Jeehoon Seo:
"Phantasmes pour daegeum et ensemble"

Jeehoon Seo © Jeehoon Seo Jeehoon Seo is currently a freelance composer based in Berlin. He completed his study of composition at the Kookmin University (Korea) and the Hanns Eisler Music Academy in Berlin. His teachers included Hanspeter Kyburz, Wolfgang Heiniger, Kyungjung Kim, Ilsup Kil and Soojung Shin. At present he a member of the Composition Master Class of the Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra under the direction of Unsuk Chin.
 
In 2011 Jeehoon Seo won 3rd place in the competition for the Hanns-Eisler Prize for Composition and Interpretation of Contemporary Music. In 2014 there followed a composition commission from the Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra. In 2015 performances of his works are planned by the Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France at the Festival d’Automne à Paris, the Ensemble Modern at the cresc… Biennale for Modern Music in Frankfurt / Main, and of his film music in cooperation with the Film Academy of Baden-Württemberg. He has also been invited to the 7th International Composition Seminar of the International Ensemble Modern Academy.
 
In addition to his work as a composer, Jeehoon Seo is Artistic Director of the Berlin Ensemble Essenz and Director of the Essenz Music Festival, which is supported by the Arts Council of Korea and based in Seoul.

"Phantasmes pour daegeum et ensemble" for daeguem, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, piano, violin, viola, cello and double bass

Egon Schiele: "Mother and Child" (1910) Egon Schiele: "Mother and Child" (1910) | © Public Domain "The world stands still.
Only the different worlds within the eyes of everyone
Move incessantly.
Hewn in stone, experience hides its face
In an upside-down world.
Everyone’s world is different.
And then,
As we know it,
The world changes."

Jeehoon Seo:
„Phantasmes pour daegeum et ensemble“

Jeehoon Seo © Jeehoon Seo Jeehoon Seo ist zur Zeit als freischaffender Komponist in Berlin tätig. Er hat sein Studium der Komposition an der Kookmin University (Korea) und der Hochschule für Musik Hanns-Eisler Berlin abgeschlossen. Er studierte bei Hanspeter Kyburz, Wolfgang Heiniger, Kyungjung Kim, Ilsup Kil und Soojung Shin. Zur Zeit nimmt er an der Kompositions-Meisterklasse des Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra unter Leitung von Unsuk Chin teil.
 
Im Jahr 2011 erhielt Jeehoon Seo den 3. Platz des Hanns-Eisler-Preis für Komposition und Interpretation zeitgenössischer Musik. 2014 folgte ein Kompositionsauftrag des Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra. Für 2015 sind Aufführungen seiner Stücke durch das Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France auf dem Festival d’Automne à Paris sowie durch das Ensemble Modern auf der cresc… Biennale für Moderne Musik Frankfurt RheinMain geplant; eine Aufführung seiner Filmmusik in Kooperation mit der Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg ist angekündigt. Darüber hinaus ist Jeehoon Seo zum 7. Internationalen Kompositionsseminar der Internationalen Ensemble Modern Akademie eingeladen.
 
Neben seiner kompositorischen Arbeit ist Jeehoon Seo künstlerischer Leiter des Berliner Ensemble Essenz sowie Direktor des Essenz Music Festival, das er mit Unterstützung des Arts Council Korea ebendort durchführt.

„Phantasmes pour daegeum et ensemble“ für Daeguem, Oboe, Klarinette, Fagott, Klavier, Violine, Viola, Violoncello und Kontrabass

Egon Schiele: „Mutter und Kind“ (1910) Egon Schiele: „Mutter und Kind“ (1910) | © Gemeinfrei „Die Welt steht still.
Nur die verschiedenen Welten in den Augen eines jeden Menschen
bewegen sich unaufhörlich.
In Stein gehauen versteckt die Erfahrung ihr Gesicht
in einer in sich verkehrten Welt.
Eines jeden Welt ist anders.
Und dann,
wie wir es kennen,
verändert sich die Welt.“