Chia-Ying Lin: “Viaggio della Seta”

Chia-Ying Lin Chia-Ying Lin | Photo: Chia-Ying Lin Chia-Ying Lin, born in 1990, is a Taiwanese composer. She studied composition at the Taipei National University of the Arts with Tsung-Hsien Yang and at the University of Manchester with Philip Grange. Lin holds a master’s degree from the University of Manchester, where she graduated with distinction in 2012. Her studies has been supported by the Studying Abroad Scholarship from the Taiwanese government, the Harry Clough Awards and the Emmy Watts Memorial Fund. In 2015, she was awarded third prize at the First International Jean Sibelius Composition Competition for her piano work The Gaze. In the same year she also won first prize at the International Composition Competition Piero Farulli for her String Quartet.
 
Lin’s works have been performed in Taiwan, Italy, Finland and the UK by the National Taiwan Symphony Orchestra and various other ensembles and soloists, including Psappha, Quartetto Maurice and Vaganza; at festivals such as the PlayIt! Festival (Florence) and Mänttä Music Festival (Finland); and at venues such as National Concert Hall (Taiwan), Teatro Verdi Firenze (Italy), Hämeenlinna Town Hall (Finland), Serlachius-museo Gösta (Finland), Cosmo Rodewald Concert Hall (UK), Senate House London (UK) and others. Her music has been broadcast by Yleisradio Oy, the national public broadcasting channel of Finland, and by Rai Radio 3 (Italy). Lin’s String Quartet is published by Casa Ricordi and a recording of her orchestral work Occultra has been released by the National Taiwan Symphony Orchestra.
 
Currently based in Rome with a 2016 two-year scholarship from the Taiwanese government, Lin has also received a project grant from the Taiwan Music Institute, which allows her to take part in the Peter Eötvös Contemporary Music Foundation's programme for the first half of 2017 in Budapest.

“Viaggio della Seta” for flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, violin, viola, cello, double bass and piano

Inspiration Chia-Ying Lin Photo: Chia-Ying Lin “This piece was inspired by the fabric of silk and its story. Silk has the qualities of being transparent, light and yet valuable.

Originally developed in Asia, silk became a popular luxury fabric on account of its texture and lustre, already desired in ancient Rome. This is part of the age-old story of the ‘Silk Road’. Woven into sound, the musical journey of silk seeks to make its way into the imagination.’

Chia-Ying Lin: „Viaggio della Seta“

Chia-Ying Lin Chia-Ying Lin | Foto: Chia-Ying Lin Chia-Ying Lin, geboren 1990, ist eine Komponistin aus Taiwan. Sie studierte Komposition bei Tsung-Hsien Yang an der Taipei National University of Arts und bei Philip Grange an der University of Manchester, wo sie ihren Master-Abschluss 2012 mit Auszeichnung absolvierte. Ihr Studium wurde von der taiwanesischen Regierung mit einem Stipendium unterstützt sowie durch den Harry Clough Award und den Emmy Watts Memorial Fund gefördert. Im Jahr 2015 wurde sie beim dritten Internationalen Jean Sibelius Kompositionswettbewerb für ihr Klavierwerk The Gaze ausgezeichnet. Im selben Jahr gewann sie auch den ersten Preis beim Internationalen Kompositionswettbewerb Piero Farulli für ihr Streichquartett.
 
Lins Arbeiten wurden in Taiwan, Italien, Finnland und in Großbritannien von dem National Taiwan Symphony Orchestra sowie verschiedenen Ensembles und Solisten wie Psappha, Quartetto Maurice und Vaganza aufgeführt. Ihre Werke wurden auf Festivals wie dem PlayIt! Festival (Florenz) und dem Mänttä Musikfestival (Finnland) gespielt, ebenso in der National Concert Hall (Taiwan), dem Teatro Verdi Firenze (Italien), dem Rathaus Hämeenlinna (Finnland), dem Serlachius-museo Gösta (Finnland), der Cosmo Rodewald Concert Hall (GB) und dem Senate House in London. Ihre Musik wurde von Yleisradio Oy, der öffentlichen Rundfunkanstalt Finnlands, sowie von Rai Radio 3 in Italien ausgestrahlt. Lins Streichquartett wurde von Casa Ricordi herausgegeben und ihr Orchesterwerk Occultra vom National Taiwan Symphony Orchestra eingespielt.
 
Zur Zeit lebt sie mit Unterstützung eines zweijährigen Stipendiums der taiwanesischen Regierung in Rom. Sie erhielt zudem eine Projektförderung vom Taiwan Music Institute, mit deren Hilfe sie 2017 am Programm der Peter Eötvös Contemporary Music Foundation in Budapest teilnehmen kann.

„Viaggio della Seta“ für Flöte, Oboe, Klarinette, Fagott, Violine, Viola, Cello, Kontrabass und Klavier

Inspiration Chia-Ying Lin Foto: Chia-Ying Lin "Dieses Stück wurde von Seide und deren Geschichte inspiriert. Seide ist nahezu durchsichtig und sehr leicht, aber dennoch wertvoll.

Seide kam ursprünglich aus Asien, wurde jedoch bald aufgrund ihrer Textur und ihres Glanzes auch in Europa zu einem beliebten Luxusgut. Die Römer etwa waren ganz verrückt nach asiatischer Seide – was sich auch in den alten Geschichten über die „Seidenstraße“ wiederspiegelt. Aus Klang gewebt, begibt sich dieses Stück auf eine fantastische musikalische Reise zur Seide."