Asian Composers Showcase Premiere Concert 2013

Premiere Conzert 2013
© Choi Myeong Man

The four pieces commissioned by the Goethe-Institut as part of the Asian Composers Showcase, were premiered on 3 March 2013 at the Tongyeong International Music Festival (TIMF). Soo-Yeoul Choi conducted the Ensemble TIMF.

The Asian Composers Showcase Goethe Award, which is this year endowed with 3,000,000 won, is presented to the most compelling composition of the Asian Composers Showcase. An international jury of musicians, composers and musicologists selects the winner.
 
In 2013 the Goethe Award went to the piece High heels: Not even anything room by the composer Donghoon Shin. The jury based its decision on the following considerations:
 
“The jury recognizes the outstanding quality of the four pieces commissioned by the Goethe-Institut as part of the Asian Composers Showcase. They are in keeping with the spirit of Isang Yun, who was an acknowledged mediator between East and West, Korea and Germany. All the pieces, each in its own unique and masterly fashion, thus foster the development of contemporary composition in Asia.
 
Yet, with its exceptional melodic intensity, skilful instrumentation, gripping thematic development, aesthetic elegance and powerful spatial gestures combined with the tonal explorations of the experienced Pierrot Ensemble, one of the compositions sets itself, in our opinion, clearly apart. We are confident that in future we shall hear more of this promising young composer.
 
The 2013 Asian Composers Showcase Goethe-Award goes to Donghoon Shin for his work High heels: Not even anything room.”

The Jury

Prof. Dr. Lee Kyungbun is an expert on music history with special emphasis on German exile composers of the 1930s. She studied music and German philology at the Universities of Seoul and Marburg and is currently doing research at the Seoul National University. She is also a music critic and the author of numerous scholarly publications on the history of music.

Prof. Dr. Thomas Osborne is Professor of Composition and Music Theory at the University of Hawaii in Manoa. He has also worked as a conductor and led the university’s ensemble for contemporary music. He is currently spending a year in Seoul as a Fullbright Visiting Scholar to compose music for Korean and Western instruments.

Prof. Dr. Hongseok Rhie studied at the University of Music in Detmold. He currently teaches composition at Yonsei University and is Chairman of the Korean Society for Music of the Twenty-First Century. His compositions have won numerous awards, including the Composition Prize of the Korean Society for Music.

Prof. Patrick O’Byrne studied piano in Auckland, London and Germany. He has performed with many international orchestras such as the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra, the Bochum Symphony Orchestra and the New York Virtuosi Chamber Symphony, and has received numerous awards for his interpretations of contemporary music. He has taught at the Stuttgart Academy of Music and is currently Professor for Piano at the Bremen University of the Arts.

Dr. Stefan Dreyer is head of the Goethe-Institut Korea and regional director of East Asia.

Asian Composers Showcase Premierenkonzert 2013

Premierenkonzert 2013
© Choi Myeong Man

Die vier Kompositionen, die im Rahmen des Asian Composers Showcase vom Goethe-Institut in Auftrag gegeben wurden, wurden am 25.3.2013 auf dem Tongyeong International Music Festival (TIMF) uraufgeführt worden. Soo-Yeoul Choi dirigierte das Ensemble TIMF.

Der Asian Composers Showcase Goethe-Award ist eine in diesem Jahr mit 3.000.000 Won dotierte Auszeichnung, die das Goethe-Institut Korea für den überzeugendsten Kompositionsbeitrag des Asian Composers Showcase vergibt. Eine international besetzte Fachjury aus Musikern, Komponisten und Musikwissenschaftlern entscheidet über den Preisträger.

2013 wurde das Stück High heels: Not even anything room des Komponisten Donghoon Shin mit dem Goethe-Award ausgezeichnet. Die Jury begründete ihre Entscheidung wie folgt:

„Die Jury würdigt die herausragende Qualität der vier Stücke, die im Rahmen des Asian Composers Showcase vom Goethe-Institut in Auftrag gegeben wurden. Sie alle werden dem Geiste Isang Yuns gerecht, der als Mittler zwischen Ost und West, Korea und Deutschland gilt. Jedes der vier Stücke – jeweils auf seine eigene einzigartige und meisterhafte Art und Weise – fördert dabei die Entwicklung der zeitgenössischen Komposition in Asien.

Mit einer außergewöhnlichen melodischen Intensität, geschickter Instrumentierung, einer packenden thematischen Entwicklung, ästhetischer Eleganz, kraftvollen räumlichen Gesten sowie der klanglichen Neu-Erschliessung der bewährten Pierrot-Ensemble-Besetzung, setzt sich aus unserer Sicht jedoch eine der Kompositionen deutlich ab. Wir sind sicher auch in Zukunft mehr von diesem viel versprechenden jungen Komponisten zu hören:

Der Asian Composers Showcase Goethe-Award 2013 geht an Donghoon Shin für seine Komposition High Heels: Not even anything room.“

Die Jury

Prof. Dr. Lee Kyungbun ist Musikwissenschaftlerin. Einer ihrer Forschungsschwerpunkte sind deutsche Exilkomponisten der 1930er Jahre. Sie studierte sowohl Musik als auch Germanistik in Seoul und Marburg und forscht zurzeit an der Seoul National University. Zudem ist sie Musikkritikerin und Autorin zahlreicher wissenschaftlicher Publikationen zur Musikgeschichte.

Prof. Dr. Thomas Osborne ist Professor für Komposition und Musiktheorie an der Universität Hawai’i in Manoa. Zudem arbeitet er als Dirigent und leitet das Ensemble für zeitgenössische Musik seiner Universität. 2013 war er als Fulbright-Gastforscher 12 Monate in Seoul, um Musik für koreanische und westliche Instrumente zu komponieren.

Prof. Dr. Hongseok Rhie studierte an der Hochschule für Musik in Detmold. Zurzeit unterrichtet er Komposition an der Yonsei Universität und ist Vorsitzender der Koreanischen Gesellschaft für Musik des 21. Jahrhunderts. Seine Kompositionen wurden mit zahlreichen Preisen ausgezeichnet, unter anderem mit dem Kompositionspreis der koreanischen Gesellschaft für Musik.

Prof. Patrick O’Byrne studierte Klavier in Auckland, London und Deutschland. Er trat mit zahlreichen internationalen Orchestern wie dem Neuseeländischen Symphonie-Orchester, den Bochumer Sinfonikern oder der New York Virtuosi Chamber Symphony auf und erhielt zahlreiche Auszeichnungen für seine Interpretationen zeitgenössischer Musik. Er hat an der Stuttgarter Musikhochschule unterrichtet und ist zur Zeit Professor für Klavier an der Hochschule für Künste in Bremen.

Dr. Stefan Dreyer ist Institutsleiter des Goethe-Instituts Korea und Leiter der Region Ostasien.