Eunsung Kim:
“Re”

Eunsung Kim Eunsung Kim | Photo: Matthias Eimer Eunsung Kim was born in South Korea in 1984. After graduating from high school, he studied composition at Seoul National University under Prof. Tae Bong Chung. From 2012 to 2014 he studied under Prof. Michael Obst at the Franz Liszt University of Music in Weimar in the master's programme and then took up graduate studies under Prof. Michael Obst and Dr Ulrich Kreppein. He attended master classes in composition with Toshio Hosokawa (as part of the 2018 TIMF Academy), Isabel Mundry, Younghi Pagh-Paan and Unsuk Chin.

In 2012 Kim won the second prize in the composition competition for the Martin Luther Decade in Bayreuth (the first prize was not awarded); in 2014 the first prize of the Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy University Competition in Berlin; and in 2015 the first prize in the composition competition of the Joseph Joachim Chamber Music Competition, for which his award-winning work was selected as a compulsory piece. In 2015 he also received the Thuringian Composition Prize, and the commissioned work was premiered in 2017 at a concert by the Thuringia Philharmonic Gotha.

Kim has been the recipient of a graduate scholarship, the Sondershausen Composition Scholarship and the Charlotte Krupp Scholarship. His works have been performed at the Witten Days for New Chamber Music, the ARKO Contemporary Orchestra Music Festival, the Festival for New Korean Music, and the Daegu International Contemporary Music Festival, and his compositions have been played by various ensembles and orchestras, including Akademie Ensemble Musikfabrik, Ensemble Recherche, IEMA, KBS Orchestra, TIMF Ensemble and Aris Quartet.
 

“Re (2018)” for two violins, viola and cello

Inspiration Eunsung Kim Photo: Eunsung Kim The prefix “re” refers to the repeating of an action or process. In this sense, replay, rearrangement and reproduction are means employed in the development of this piece. A phrase is varied and repeated in succession, and a little element of a phrase turns into a core element of a new phrase or engenders an another section through expansion. The phrases already engendered and used are combined vertically or horizontally to create a new sound. And these are reproduced to generate a new meaning and a new role through reordering and breaking off.

Eunsung Kim:
„Re“

Eunsung Kim Eunsung Kim | Foto: Matthias Eimer Eunsung Kim wurde 1984 in Südkorea geboren. Nach dem Abitur studierte er Komposition an der Seoul National University bei Prof. Tae Bong Chung. Von 2012 bis 2014 studierte er bei Prof. Michael Obst an der Hochschule für Musik Franz Liszt Weimar im Masterstudiengang und nahm dort anschließend bis 2017 an einem Aufbaustudium bei Prof. Michael Obst und Dr. Ulrich Kreppein teil. Er besuchte Meisterkurse in Komposition bei Toshio Hosokawa (im Rahmen der 2018 TIMF Akademie), Isabel Mundry, Younghi Pagh-Paan und Unsuk Chin.

Eunsung Kim gewann unter anderem 2012 den zweiten Preis (bei Nichtvergabe des ersten Preises) des Kompositionswettbewerbs zur Lutherdekade in Bayreuth. 2014 gewann er den ersten Preis des Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy Hochschulwettbewerbs in Berlin. 2015 gewann er den ersten Preis des Kompositionswettbewerbs im Rahmen des Joseph Joachim Kammermusikwettbewerbs und sein preisgekröntes Werk wurde als Pflichtstück des Wettbewerbs ausgewählt. Außerdem erhielt er den Thüringer Kompositionspreis 2015, das Auftragswerk wurde 2017 in einem Konzert der Thüringen Philharmonie Gotha uraufgeführt.

Er war Stipendiat des Graduiertenstipendiums, Sondershäuser Kompositionsstipendiums und Charlotte-Krupp-Stipendiums. Seine Werke wurden bei den Wittener Tagen für neue Kammermusik, dem ARKO Contemporary Orchestra Music Festival, dem Festival für koreanische neue Musik, dem Daegu International Contemporary Music Festival aufgeführt und seine Kompositionen wurden von verschiedenen Ensembles und Orchestern gespielt, darunter Akademie Ensemble Musikfabrik, Ensemble Recherche, IEMA, KBS Orchestra, TIMF Ensemble und Aris Quartett.
 

„Re (2018)“ für zwei Geigen, Bratsche und Cello
 

Inspiration Eunsung Kim Foto: Eunsung Kim Die Vorsilbe „re“ bedeutet „wieder“. In diesem Sinne sind Idee und Methodik des Stückes die Wiederholung (replay), die Reproduktion (reproduction) und die Neuanordnung (rearragement). Eine Phrase wird kontinuierlich wiederholt und variiert. Dabei produziert ein kleines Element der Phrase durch Vergrößerung ein bedeutungsvolleres Element und einen neuen Teil. Die bereits erstellten und verwendeten Phrasen werden vertikal oder horizontal kombiniert, um neue Klänge zu erzeugen, welche durch Neuanordnung und Abbruch weitere neue Bedeutungen und Rollen reproduzieren.