Exhibition Opening FAVT

FAVT intro © Emeka Alams

Thursday, 6th April 2017, 7:00 PM

Nairobi National Museum

Kipande Rd
Nairobi

Future Africa Visions in Time

The Bayreuth Academy of Advanced African Studies, Iwalewahaus, University of Bayreuth and the Goethe-Institut Nairobi, in cooperation with the National Museums of Kenya are bringing the exhibition “FAVT: Future Africa Visions in Time” to Nairobi. The exhibition will be open to the public from April 7th to 28th at the Nairobi National Museum. After the celebratory opening on April 6th, a framework programme will be offering free guided tours, panel discussions, artists’ talks, lectures, concerts, film screenings, and more.

The exhibition “FAVT: Future Africa Visions in Time”, which was first shown at Iwalewahaus, University of Bayreuth in 2016, explores visions of future emerging from Africa and its diasporas. Which concepts of future are developed in moments of uncertainty and rupture, e.g. during the First World War, or in the liberation movements? How is future represented and visualized in art and fiction? In which ways does the past resonate into the future? And how can we anticipate from a troubling present? The curatorial process itself was an extraordinary one: Contemporary artists and researchers teamed up to work on their fields of interest together, ranging from ‘middle class’ to ‘queer futures’. Through this approach, the exhibition opens up spaces for innovative dialogues and perspectives, abandoning a single interpretation. Positions generated through this collaborative process also question academic knowledge production by aesthetically complicating them.

“FAVT: Future Africa Visions in Time” includes photography, installations, soundscapes, projections, text and performance. It serves as a public platform for discussing visions of future: The opening week will be framed by a programme presented by the Goethe-Institut Kenya, the Bayreuth Academy, the Iwalewahaus, the Institute of African Studies–Bayreuth, the DAAD Regional Office for Africa and the British Institute in Eastern Africa. It will intensify discussions of themes which are also reflected within the exhibition: “Middle class as fiction? Hopes, and the continuity of exclusion”, “The Future of Nature: Sustainability in the Anthropocene”, “Normalizing Mobility, Imagined Diasporas”, “Identities in Flux: Queering Futures”, and “Healing Hurts. Aesthetic and archival practices addressing traumatizing pasts”.

The Bayreuth Academy is an innovative research structure, which forms part of Bayreuth University. Since its inception in 2013, various artists and cultural producers have participated in and contributed to the work at the Bayreuth Academy, generating insights on topics such as “temporal orders”, “hope”, “utopia”, “dystopia” and “prognosis” amongst others. After the stop in Nairobi, “FAVT: Future Africa Visions in Time” is traveling on to Johannesburg, South Africa, and other destinations on the African continent in 2017 and 2018, in cooperation with the Goethe-Institutes. As a process of ongoing exchange, the exhibition is changing its focus and content at each stop and will be accompanied by a programme which 'activates' its theme.

EXHIBITION OPENING SCHEDULE:

7:00 PM: Exhibition Opening / Venue: Aga Khan Hall

7:30 PM:
Welcome Notes:
- Dr. Nina Wichmann (Goethe-Institut)
- Prof. Dr. Dieter Neubert (Executive Director, Institute of African Studies, University of Bayreuth)
- Anisha Soff (Curator)
Exhibition Catalogue presentation FAVT (Dr. Katharina Fink)
Walk-about and short introduction in the exhibition with curators and artists

8:30 PM:
DJ set by Blinky Bill (artist, Nairobi)
Get-together with refreshments and finger food / Venue: Museum court

Admission is free!
 

Back

Ausstellungseröffnung FAVT

FAVT intro © Emeka Alams

Donnerstag, 6. April 2017, 19.00 Uhr

Nairobi National Museum

Kipande Rd
Nairobi

Future Africa Visions in Time

Die Bayreuth Academy of Advanced African Studies, Iwalewahaus, Universität Bayreuth und das Goethe-Institut Nairobi bringen in Zusammenarbeit mit dem National Museum of Kenya die Ausstellung "FAVT: Future Africa Visions in Time" nach Nairobi. Die Ausstellung ist vom 7. bis 28. April im Nairobi National Museum für die Öffentlichkeit zugänglich. Nach der feierlichen Eröffnung am 6. April bietet ein Rahmenprogramm kostenlose Führungen, Podiumsdiskussionen, Künstlergespräche, Vorträge, Konzerte, Filmvorführungen und vieles mehr an.

