Michael Fine

Michael Fine Michael Fine | Photo: Diederik Grootkerk GRAMMY Award winning Classical Producer of the Year (1992), Michael Fine is widely acknowledged as one of the top classical recording producers in the world. In addition to recording production, Fine has been active in artistic planning for orchestras including the Rotterdam Philharmonic Gergiev Festival, where he served as Artistic Manager, the Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France where he was Interim Artistic Director and with the Seoul Philharmonic where he was Artistic Advisor. Formerly Vice President of Artists & Repertoire at Deutsche Grammophon, he was the first American to hold the post of Artistic Director of the hundred year old label.  Fine also has given lectures, talks, and seminars about the music and recording business - from the Juilliard School and Hamburg Hochschule fur Musik, to the keynote address at the International Organisation of Music Competitions, and served as a juror on several music competition panels.

Fine remains active as clarinetist with engagements at Festival Mozaic in California and the Tongyeong International Music Festival in South Korea.  He began composing in 2013: his music, including several concertos, string quartets and a variety of works for chamber ensembles is published by Le Chant du Monde in Paris and Donemus in The Netherlands.  He has had works premiered in the United States, France, Spain, and Cuba where he served as composer-in-residence for the first Habana Clásica Festival.

Recordings produced by Michael Fine appear on labels including Deutsche Grammophon, Decca, Warners, SONY, Virgin Classics, EMI, BMG Classics, Telarc, KOCH, and Naxos, and have won virtually every major award in the recording industry, including numerous Grammys, Edison Prize, Deutscher Schallplattenpreis (later known as ECHO award, today Opus Klassik), Grammophone Award, Diapason d’Or, and Australian Music Award among others. He has multiple Platinum and Gold records to his credit in several countries. Additionally, he has been awarded prizes for his work for the Advancement of Women in Music and was named Best Recording Producer by Classical Insites’ Global Classical Music Poll. In the past few years, Fine has produced many recordings with renowned artists and ensembles including Myung Whun Chung, Valery Gergiev, Daniel Harding, Eliahu Inbal, Yannick Nezet-Seguin, Paavo Jarvi, Emmanuel Pahud, Renaud Capuçon, Gautier Capuçon, Marie-Pierre Langlament, Sumi Jo, Nicholas Angelich, Bertrand Chamayou, the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra, Orchestre de Paris, London Symphony Orchestra, Czech Philharmonic, Rotterdam Philharmonic, Chamber Orchestra of Europe and the Quator Ebene among many others.

Michael Fine

Michael Fine Michael Fine | Foto: Diederik Grootkerk Michael Fine, mit dem GRAMMY ausgezeichneter „Klassik-Produzent des Jahres“ (1992), ist als einer der weltweit führenden Hersteller klassischer Tonträger anerkannt. Neben der Plattenproduktion war Fine auch im künstlerischen Management aktiv, etwa beim Rotterdam Philharmonic Gergiev Festival, dessen künstlerischer Leiter er war, dem Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France, wo er die Interimsleitung übernahm, sowie beim Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra, als dessen künstlerischer Berater er fungierte. Als Vice President of Artists & Repertoire bei der Deutschen Grammophon war er der erste Amerikaner, der den Posten des künstlerischen Direktors dieses hundert Jahre alten Labels innehatte. Darüber hinaus hat Fine Vorträge und Seminare über das Musik- und Plattengeschäft gehalten, u.a. an der Juilliard School und der Hamburger Hochschule für Musik, sowie Keynotereden bei der International Organisation of Music Competitions. Zudem war er Jurymitglied bei mehreren Musikwettbewerben.

Fine ist daneben weiterhin praktizierender Klarinettist, mit Engagements etwa beim Festival Mozaic in Kalifornien und dem Tongyeong International Music Festival in Südkorea. Im Jahr 2013 begann er zu komponieren: Seine Musik, darunter mehrere Konzerte, Streichquartette und verschiedene Werke für Kammerensemble, werden von Le Chant du Monde in Paris und von Donemus in den Niederlanden verlegt. Er hatte Uraufführungen in den Vereinigten Staaten, Frankreich, Spanien und Kuba, wo er als Composer-in-Residence am ersten Habana Clásica Festival teilnahm.

Von Michael Fine produzierte Aufnahmen erscheinen bei Labels wie Deutsche Grammophon, Decca, Warners, SONY, Virgin Classics, EMI, BMG Classics, Telarc, KOCH und Naxos, und haben praktisch jeden wichtigen Preis in der Plattenbranche gewonnen, darunter zahlreiche Grammys, den Edison Prize, den Deutschen Schallplattenpreis (später als ECHO bekannt, heute Opus Klassik), den Grammophone Award, Diapason d’Or und den Australian Music Award. Er hat zahlreiche Platin- und Gold-Schallplatten in mehreren Ländern vorzuweisen und wurde außerdem für seine Arbeit zur Förderung von Frauen in der Musik ausgezeichnet. Er wurde darüber hinaus bei Classical Insites’ Global Classical Music Poll als „Best Recording Producer“ ausgezeichnet. In den letzten Jahren hat Fine zahlreiche Aufnahmen mit renommierten Künstlern und Ensembles produziert, darunter Myung Whun Chung, Valery Gergiev, Daniel Harding, Eliahu Inbal, Yannick Nezet-Seguin, Paavo Jarvi, Emmanuel Pahud, Renaud Capuçon, Gautier Capuçon, Marie-Pierre Langlament, Sumi Jo, Nicholas Angelich, Bertrand Chamayou, die Wiener Philharmoniker, das Orchestre de Paris, das London Symphony Orchestra, die tschechischen Philharmoniker, die Rotterdamer Philharmoniker, das Chamber Orchestra of Europe und die Quator Ebene.