Dr. Hannelore Vogt The Magic of a New Beginning

Dr. Hannelore Vogt came to Nairobi in 2018 to speak at the African Library and Information Associations and Institutions' Leadership Academy from January 15-19. The workshop's participants came from seven countries: Namibia, Gambia, Ghana, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda and Kenya. The speakers were from the USA, Kenya, Uganda, Germany and South Africa. She also spoke to the Goethe-Institut Kenya about possible areas of cooperation with Kenyan libraries.

In Kenya I was surprised by… the fact that people are so open-minded and enthusistic.
 
In Nairobi I was reminded of Cologne by...
the many traffic jams.

A particular beautiful experience during my visit was… the many times I was received with a lot of hospitality.

My favorite dish in Kenya is… difficult to say, I especially enjoy fish - Tilapia was my favourite.
 
My motto of life is…
I always think positively and am open to new experiences! Because: Every beginning holds its own magic...

 

Dr. Hannelore Vogt is the director of the Stadtbibliothek Köln (Cologne City Library), which won the national "Library of the Year" award in 2016, just like the Stadtbücherei Würzburg (Würzburg City Library), whose director she was before. The Cologne Cultural Council honoured her as "Cultural Manager of the Year" in 2016.

She has a degree in library science, a masters degree in cultural management and a doctorate in marketing. Besides, she was on the Advisory Board "Information & Library" of the Goethe-Institut and a strategic advisor for the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation.

Dr. Hannelore Vogt © Dr. Hannelore Vogt

Dr. Hannelore Vogt Der Zauber des Anfangs

Dr. Hannelore Vogt kam 2018 nach Nairobi, um dort vom 15.-19. Januar bei der Leadership Academy der African Library and Information Associations and Institutions zu referieren. Der Workshop hatte Teilnehmer aus sieben Ländern: Namibia, Gambia, Ghana, Nigeria, Südafrika, Uganda und Kenia. Die Referenten kamen aus den USA, Kenya, Uganda, Deutschland und Südafrika. Dabei sprach sie auch mit dem Goethe-Institut Kenia über mögliche Bereiche der Zusammenarbeit mit kenianischen Bibliotheken.

In Kenia hat mich überrascht,
… dass die Menschen so offen und begeisterungsfähig sind.
 
An Köln erinnern mich in Nairobi... die vielen Staus.
 
Besonders schön während meines Besuchs fand ich, 
… dass ich überall so gastfreundlich aufgenommen wurde.
 
Mein Lieblingsgericht in Kenia ist, 
… schwer zu sagen, besonders gerne mag ich Fisch - Tilapia hat mir besonders gut geschmeckt.
 
Mein Lebensmotto ist, 
… ich denke immer positiv und bin offen für Neues! Denn: Jedem Anfang wohnt ein Zauber inne…
 

Dr. Hannelore Vogt ist Direktorin der Stadtbibliothek Köln, die 2015 den nationalen Bibliothekspreis „Bibliothek des Jahres“ erhielt, genauso wie die Stadtbücherei Würzburg, die sie davor leitete. Der Kölner Kulturrat zeichnete sie 2016 als „Kulturmanagerin des Jahres“ aus.

Sie verfügt über ein Diplom in Bibliothekswissenschaft, einen Masterabschluss im Fach Kulturmanagement und hat im Bereich Marketing promoviert. Daneben war sie u.a. Beiratsvorsitzende „Information & Bibliothek“ beim Goethe-Institut und „Strategic Advisor“ für die Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation.

Dr. Hannelore Vogt © Dr. Hannelore Vogt