Eli Marshall

Eli Marschall Eli Marshall | Photo: Sui Eli Marshall’s works have been performed at the Berlin Reichstag, the Smithsonian Institution, Gakwonsa Temple in South Korea and by orchestras in China (including Hong Kong and Macao), Germany, Ireland, Ukraine and Sweden. He was recipient of the 2003 Fulbright Fellowship, the 2005 Kaplan/Gould Award (ASCAP) and the 2008 Douglas Moore Fellowship.

Marshall has composed music for the film directors Ann Hui (The Golden Era; his original score recorded by the London Symphony Orchestra) and Wong Kar-wai (Ashes of Time — Redux); he and Wong Kar-wai later collaborated with music director Wu Tong on a recut of the latter, leading to a CD on Sony Classical with Yo-Yo Ma as soloist. From 2006-10, he was Artistic Director of the Beijing New Music Ensemble, overseeing dozens of the Chinese premieres of new works, a BBC Radio broadcast and a Naxos CD. He has also independently curated concerts of contemporary music at the Ullens Center for Contemporary Art in Beijing and been a faculty member in Hong Kong’s first new music academy and festival, the Modern Academy.

He studied at Bard College, the Curtis Institute of Music, the Hamburg Hochschule für Musik und Theater, and the Chinese University of Hong Kong. He has previously taught at the Central Conservatory (Beijing), the Witten/Herdecke University (Germany) and the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology. Currently, he is a Postdoctoral Fellow and Visiting Faculty in the Department of Music at Cornell University.

Eli Marshall

Eli Marschall Eli Marshall | Foto: Sui Eli Marshalls Werke wurden im Berliner Reichstag, der Smithsonian Institution und dem südkoreanischen Tempel Won Gak-Sa aufgeführt. Seine Kompositionen wurden von Orchestern in China (einschließlich Hongkong und Macao), Deutschland, Irland, der Ukraine und Schweden gespielt. Er wurde 2003 mit dem Fulbright-Stipendium, 2005 mit dem Kaplan/Gould Award (ASCAP), und 2008 mit einer Douglas Moore Fellowship ausgezeichnet.

Er hat für die Regisseurin Ann Hui (The Golden Era) Filmmusik geschrieben, die vom London Symphony Orchestra eingespielt wurde. Er hat auch für die Filmmusik von Wong Kar-wais Ashes of Time – Redux mit Musikdirektor Wu Tong zusammengearbeitet, was zur Aufnahme einer CD bei Sony Classical mit Yo-Yo Ma als Solisten führte. Von 2006 bis 2010 war er künstlerischer Leiter des Beijing New Music Ensemble, mit dem zahlreiche China-Premieren von neuen Werken, eine BBC-Radiosendung und eine CD-Aufnahme bei Naxos stattfanden. Darüber hinaus hat er Konzerte zeitgenössischer Musik am Ullens Center for Contemporary Art in Beijing veranstaltet und als Fakultätsmitglied an der Modern Academy gearbeitet, der ersten Akademie und Festival für Neue Musik in Hong Kong.

Er studierte am Bard College, am Curtis Institute of Music, an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater Hamburg und an der Chinese University of Hong Kong. Er lehrte am Central Conservatory (Beijing), der Universität Witten/Herdecke und der Hong Kong University of Science and Technology. Zurzeit ist er Postdoktorand und Gastdozent an der Abteilung für Musik der Cornell University (USA).