Kaito Nakahori: "Hotarubi"

Kaito Nakahori Kaito Nakahori | Photo: Kaito Nakahori Kaito Nakahori was born in Japan on September 14, 1989 and began to study piano and composition at an early age. While attending college in Japan, he became interested in contemporary music and debuted as a composer at the age of twenty-two with Cracked 1 - at riverside for violin and cello at his portrait concert in Tokyo.
 
Nakahori’s music has been described as an authentic and elegant mix of Western and Eastern music, characterized by a timeless atmosphere. Of his piece Japanese Footbridge for koto and chamber ensemble, Harry Rolnick wrote: “The music had the misty feeling of Japanese gagaku music, court music so regal that it seems static, with only the colors changing”.
 
He has won numerous awards and prizes, including the Brian M. Israel Prize, and commissioned pieces by him have been performed in the United States, France, Italy, Belgium, Poland, Spain, Finland, Hungary, Romania, Argentina, Colombia, Hong Kong, China and Japan by musicians such as Aki Takahashi, Mari Kimura, Mayumi Miyata and Toshiya Suzuki, and ensembles such as the JACK Quartet, Ensemble Dal Niente, Avanti! Chamber Orchestra and Senzoku New Philharmonic Orchestra. His works have been presented at various venues, including the Boston Early Music Festival and Nuova Consonanza, Suntory Hall, Merkin Hall, Jordan Hall, Sala Radio Hall, Caroline H. Hume Hall and the Hong Kong Culture Centre. His first portrait concert in the United States, Music for Peace, was held at the United Nations in May 2015.
 
He has given many lectures and master classes, including at the Japan Cultural Institute in Rome, the National University of Colombia and Hiroshima City University. He has also worked as the artistic director for film festivals and as a conductor. Huang Yin-Yu's film After Spring, the Tamaki Family, for which Nakahori composed the score, was nominated as best documentary at the 2016 Taipei Film Awards.
 
Kaito Nakahori received degrees from San Francisco Conservatory of Music (MM) and from Toho College of Music (BM with distinction). He currently works at an entertainment company in New York.

“Hotarubi” for hichiriki, violin, viola, cello and double bass

Inspiration Kaito Nakahori © public domain “‘Hotarubi’ means the light of a firefly. Fireflies have a long history in Japanese culture. Since the eighth century, this insect has been believed to be a sign of passionate love and the souls of the dead.

Just like the beloved cherry blossoms of spring, fireflies are a fleeting sight in Japan, lighting up the nights during the few short days of their lives. We tend to look for the beauty in the short-lived insect, a moment of brilliance.

In this piece with Japanese Hichiriki and strings, I would like delicately to draw aesthetic attention to this pale light.”

Kaito Nakahori: „Hotarubi“

Kaito Nakahori Kaito Nakahori | Foto: Kaito Nakahori Kaito Nakahori wurde am 14. September 1989 in Japan geboren und begann schon in jungen Jahren Klavier und Komposition zu lernen. Während seines Studiums in Japan fing er an, sich für zeitgenössische Musik zu interessieren und debütierte als Komponist im Alter von zweiundzwanzig Jahren mit Cracked 1 - at riverside für Violine und Cello im Rahmen eines Porträtkonzerts in Tokio.
 
Seine Musik wurde als eine authentisch-elegante Mischung aus westlichen und östlichen Einflüssen beschrieben, charakterisiert durch eine zeitlose Atmosphäre. Harry Rolnick schrieb über sein Stück Japanese Footbridge für Koto und Kammerensemble: „Die Musik evozierte das nebelhafte Gefühl japanischer Gagaku-Hofmusik – sie klingt hoheitsvoll und erscheint dabei doch statisch, nur die Farben ändern sich.“
 
Er wurde mit zahlreichen Preisen ausgezeichnet, darunter der Brian M. Israel-Preis, und seine Auftragskompositionen wurden in den USA, Frankreich, Italien, Belgien, Polen, Spanien, Finnland, Ungarn, Rumänien, Argentinien, Kolumbien, Hongkong, China und Japan von Musikern wie Aki Takahashi, Mari Kimura, Mayumi Miyata und Toshiya Suzuki sowie Ensembles wie JACK Quartett, Ensemble Dal Niente, Avanti! Kammerorchester, Senzoku New Philharmonic Orchestra aufgeführt. Seine Arbeiten wurden unter anderem beim Boston Early Music Festival und bei der Nuova Consonanza, in der Sunrise Hall, der Merkin Hall, der Jordan Hall, der Sala Radio Hall, der Caroline H. Hume Hall und im Hong Kong Culture Centre gespielt. Sein erstes Porträtkonzert in den USA, Music For Peace, fand im Mai 2015 bei den Vereinten Nationen statt.
 
Er hat auch Vorträge gehalten und Meisterkurse gegeben, unter anderem am Japanischen Kulturinstitut in Rom, an der Nationaluniversität von Kolumbien sowie an der Hiroshima City University und daneben als künstlerischer Leiter von Filmfestivals und als Dirigent gearbeitet. Huang Yin-Yus Film After Spring, the Tamaki Family…, für den Nakahori die Filmmusik komponierte, wurde für den besten Dokumentarfilm bei den 2016 Taipei Film Awards nominiert.
 
Kaito Nakahori studierte am San Francisco Conservatory of Music (MM) und, mit Auszeichnung, am Toho College of Music (BM). Er arbeitet zur Zeit bei einer Entertainment-Firma in New York.

„Hotarubi“ für Hichiriki, Violine, Viola, Cello und Kontrabass

Inspiration Kaito Nakahori © gemeinfrei Hotarubi nennt man auf Japanisch das Licht der Glühwürmchen. Diese spielen schon seit langer Zeit eine besondere Rolle in der japanischen Kultur. Seit dem 8. Jahrhundert bis heute ist dieses Insekt ein Symbol für leidenschaftliche Liebe und die Seelen der Toten.

Genau wie die beliebten Kirschblüten im Frühling sind Glühwürmchen in Japan ein flüchtiges Phänomen, denn sie erleuchten die Nächte aufgrund ihrer kurzen Lebensspanne nur für wenige Tage. Vielleicht neigen wir deshalb dazu, dem kurzen Moment des Glanzes dieser Insekten eine besondere Schönheit zuzusprechen.

In diesem Stück für die japanische Doppelblattflöte Hichiriki und Streicher möchte ich auf behutsame Weise den ästhetischen Sinn für dieses blasse Licht schärfen."