Asian Composers Showcase Premiere Concert 2014

ACS-Konzert 2014 Foto: TIMF
Foto: TIMF

The world premiere of the four new compositions took place at the Tongyeong International Music Festival (TIMF) on March 31, 2014. Soo-Yeoul Choi directed the Ensemble TIMF.

An international jury has awarded this year’s Goethe-Award to composer Zihua Tan. The five jury members state their reasons for this decision as follows:

“The Jury states that all four pieces premiered at the Asian Composers showcase 2014 were of outstanding quality. It is obvious that these four composers from China, Korea, Singapore and Malaysia are strong musical voices that will continue to be appreciated worldwide. In meeting the highest standards of musical expression, they more than do justice to the legacy of Isang Yun who connected East and West, Germany and Korea through his music.

All four pieces showed masterful orchestration as well as deep knowledge and appreciation of the instruments selected. With its gripping dramatical curve, outstanding musicality, convincing use of modern playing techniques and gripping musical gestures uniquely combining various materials and techniques of our time, the Jury would like to specifically highlight one of these exciting new compositions:

The Asian Composers Showcase Goethe-Award 2014 goes to Zihua Tan.”
 
 

The Jury


Salvatore Sciarrino Foto: Salvatore Sciarrino Photo: Salvatore Sciarrino Salvatore Sciarrino, born in Palermo in 1947, started composing when he was twelve and held his first public concert in 1962. His works have been performed by numerous orchestras world-wide and have been presented at international festivals. He has taught at the the Music Academies of Milan, Perugia and Florence. Sciarrino’s discography counts over 100 CDs, many of which have been awarded prizes. Città di Castello (Umbria) has been his home since 1983. Sciarrino was Composer in Residence at Tongyeong International Music Festival 2014.

Tigran Mansurian Photo: Tigran Mansurian Photo: Tigran Mansurian Tigran Mansurian, the son of Armenian parents, was born in 1939 in Beirut (Lebanon). He studied composition at the Yerevan State Conservatory (Armenia), where he subsequently taught music analysis with special emphasis on New Music. Mansurian’s works reflect the heritage of the musical tradition of Armenia, which ranges from the melodies of mediaeval ecclesiastical chant to specific scalar systems and musical forms. In the course of time he developed an increasingly simple and almost liturgical style that combines ancient and modern elements. Mansurian was Composer in Residence at Tongyeong International Music Festival 2014.

Kyu Yung Chin Photo: Kyu Yung Chin Photo: Kyu Yung Chin Kyu Yung Chin, a native of Tongyeong City, studied at Seoul National University and Staatliche Hochschule für Musik, Karlsruhe. His music combines the theory and instrumentation of western music with the temper of Korean folk tunes. His numerous awards include the Donga Composition Prize (1970) and the Grand Prize from the Korean National Composers Competition (1990). His works have been performed in Korea as well as abroad. Since 1985, Kyu Yung Chin is professor of composition at Yeungnam University. He is vice chairman of the Tongyeong International Music Foundation.

Toni J. Krein Photo: Toni J. Krein Photo: Toni J. Krein Toni Krein is a dramaturg and cultural manager with extensive experience in the field of concert and music theatre. He was artistic director of Alte Oper Frankfurt, co-founder of Frankfurter Feste and head dramaturg at Luzerner Theater. Since December 2010, he is president of orchester.ch (Association of Swiss Professional Orchestras). He is also board member of Zürcher Kammerorchester, Kammermusikfest Lockenhaus, as well as Davos Festival.

Stefan Dreyer Photo: Goethe-Institut Korea / Aaaron Choe Photo: Goethe-Institut Korea / Aaaron Choe Stefan Dreyer is head of Goethe-Institut Korea and regional director of East Asia.

Asian Composers Showcase Premierenkonzert 2014

ACS-Konzert 2014 Foto: TIMF
Foto: TIMF

Die vier Neukompositionen, die im Rahmen des Asian Composers Showcase enstanden sind, wurden auf dem Tongyeong International Music Festival (TIMF) am 31. März 2014 uraufgeführt. Soo-Yeoul Choi dirigierte das Ensemble TIMF.

