Kwang Ho Cho:
"Garden of Silence I"

Kwang Ho Cho © Kwang Ho Cho Kwang Ho Cho, born in 1987 in Pyeongtaek (Korea), has studied the violin since 1992. In 1994, he composed his first opus for violin and piano, Theme and Variation in D minor.
 
In June 2000, he won Third Prize at the Gyeonggi Metropolitan Office of Education Violin Competition. Between 1998 and 2005, he performed in numerous concerts as a violinist at YMCA, Pun-dang, and with the Nowon Youth Orchestra. In 2007, he entered the Faculty of Music at Yonsei University, where he studied with Chung-Mook Kim. In 2008, he founded SUM, a group of composers that has given a number of concerts since its foundation. In 2009, he took a master class with Thierry Escaich. In 2011, he won the Composition Prize of George Enescu International Competition for Chamber Music Composition. In 2012, his works were given a world premiere at one of the Seoul Culture Festival’s concerts. And in 2013, he won the Reine Marie José Prize, the First Prize of the 68th Geneva Competition.
 
He has conducted at various venues, including the House Concert by Chang-soo Park and the, Seoul Creation Music Festival. He has also performed as a pianist at the Seoul Culture Night, Fringe Festival and other events.
 
Cho has composed pop music, performed jazz pieces in Korean concerts, composed pieces for movies and animations and worked as a music director for musical productions. He has thus attempted to work with various kinds of music, and is currently interested in searching for “modern romanticism”, regardless of musical genre.
 
He recently completed his studies, taking a major in composition and psychology and a minor in French Literature. He now works as a composer and music director.

“Garden of Silence I” for daegeum, clarinet (doubles as bass clarinet), oboe, bassoon, violin, viola, cello, double bass and piano

Inspiration Kwang Ho Cho © Kwang Ho Cho
"This composition is the first of a two-part series. I imagined a forest in which the setting sun is framed by the branches of trees as a silent and mysterious garden. I begin with an Impressionistic harmony and Romantic melody, which I reinterpret using the means of contemporary music. In this piece, I want to give expression to my idea of Romanticism."

Kwang Ho Cho:
„Garden of Silence I“

Kwang Ho Cho © Kwang Ho Cho Kwang Ho Cho wurde 1987 in Pyeongtaek (Korea) geboren und erhielt seit 1992 Geigenunterricht. Sein erstes Werk, Thema und Variation in d-Moll für Geige und Klavier, komponierte er im Jahr 1994.
 
Im Juni 2000 gewann er den dritten Preis beim Geigenwettbewerb des Gyeonggi Metropolitan Office of Education. Von 1998 bis 2005 gab er zahlreiche große Konzerte, u.a. mit dem YMCA Youth Orchestra, dem Pundang Youth Orchestra und dem Nowon Youth Orchestra. Im Jahr 2007 begann er sein Studium an der Fakultät für Musik der Yonsei University bei Chung-Mook Kim. Im Jahr 2008 gründete er "SUM", eine Gruppe von Komponisten, die gemeinsam mehrere Konzerte organisierte. Er besuchte 2009 einen Meisterkurs bei Thierry Escaich und wurde 2011 mit dem Kompositionspreis für Kammermusik der George Enescu International Competition ausgezeichnet. Im Rahmen des Seoul Culture Festival feierten Stücke von ihm ihre Welturaufführung. Im Jahr 2013 gewann er den Reine Marie José Prize, den ersten Preis der 68. Geneva Competition.
 
Er trat bei verschiedenen Gelegenheiten als Dirigent auf, u.a. in der "House Concert" Reihe von Chang-soo Park und dem Seoul Creation Music Festival. Er ist ebenfalls als Pianist tätig, u.a. bei der Seoul Culture Night und dem Fringe Festival.
 
Kwang Ho Cho komponierte Pop- und Filmmusik, trat in Korea als Jazzmusiker auf und arbeitete als musikalischer Leiter von Musical-Produktionen. Er arbeitet gern mit verschiedenen Arten von Musik und interessiert sich zur Zeit besonders für einen "neuen Romantizismus", den er jenseits von Genregrenzen sucht.
 
Sein Studium der Komposition und der Psychologie hat er abgeschlossen mit französischer Literatur als Nebenfach. Kwang Ho Cho arbeitet als Komponist und Musikdirektor.

„Garden of Silence I“ für Daegeum, Klarinette (gedoppelt als Bassklarinette), Oboe, Fagott, Violine, Viola, Cello, Kontrabass und Klavier

Inspiration Kwang Ho Cho © Kwang Ho Cho „Diese Komposition ist das erste Stück einer zweiteiligen Serie. Ich habe mir einen Wald, in dem zwischen den Baumästen die Sonne untergeht, als einen stillen und mysteriösen Garten vorgestellt. Ich gehe von einer impressionistischen Harmonik und einer romantischen Melodieführung aus, die ich dann mit Mitteln der zeitgenössischen Musik re-interpretiere. Mit dem Stück möchte ich so meiner Vorstellung von Romantizismus Ausdruck verleihen.“