Seungwan Baek:
"Mixtum"

Seungwan Baek Seungwan Baek | Photo: Jihae Lee Seungwan Baek, born in 1981 in Seoul, South Korea, currently works as a freelance composer and conductor in Frankfurt am Main. He studied composition at Hanyang University (Seoul) and the University of Lübeck with Park Yeongkeun, E. Helmuth Flammer and Dieter Mack. He also attended a master class given by Hèctor Parra.

In 2005 he received an award in the competition for young composers of the Composers League-Korea and in the same year won another award in the Chamber Music section of the Seoul International Music Festival. In 2006 one of his works was performed as part of the Chosun Ilbo Concert for Young Composers, and in 2007 he won an award in the Orchestra section of the Seoul International Music Festival. Baek is also active in other areas of music and was musical and theatrical director of the experimental theatre performance Bar Code; music and sound director of the German-language performance of Dea Loher’s Leviathan; and music director of the German-Korean independent film Sudam.

He has also worked as a conductor with many ensembles and orchestra such as the IEMA (International Ensemble Modern Academy) and the Ensemble Analogue Translation. In 20134 he took part with the Ensemble Musikfabrik in a Reading Session as part of the workshop series "Composer Collider". In both 2013 and 2014 works by Baek were performed at the Blurred Edges Festival for Contemporary Music in Hamburg.

"Mixtum" for haegeum, oboe, clarinet (doubles as bass clarinet), bassoon, piano, violin, viola, cello and double bass

The “German Corner” in Koblenz The “German Corner” in Koblenz | Photo: Jihae Lee "The 'German Corner' in Koblenz inspired this piece. The place is so named because here the Rivers Rhine and Moselle meet. In my piece I bring this confluence to expression: two rivers encounter each other, each with its own speed and colour; they run parallel, gradually come together and become a single river. My musical source material is water, which on the one hand is the connecting element of the two rivers, but on the other hand also has opposed characters and colourings. These two aspects intermingle more and more in the course of the music and finally merge into each other."

Seungwan Baek:
„Mixtum“

Seungwan Baek Seungwan Baek | Foto: Jihae Lee Seungwan Baek, 1981 in Seoul, Südkorea geboren, arbeitet zur Zeit als freischaffender Komponist und Dirigent in Frankfurt am Main. Er studierte Komposition an der Hanyang University (Seoul) und der Universität Lübeck, bei Park Yeongkeun, E. Helmuth Flammer und Dieter Mack. Außerdem besuchte er eine Meisterklasse von Hèctor Parra.

Er wurde 2005 beim Wettbewerb für junge Komponisten der Asian Composers League-Korea ausgezeichnet und gewann im selben Jahr in der Sektion „Kammermusik“ des Seoul International Music Festivals. Im Jahr 2006 wurde eines seiner Werke im Rahmen des „Konzert für junge Komponisten“ der Chosun Ilbo aufgeführt und 2007 gewann er in der Sektion „Orchester“ des Seoul International Music Festivals. Baek ist auch in anderen musikalischen Bereichen aktiv und fungierte für das experimentelle Theaterstück Bar Code als Musikdirektor und Regisseur, in einer deutschsprachigen Aufführung von Dea Lohers Leviathan als Musik- und Klangdirektor und in dem deutsch-koreanischen Independent-Film Sudam als Musikdirektor.

Er arbeitete auch als Dirigent mit vielen Ensembles und Orchestern, wie etwa der IEMA(International Ensemble Modern Akademie) und dem Ensemble Analogue Translation. Er nahm außerdem 2013 gemeinsam mit dem Ensemble Musikfabrik an einer Reading Session im Rahmen der Workshop-Reihe „Composer Collider“ teil. Sowohl 2013 als auch 2014 kamen Werke von Baek beim Festival für aktuelle Musik „blurred edges“ in Hamburg zur Aufführung.
 

„Mixtum“ für Haegeum, Oboe, Klarinette (gedoppelt mit Bassklarinette), Fagott, Klavier, Violine, Viola, Cello und Kontrabass

Das Deutsche Eck in Koblenz Das Deutsche Eck in Koblenz | Foto: Jihae Lee „Das Deutsche Eck in Koblenz hat mich zu diesem Stück inspiriert. Der Ort heißt so, weil sich hier Rhein und Mosel treffen. In meinem Stück bringe ich diesen Prozess musikalisch zum Ausdruck: Zwei Wasserläufe begegnen sich, jeder mit seiner eigenen Fließgeschwindigkeit und Farbe; sie laufen parallel zueinander, vereinen sich allmählich und werden schließlich zu einem einzigen Fluss. Als musikalisches Ausgangsmaterial verwendete ich das ‚Wasser‘, welches einerseits verbindendes Element der beiden Flüsse ist, aber andererseits auch gegensätzliche Charaktere und Färbungen aufweist. Diese beiden Aspekte vermischen sich im Verlauf des Stückes immer mehr miteinander und gehen schließlich gegenseitig ineinander auf.“