Eun-Hwa Cho

Eun-Hwa Cho Eun-Hwa Cho | Photo: Jong-Woo Lee Eun-Hwa Cho was born in Busan, Korea and studied composition at the College of Music, Seoul National University. She completed further studies of composition and music theory at the Hanns Eisler School of Music Berlin. After teaching as a lecturer in the composition departments of both the Korean and German music colleges from which she had graduated, she worked as an associate professor at Keimyung University in Daegu, Korea. Currently, she is a professor for composition at Hanns Eisler School of Music Berlin.

By merging the different styles of western avant-garde music and traditional Korean music, as well as through identifying the potential of traditional instrumentation, she combines modes of Korean tradition and Western modernity with new musical elements and grammar. She also actively collaborates with artists in other fields, including theater, fine arts and dance.

Her compositions have been performed in such major concerts and festivals worldwide as the Ultraschall  Festival of New Music in Berlin, the Wittener Tagen for new chamber music, the International Festival for New Music in Darmstadt, Music Today 21 in Tokyo, the International Festival Musical Olympus in St. Petersburg and the Arcana Festival in St. Gallen, Austria.  Famous ensembles and orchestras that have performed her works include Modern Art Sextett, Ensemble Modern, Ensemble InterContemporain, Ensemble recherche, Arditti Quartet, Tokyo Sinfonietta, the WDR Orchestra, the National Orchestra of Belgium, the State Hermitage Orchestra St. Petersburg, the Ural Philharmonic Orchestra in Russia, the Janáček Philharmonic Orchestra in the Czech Republic, and the KBS Symphony Orchestra in Korea. She has also won several major music awards both at home and abroad, including the Busoni-Composition Prize in 2008, the Grand Prize at the Queen Elisabeth International Music Competition of Belgium for Composition in 2008 and the Grand Prize at the Korea Composition Awards in 2014.

Eun-Hwa Cho

Eun-Hwa Cho Eun-Hwa Cho | Foto: Jong-Woo Lee Eun-Hwa Cho wurde im südkoreanischen Busan geboren und begann nach ihrem Schulabschluss ein Studium an der Seoul National University. Anschließend führte sie ihr Studium in Berlin an der Hochschule für Musik „Hanns Eisler“ in den Fachrichtungen Komposition und Musiktheorie fort. Sie unterrichtete an beiden Universitäten als Lehrbeauftragte Komposition bis sie als Professorin an die Keimyung University in Daegu berufen wurde. Zur Zeit ist sie Professorin für Komposition an der Hochschule für Musik „Hanns Eisler“.

Indem sie verschiedene Stile der westlichen Avantgarde mit denen der traditionellen koreanischen Musik zusammenführt und das Potential traditioneller koreanischer Instrumente auslotet, verbindet sie musikalische Modi aus koreanischer Tradition und westlicher Moderne mit neuen Klangelementen und kompositorischer Grammatik. Sie arbeitet auch aktiv mit Künstlern in anderen Bereichen zusammen, darunter Theater, bildende Kunst und Tanz.

Eun-Hwa Chos Kompositionen wurden bei zahlreichen Konzerten, Festivals und anderen Veranstaltungen aufgeführt, wie etwa beim Ultraschall Festival Berlin, den Wittener Tagen für neue Kammermusik, den Internationalen Ferienkursen für Neue Musik Darmstadt und dem Festival Music Today 21 in Tokio. Die Orchester und Ensembles, die ihre Kompositionen zur Aufführung brachten, umfass unter anderem das Modern Art Sextett, das Ensemble Modern, das Ensemble InterContemporain, das Ensemble recherche, das Arditti Quartett, Tokyo Sinfonietta, das WDR-Orchester, das Orchestre National de Belgique, das State Hermitage Orchestra St. Petersburg, das russische Ural Philharmonic Orchestra, das tschechische Janáček Philharmonic Orchestra sowie das koreanische KBS Symphony Orchestra. Für ihre Werke wurde sie mit mehreren Preisen ausgezeichnet, sowohl in Korea als auch im Ausland, etwa 2008 mit dem Busoni Kompositionspreis. Ebenfalls 2008 erzielte sie den 1. Preis im belgischen Internationalen Königin Elisabeth Kompositionswettbewerb und 2014 wurde ihr der Grand Prize des Korea Composition Award verliehen.