Noriko Koide:
"Hotei"

Noriko Koide Noriko Koide | Foto: Noriko Koide Noriko Koide, born 1982 in Chiba (Japan), obtained her master’s degree in composition from Tokyo College of Music (2008), the Conservatorium van Amsterdam (2011) and Koninklijk Conservatorium Den Haag (2014), supported by grants from the Rohm Music Foundation (2009-13), Koninklijk Conservatorium Den Haag (2012-2013) and the Overseas Study Program for Artists funded by the Agency for Cultural Affairs of Japan (2013-14). She studied under Shin-ichiro Ikebe, Sunao Isaji, Masao Endo, Shin Satoh, Yutaka Fujiwara, Akira Fukuda, Toshio Hosokawa, Wim Henderickx, Martijn Padding and Yannis Kyriakides. She is interested in the methods of note decoration used in traditional Javanese Gamelan music, and studied Gamelan performance and its theory at the Institut Seni Indonesia Surakarta on the grants from the Darmasiswa Indonesian Scholarship Program and the Nomura Foundation in 2014-15.

In 2007 she won the Akutagawa Award for Music Composition with her orchestral work Keselanpatharan. She has also received the 18th Idemitsu Music Award, Arion Prize and the Audience Award of 76th Music Competition of Japan, in which she placed second. Her works have been performed by the New Japan Philharmonic, Tokyo City Philharmonic Orchestra, Tokyo Philharmonic Orchestra, Sendai Philharmonic Orchestra, Asko/Schönberg Ensemble, Nieuw Ensemble, Tokyo Philharmonic Chorus, Vox humana, Ensemble Genesis, by performers such as Hiroaki Ooi, Yasuji Ohagi, Kousei Murata and Sumire Yoshihara, and at the Takefu International Music Festival, International Gaudeamus Music Week (Utrecht), Shanghai New Music Week, Music From Japan Festival (New York) and Toonzetters (Amsterdam). They have also been featured on various TV programs, including TV Asahi, NHK Educational and NHK-FM Gendai no Ongaku (Music of today). She is currently a member of an avant-garde pop duo, Kishibojin Fumin Girls, and the multi-dimensional art group project "Sukebeningen" that focuses on cultural differences in eroticism.

Though she uses various compositional styles depending on the theme of each work, her works are characterized by the textures and colours formed by the resonance of innovative orchestration, fine musical shapes and extended techniques.

"Hotei" for oboe, bassoon, bass clarinet, piano, violin, viola, cello and double bass

Hotei Hotei | © public domain "In Japan, Hotei is one of the Seven Deities of Good Fortune (Shichifukujin). He is fat, easygoing and always carries a big white bag on his back. What's inside?"

Noriko Koide:
„Hotei“

Noriko Koide Noriko Koide | Foto: Noriko Koide Noriko Koide wurde 1982 in Chiba, Japan geboren. Sie machte ihren Master-Abschluss in Komposition am Tokyo College of Music (2008), Conservatorium van Amsterdam (2011), und Koninklijk Conservatorium Den Haag (2014). Stipendien erhielt sie von der Rohm Music Foundation (2009–13), des Koninklijk Conservatorium Den Haag (2012–13) und des Studienprogrammes für Künstler der Kulturbehörde von Japan (2013–14). Sie studierte bei Shin-Ichiro Ikebe, Sunao Isaji, Masao Endo, Shin Satoh, Yutaka Fujiwara, Akira Fukuda, Toshio Hosokawa, Wim Henderickx, Martijn Padding und Yannis Kyriakides. Aus Interesse an tonalen Dekorationstechniken in der traditionellen Gamelan-Musik Javas studierte sie von 2014 bis 2015 Gamelan in Theorie und Praxis am Institut Seni Indonesia Surakarta, mit Unterstützung des indonesischen Darmasiswa Stipendienprogrammes und der Nomura Foundation.

Mit ihrem Werk Keselanpatharan für Orchester gewann sie 2007 den Akutagawa-Preis für Komposition. Sie erzielte außerdem den zweiten Platz und den Publikumspreis bei der 76. Music Competition of Japan und gewann den 18. Idemitsu Music Award und den Arion Prize. Ihre Werke wurden von zahlreichen Ensembles und Interpreten gespielt, unter anderem New Japan Philharmonic, Tokyo City Philharmonic Orchestra, Tokyo Philharmonic Orchestra, Sendai Philharmonic Orchestra, Asko/Schönberg Ensemble, Nieuw Ensemble, Tokyo Philharmonic Chorus, Vox humana, Ensemble Genesis, Hiroaki Ooi, Yasuji Ohagi, Kousei Murata, Sumire Yoshihara. Ihre Werke wurden auch auf verschiedenen Festivals aufgeführt, darunter das Takefu International Music Festival, International Gaudeamus Music Week (Utrecht), Shanghai New Music Week, Music From Japan Festival (New York), Toonzetters (Amsterdam), sowie Fernsehprogrammen für TV Asahi, NHK Educational, und NHK-FM Gendai no Ongaku (Music von Heute).

Sie ist zur Zeit Mitglied des Avantgarde-Pop-Duos Kishibojin Fumin Girls sowie dem multidimensionalen Art Group Project "Sukebeningen", das sich mit Erotik und kultureller Differenz beschäftigt.

Obwohl sie je nach Thema der jeweiligen Arbeit unterschiedliche Kompositionsstile verwendet, zeichnen sich ihre sämtlichen Werke durch Texturen und Farben aus, die auf innovativer Instrumentation, genauen musikalischen Formen und erweiterten Techniken beruhen.

„Hotei“ für Oboe, Fagott, Bassklarinette, Klavier, Violine, Viola, Cello und Kontrabass

Hotei Hotei | © gemeinfrei „In Japan ist Hotei einer der Sieben Glücksgötter (‚Shichifukujin‘). Er ist dick und sieht entspannt aus; er trägt immer einen großen weißen Sack auf seinem Rücken. Was ist wohl darin?“