Johannes Schöllhorn

Johannes Schöllhorn Johannes Schöllhorn | © Johannes Schöllhorn Johannes Schöllhorn was born in Murnau (Germany) in 1962. He studied composition in Freiburg with Klaus Huber, Emanuel Nunes and Mathias Spahlinger and musical theory with Peter Förtig. He also attended conducting courses with Peter Eötvös.
 
Schöllhorn’s music is performed by many international soloists, ensembles and orchestras such as the Ensemble Modern, Ensemble Intercontemporain, Ensemble l’instant donné, Ensemble Klangforum Wien, Ensemble musikFabrik, ensemble recherche, Neue Vocalsolisten, ensemble ascolta, Neue Ensemble, Radio Symphony Orchestras of the WDR and SWR, DSO Berlin, Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra and Philharmonia Orchestra London. He has received many prizes, including the Comitée de lecture of the Ensemble Intercontemporain in 1997 and the 2009 Praetorius Prize. His chamber opera les petites filles modèles had its premiere at the Opera de Bastille in 1997 and was subsequently performed numerous times in Paris and other places in France. In 2008 he took part in the into project in Hong Kong. Schöllhorn’s music avails itself of a wide range of genres, spanning chamber, vocal and orchestra music to music for theatre. In addition to his own compositions, he has worked on different kinds of transcriptions; among others, he has made an own version of Pierre Boulez' ...explosante-fixe....
 
Schöllhorn taught from 1995 to 2000 at the Zürich-Winterthur Conservatory (CH). Until 2004, he was conductor of the Ensemble for New Music at the Freiburg College of Music, and from 2001 to 2009 he was Professor of Composition at the University of Music and Theatre in Hanover and also Director of the Institute for New Music there. Since October 2009 he has been Professor of Composition and Director of the Institute for New Music at the Cologne University of Music.

pièces croisées, Ensemble Musikfabrik, Conductor: Peter Rundel (MP3)

Audio wird geladen

Johannes Schöllhorn

Johannes Schöllhorn Johannes Schöllhorn | © Johannes Schöllhorn Johannes Schöllhorn wurde 1962 in Murnau geboren. Er studierte in Freiburg Komposition bei Klaus Huber, Emanuel Nunes und Mathias Spahlinger sowie Musiktheorie bei Peter Förtig. Darüber hinaus besuchte er Dirigierkurse bei Peter Eötvös.
 
Johannes Schöllhorn arbeitet mit zahlreichen internationalen Solisten, Ensembles und Orchestern zusammen, unter anderen dem Ensemble Modern, Ensemble Intercontemporain, Ensemble l’instant donné, Ensemble musikFabrik, dem Klangforum Wien, ensemble recherche, den Neuen Vocalsolisten, ensemble ascolta, dem Neuen Ensemble, den Symphonieorchestern des WDR und SWR Stuttgart, dem DSO Berlin, dem Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra und dem Philharmonia Orchestra London. Er erhielt einige internationale Kompositionspreise und Auszeichnungen. Im Jahre 1997 war er Gewinner des Comitée de Lecture des Ensemble Intercontemporain und erhielt 2009 den Praetorius Musikpreis des Landes Niedersachsen. Seine Kammeroper les petites filles modèles hatte 1997 an der Opéra Bastille Premiere und wurde im Anschluss mehrfach in Paris und an anderen Orten in Frankreich aufgeführt. 2008 war er im Rahmen des ortspezifischen „into“-Kompositionsprojekts zu einem Studienaufenthalt in Hong Kong. Seine Musik umfasst viele Genres von Kammer- und Vokalmusik über Werke für Orchester bis hin zum Musiktheater. Er beschäftigt sich ebenfalls auf vielfältige Weise mit musikalischer Bearbeitung, unter anderem hat er eine Bearbeitung von ...explosante-fixe... von Pierre Boulez angefertigt.
 
Johannes Schöllhorn war bis 2004 Leiter des Ensembles für Neue Musik an der Musikhochschule Freiburg und unterrichtete von 1995 bis 2000 an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater Zürich-Winterthur. Von 2001 bis 2009 war er Professor für Komposition an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater Hannover und Leiter des Instituts für neue Musik. Seit Oktober 2009 ist er Professor für Komposition und Leiter des Instituts für Neue Musik an der Hochschule für Musik und Tanz in Köln.

pièces croisées, Ensemble Musikfabrik, Dirigent: Peter Rundel (MP3)

Audio wird geladen