Eine international besetzte Fachjury verlieh den diesjährigen Goethe-Award an den Komponisten Zihua Tan. Ihre Entscheidung begründeten die fünf Jurymitglieder wie folgt:

„Alle vier im Rahmen des Asian Composers Showcase 2014 uraufgeführten Stücke sind von herausragender Qualität. Es ist offensichtlich, dass diese vier Komponisten und Komponistinnen aus China, Korea, Singapur und Malaysia mit ihren starken musikalischen Positionen weltweit auf Interesse und Begeisterung stoßen werden. Auf höchstem Niveau haben sie sich dem Erbe Isang Yuns als würdig erwiesen, der mit seiner Musik Ost und West, Deutschland und Korea verbunden hat.

Eine von tiefer Kenntnis und Wertschätzung der ausgewählten Instrumente geprägte Orchestrierung zeichnet sämtliche vier Stücke aus. Die Jury möchte jedoch unter diesen bemerkenswerten Stücken eines besonders hervorheben, das mit seinen fesselnden dramatischen Spannungskurven, seiner herausragenden Musikalität, dem überzeugenden Einsatz moderner Spieltechniken und packenden musikalischen Gesten auf einzigartige Weise unterschiedlichste zeitgenössische Materialien und Techniken bündelt:

Der Asian Composers Showcase Goethe-Award 2014 geht an Zihua Tan.“
 
 

Die Jury


Salvatore Sciarrino Foto: Salvatore Sciarrino Foto: Salvatore Sciarrino Salvatore Sciarrino wurde 1947 in Palermo geboren und begann im Alter von zwölf Jahren zu komponieren. Sein erstes öffentliches Konzert fand 1962 statt. Seine Werke wurden weltweit  von zahlreichen Orchestern aufgeführt und sind regelmäßig auf internationalen Festivals zu hören. Er unterrichtete Komposition an den Musikhochschulen in Mailand, Perugia und Florenz. Seine Diskographie umfasst über hundert Alben, von denen viele mit Preisen ausgezeichnet wurden. Er lebt seit 1983 in Città di Castello (Umbrien). Sciarrino war Composer in Residence des Tongyeong International Music Festival 2014.

Tigran Mansurian Foto: Tigran Mansurian Foto: Tigran Mansurian Tigran Mansurian wurde 1939 in Beirut (Libanon) als Sohn armenischer Eltern geboren. Nach dem Studium am Yerevan State Conservatory in Armenien unterrichtete er dort Musikanalyse und konzentrierte sich dabei besonders auf Neue Musik. Einflüsse der Musiktraditionen Armeniens spielen in seinen Kompositionen eine große Rolle und reichen von kirchlicher   Vokalmusik des Mittelalters hin zu charakteristischen Tonsystemen und musikalischen Formen. Im Laufe der Zeit hat er einen zunehmend einfachen, fast liturgischen Stil kultiviert, in dem historische und moderne Elemente miteinander eine enge Beziehung eingehen. Mansurian war Composer in Residence des Tongyeong International Music Festival 2014.

Kyu Yung Chin Foto: Kyu Yung Chin Foto: Kyu Yung Chin Kyu Yung Chin, geboren in Tongyeong, hat an der Seoul National University und der Staatlichen Hochschule für Musik in Karlsruhe studiert. Seine Musik verbindet westliche Musiktheorie und Instrumentierung mit der emotionalen Intensität koreanischer Volksmelodien. Seine zahlreichen Preise umfassen den Donga Composition Prize (1970) und den Großen Preis der Korean National Composers Competition (1990). Seine Werke werden in Korea und international aufgeführt. Seit 1985 lehrt Kyu Yung Chin als Professor für Komposition an der  Yeungnam University. Er ist stellvertretender Vorsitzender der Tongyeong International Music Foundation.

Toni J. Krein Foto: Toni J. Krein Foto: Toni J. Krein Toni J. Krein ist Dramaturg und Kulturmanager mit weitreichender Erfahrung im Bereich Konzert und Musiktheater. Er war künstlerischer Betriebsdirektor der Alten Oper Frankfurt, Mitbegründer der Frankfurter Feste und leitender Dramaturg am Luzerner Theater. Seit Dezember 2010 ist er Präsident von orchester.ch, dem Verband Schweizerischer Berufsorchester. Daneben engagiert sich Krein u.a. im Vorstand des Zürcher Kammerorchester ZKO und beim Kammermusikfest Lockenhaus sowie im Stiftungsrat des Davos Festival.

Stefan Dreyer Foto: Goethe-Institut Korea / Aaaron Choe Foto: Goethe-Institut Korea / Aaaron Choe Stefan Dreyer ist Direktor des Goethe-Institut Korea und Leiter der Region Ostasien.