Utku Asuroglu: "Quälend"

Utku Asuroglu Utku Asuroglu | Photo: Aleksey Vylegzhanin Born in Turkey in 1986, Utku Asuroglu began his musical studies at the age of nineteen at the Mimar Sinan Fine Arts University (MSFAU) State Conservatory in Istanbul, where he studied with Volkan Barut and Ahmet Altinel. He holds a master’s degree from the Kunstuniversität Graz, where he studied under Clemens Gadenstatter and Georg Friedrich Haas (composition techniques and repertoire) and graduated with the highest distinction, and a bachelor’s degree from the Rotterdam Conservatory, where he studied under Klaas de Vries, Luc Brewaeys and Rene Uijlenhoet. In addition to his degrees in composition, Asuroglu also took a degree in conducting at the Rotterdam Conservatory with Carlo Balemans.

Asuroglu has won numerous awards and fellowships. He was a Kurum fellow from 2008 until 2011. Throughout his master’s studies he was the recipient of the Kunstuniversität Graz Jahresstipendium; recently, in 2014, was awarded the Musikförderungspreis der Stadt Graz; and is one of the finalists of the Feeding Music – International Composition Contest (Expo Milano 2015). He was a laureate winner of both the Gaudeamus Prize 2015 and the Vrienden van het Lied Competition.

His works have been performed at various festivals, among them the Darmstädter Ferienkurse, Donaueschinger Musiktage Next Generation, Manifeste Ircam, Gaudeamus Muziekweek, Essen Europen Capital Culture and Red Ear Festival. His works have been performed in Germany, France, Belgium, Austria, Italy, Norway, Japan, Switzerland, the Netherlands, Turkey and the United States. Ensembles, orchestras and artists who have performed his works include the Ensemble Intercontemporain, Asko|Schönberg, Divertimento Ensemble, Faust Quartett, Insomnia Ensemble, Slagwerk Den Haag, Signum Quartett, Ensemble Interface, Neos Brass, Camerata Rotterdam Ensemble, Bursa State Symphony Orchestra, MSFAU Orchestra of Istanbul, Dimitri Ashkenazy and Ada Meinich.

Utku Asuroglu is currently pursuing an artist diploma in composition at the Freiburg Musik Hochschule with Brice Pauset.

"Quälend" for oboe (doubles as English horn), clarinet (doubles as bass clarinet), bassoon, piano, erhu, violin, viola, cello and double bass

Pieter Bruegel the Elder: "The Triumpf of Death" (1562) Pieter Bruegel the Elder: "The Triumpf of Death" (1562) | © public domain "If aliens visit us, the outcome would be much as when Columbus landed in America, which didn't turn out well for the Native Americans. We only have to look at ourselves to see how intelligent life might develop into something we wouldn't want to meet."

Stephen Hawking

Utku Asuroglu: „Quälend“

Utku Asuroglu Utku Asuroglu | Foto: Aleksey Vylegzhanin Utku Asuroglu wurde 1986 in der Türkei geboren und begann seine musikalische Ausbildung im Alter von neunzehn Jahren an dem staatlichen Konservatorium Mimar Sinan Üniversitesi (MSFAU) in Istanbul, wo er bei Volkan Barut und Ahmet Altinel studierte. Er hat an der Kunstuniversität Graz bei Clemens Gadenstätter und Georg Friedrich Haas den Master-Abschluss (Kompositionstechniken und Repertoire) mit höchster Auszeichnung abgeschlossen und absolvierte außerdem ein Bachelor-Studium am Rotterdamer Konservatorium unter der Leitung von Klaas de Vries, Luc Brewaeys und Rene Uijlenhoet. Neben Komposition hat Utku Asuroglu am Rotterdamer Konservatorium bei Carlo Balemans auch im Fach Dirigieren einen Abschluss gemacht.

Utku Asuroglu hat zahlreiche Preise und Stipendien gewonnen. Er war Kurum Fellow von 2008 bis 2011, wurde während seines Masterstudiums von der Kunstuniversität Graz mit einem Jahresstipendium ausgezeichnet und erhielt im Jahr 2014 den Musikförderungspreis der Stadt Graz. Außerdem war er Finalist des Feeding Music – International Composition Contest (Expo Milano 2015) und Preisträger des Gaudeamus Prize 2015 und der Vrienden van het Lied Competition.

Utku Asuroglus Werke wurden auf zahlreichen Festivals aufgeführt, unter anderem Darmstädter Ferienkurse, Donaueschinger Musiktage Next Generation, Manifeste IRCAM, Gaudeamus Muziekweek, Essen Europen Capital Culture, Red Ear Festival. Aufführungen fanden statt in Deutschland, Frankreich, Belgien, Österreich, Italien, Norwegen, Japan, der Schweiz, den Niederlande, der Türkei und den USA. Seine Werke wurden interpretiert von Ensembles, Orchestern und Künstlern wie Ensemble Intercontemporain, Asko|Schönberg, Divertimento Ensemble, Faust Quartett, Insomnia Ensemble, Slagwerk Den Haag, Signum Quartett, Ensemble Interface, Neos Brass, Camerata Rotterdam Ensemble, Bursa State Symphony Orchestra, MSFAU Orchestra of Istanbul, Dimitri Ashkenazy, Ada Meinich.

Utku Asuroglu ist zur Zeit an der Freiburger Musikhochschule eingeschrieben, wo er bei Brice Pauset Komposition studiert.

„Quälend“ für Oboe (gedoppelt mit Englischhorn), Klarinette (gedoppelt mit Bassklarinette), Fagott, Klavier, Erhu, Violine, Viola, Cello und Kontrabass

Pieter Bruegel der Ältere: „Der Triumpf des Todes“ (1562) Pieter Bruegel der Ältere: „Der Triumpf des Todes“ (1562) | © gemeinfrei „Wenn Außerirdische uns besuchen, wären die Folgen wohl ähnlich wie die nach Kolumbus' Landung in Amerika. Das hat den Ureinwohnern bekanntlich nicht gut bekommen. Wir müssen nur uns selbst anschauen um zu sehen, wie sich intelligentes Leben zu etwas entwickelt, dem wir nicht begegnen wollten.“

Stephen Hawking