About the project
Asian Composers Showcase

The TIMF Ensemble performing at the Asian Composers Showcase 2014. Photo: TIMF

Not only musicians, but also composers from Asia have been shaping the international concert scene for quite a while. Much has happened since Isang Yun, a pioneer in bridging Western classical music and Korean tradition, left the quiet seaside town of Tongyeong to set out for Europe; cosmopolitan artists nowadays draw inspiration from sounds that defy binary definition. How to make this diverse young generation of composers heard by a larger audience?

The Asian Composers Showcase provides a platform for young composers from Asia. Developed as an idea by the conductor Alexander Liebreich and the Goethe-Institut East Asia program director, it takes place every year since 2013 as part of the Tongyeong International Music Festival (TIMF).

At the music festival, the pieces from five composers selected from an Open Call are premiered by the Ensemble TIMF or a guest ensemble to a large audience. A jury of five experts from all over the world selects the winner of the “Goethe Award” for the best composition. The prize includes a prize money of € 2,000 and a composition commission for the festival of the coming year. Since the first edition of the Showcase, the possible countries of origin for participants have increased to include both Northeast and Southeast Asia. In addition, the range of instrumentation has been expanded.

Former participants take their experience from the Showcase with them into the music world that serves as a stepping stone for these aspiring, cosmopolitan composers. The showcase has given many winners the opportunity to present their pieces in different locations and to advance their careers. At the same time, the event gives the audience the opportunity to get to know young Asian composers and their music.

Über das Projekt
Asian Composers Showcase

Das TIMF Ensemble beim Asian Composers Showcase 2014. Foto: TIMF

Schon seit langem prägen nicht nur Musiker, sondern auch Komponisten aus Asien die internationale Konzertszene. Seitdem Isang Yun, Pionier in der Verbindung westlicher Klassik und koreanischer Musiktradition, aus dem beschaulichen Küstenort Tongyeong in die Welt zog, hat sich viel getan – kosmopolite Künstler lassen sich von Klängen inspirieren, die sich aller binären Zuschreibungen widersetzen. Wie könnte man die Vielfalt dieser jungen Generation von Komponisten einem breiten Publikum näherbringen?

Der Asian Composers Showcase bietet jungen Komponist*innen aus Asien eine Bühne. Von dem Dirigenten Alexander Liebreich und dem Leiter der Programmarbeit des Goethe-Instituts Korea als Idee entwickelt, findet er jährlich seit 2013 im Rahmen des Tongyeong International Music Festival (TIMF) statt.

Die Stücke von fünf aus einem Open Call ausgewählte_ Komponist*innen werden auf dem TIMF vom dem Festival- oder einem Gastensemble vor großem Publikum aufgeführt und stellen sich einer weiteren international mit Fachleuten besetzten Jury, die den Goethe-Preis an die überzeugendste Komposition verleiht. Der Gewinn umfasst neben einem Preisgeld in Höhe von 2.000,- Euro auch einen Kompositionsauftrag für das Festival des kommenden Jahres. Seit der ersten Ausgabe wurden nicht nur die möglichen Herkunftsländer der Teilnehmenden auf den nord- und südostasiatischen Raum ausgeweitet, auch die Besetzung wurde für traditionelle Instrumente Asiens geöffnet.

Ehemalige Teilnehmer*innen nehmen die Erfahrungen aus dem Showcase mit in die Welt, das für diese jungen, aufstrebenden Komponist*innen ein Sprungbrett darstellt. Aus dem Showcase haben sich für viele Gewinner*innen Möglichkeiten ergeben, ihre Stücke an verschiedenen Orten zu präsentieren und ihre Karrieren weiter voranzutreiben. Gleichzeitig bietet die Veranstaltung für das Publikum die Gelegenheit, junge asiatische Komponist*innen und ihre Musik kennenzulernen.