Yeonju Kim:
“A piece of sunshine”

Yeonju Kim Photo: Kwonhan Bae Yeonju Kim was born in Busan in 1995 and graduated from Busan Arts High School in 2014. She then studied composition at Hanyang University in Seoul with Sun-Hee Cho, Ji-Hyang Kim, Jongwoo Yim and Myunghoon Park.
In 2018 she was selected for the JoongAng Music Concours (composition) and for the composition competition of the Contemporary Music Society in Seoul. In the same year she was honored at the Seoul Composition Music Festival in the field of chamber music, took third place in the Younghi Pagh-Paan International Composition Prize and won the Calefax Composers Competition. One of her compositions was performed in 2019 at the concert for young composers held by the newspaper Chosun Ilbo.






 

“A piece of sunshine (2017)” for flute, clarinet, violin and cello

Inspiration Yeonju Kim Photo: Yeonju Kim This composition is based on images associated with the word “sunshine”. Sunlight takes many other forms besides that of light emitted from the sun. Of these, I selected three basic forms to use for my composition:
1. one singular piece,
2. a mixture of pieces,
3. diffused pieces.
Regardless of the order, these three images are cross-referenced in the course of my composition.

Yeonju Kim:
„A piece of sunshine“

Yeonju Kim Yeonju Kim | Foto: Kwonhan Bae Yeonju Kim wurde 1995 in Busan geboren und schloss die Busan Arts High School im Jahr 2014 ab. Anschließend studierte sie Komposition an der Hanyang University in Seoul bei Sun-Hee Cho, Ji-Hyang Kim, Jongwoo Yim und Myunghoon Park.
Sie wurde 2018 für den JoongAng Music Concours (Komposition) sowie für den Kompositionswettbewerb der Contemporary Music Society in Seoul ausgewählt. Im selben Jahr wurde sie beim Seoul Composition Music Festival im Bereich Kammermusik ausgezeichnet, erzielte den dritten Platz beim Younghi Pagh-Paan International Composition Prize und gewann die Calefax Composers Competition. Eine ihrer Kompositionen wurde 2019 beim Konzert für junge Komponisten der Zeitung Chosun Ilbo aufgeführt.
 

„A piece of sunshine (2017)“ für Flöte, Klarinette, Geige und Cello

Inspiration Yeonju Kim Foto: Yeonju Kim Diese Komposition basiert auf assoziativen Bildern im Zusammenhang mit dem Wort „Sonnenschein“. Sonnenlicht kann neben seiner grundlegenden Existenzweise – von der Sonne ausgestrahltes Licht – auf viele andere Arten imaginiert werden. Daraus habe ich drei Grundformen für meine Komposition ausgewählt:

1. eine einzelne Einheit,
2. eine Mischung,
3. diffuse Stücke.
Diese drei Bilder verknüpfe ich, unabhängig von ihrer Reihenfolge, im Verlauf meiner Komposition miteinander.