Die Ausstellung "FAVT: Future Africa Visions in Time", die erstmals in Iwalewahaus, Universität Bayreuth im Jahr 2016 gezeigt wurde, erforscht Visionen der Zukunft aus Afrika und seinen Diasporas. Welche Konzepte der Zukunft werden in Momenten der Unsicherheit und des Bruchs entiwckelt, z.B. während des Ersten Weltkrieges oder in den Befreiungsbewegungen? Wie wird die Zukunft in Kunst und Fiktion dargestellt und visualisiert? Wie spiegelt sich die Vergangenheit in der Zukunft wider? Und was können wir von einer beunruhigenden Gegenwart erwarten? Der kuratorische Prozess selbst war ein außergewöhnlicher: Zeitgenössische Künstler und Forscher arbeiteten zusammen in ihren gemeinsamen Interessengebieten, von "Mittelklasse" bis "queer Futures". Durch diesen Ansatz eröffnet die Ausstellung Räume für innovative Dialoge und Perspektiven, die die Idee einer einzig wahren Interpretation aufgeben. Positionen, die durch diesen kollaborativen Prozess generiert werden, stellen auch die akademische Wissenserzeugung dar, indem sie sie ästhetisch komplizieren.

"FAVT: Future Africa Visions in Time" umfasst Fotografie, Installationen, Soundscapes, Projektionen, Text und Performance. Es dient als öffentliche Plattform für die Erörterung von Zukunftsvisionen: Die Eröffnungswoche wird von einem Rahmenprogramm des Goethe-Instituts Kenia, der Bayreuth Academy, des Iwalewahaus, des Instituts für Afrikanische Studien - Bayreuth, dem DAAD-Regionalbüro für Afrika, und dem British Institute in Eastern Africa begleitet. Dieses Programm wird die Diskussion über Themen intensivieren, die sich auch in der Ausstellung widerspiegeln: "Mittelklasse als Fiktion? Hoffnungen und die Kontinuität der Ausgrenzung", "Die Zukunft der Natur: Nachhaltigkeit im Anthropozän", "Normalisierung von Mobilität, Imaginierte Diasporas", "Identitäten im Fluss: Queering Futures" und "Healing Hurts. Ästhetische und archivarische Praktiken zur Bewältigung traumatisierender Vergangenheiten".

Die Bayreuth Academy ist eine innovative Forschungsstruktur, die Teil der Bayreuther Universität ist. Seit ihrer Gründung im Jahr 2013 haben verschiedene Künstler und Kulturschaffende an der Bayreuth Academy teilgenommen und Erkenntnisse unter anderem zu Themen wie "temporal orders", "Hoffnung", "Utopie", "Dystopie" und "Prognose" beigetragen. Nach dem Stopp in Nairobi reist in Kooperation mit den Goethe-Instituten "FAVT: Future Africa Visions in Time" nach Johannesburg, Südafrika und zu anderen Zielen auf dem afrikanischen Kontinent 2017 und 2018. Als ein Prozess des laufenden Austausches verändert die Ausstellung ihren Fokus und ihren Inhalt bei jedem Stopp und wird von einem Programm begleitet, das sein Thema "aktiviert".

PROGRAMM AUSSTELLUNGSERÖFFNUNG:

19:00: Ausstellungseröffnung / Ort: Aga Khan Hall

19:30
Begrüßungsworte
- Dr. Nina Wichmann (Goethe-Institut)
- Prof. Dr. Dieter Neubert (Leiter Institut für Afrikastudien, Universität Bayreuth)
- Anisha Soff (Kuratorin)
Präsentation Ausstellungskatalog FAVT (Dr. Katharina Fink)
Kurze Führung und Präsentation der Ausstellung mit Kuratorinnen und Künstlern

20:30:
DJ-Set von Blinky Bill (DJ, Nairobi)
Zusammenkunft mit Getränken und Finger Food / Ort: Museumshof

Admission is free!
 

Zurück