethe-Institut / Ruth Asan
May 2017

Do you have any questions concerning this article? Please contact us.

Von der Gold Coast nach Nairobi

Emeka Alams: Von der Gold Coast nach Nairobi

Emeka Alams war einer der Künstler der Ausstellung FAVT: Future Africa Visions in Time, die im April 2017 im Nationalmuseum Nairobi ihren ersten Stop auf afrikanischem Boden einlegte.

In Kenia hat mich überrascht,
… der Verkehr!
 
An Seattle erinnern mich in Nairobi... all die grünen Bäume und der Kaffee natürlich!
 
Besonders schön während meines Besuchs fand ich, 
… mit Sicherheit den Nationalpark zu besuchen, wir haben so etwas in der Größenordnung in Westafrika nicht, aber auch lokalen Künstlern zu begegnen und eine Chance zu bekommen, ihre Szene zu entdecken. Die Szene scheint mir klein, aber dynamisch, und die Werke, die aus Nairobi kommen, sind wirklich aufregend!
 
Mein Lieblingsgericht in Kenia ist, 
…  Chapati und Hühnchen. Den genauen Namen habe ich vergessen.
 
Mein Lebensmotto ist, 
… Du bist nicht so toll wie sie sagen, aber auch nicht so schlecht, wie du denkst.

Emeka Alams ist der Designer der hoch gelobten Modelinie, Gold Coast Trading Co.

Emekas Linien und Grafiken sind von seinen nigerianischen Wurzeln inspiriert, die häufig Thema seiner Arbeit sind. Mit der Essenz der Nostalgie, die sich durch Emekas Entwürfe zieht, bringt er eine neue Perspektive auf High-End-Streetwear und Design, verstärkt durch seine westafrikanische Kultur und die Faszination des Geschichtenerzählens.

Vor kurzem wurde Emeka von mehreren Universitäten und Museen in Deutschland aufgrund der starken visuellen Narrative hinter Gold Coast Trading beauftragt, Ausstattung, Ausstellung und Innenarchitektur zu behandeln.
Seit ihrer Gründung wurde die Gold Coast Trading Co unter anderem von Vogue, Another Magazin, The Fader, Dazed & Confused, der Universtität Harvard und internationalen Talenten wie Major Lazer, NaS, Pusha-T und M.I.A. beauftragt.

Emeka Alams © Carmen Daneshmandi
Goethe-Institut / Ruth Asan
Mai 2017

Haben Sie noch Fragen zu diesem Artikel? Schreiben Sie uns!