Asian Composers Showcase Premiere Concert 2015

ACS 2015 Premiere Concert
ACS 2015 Premiere Concert | Photo: TIMF

The world premiere of the four new compositions took place at the Tongyeong International Music Festival (TIMF) on March 29, 2015. Soo-Yeoul Choi directed the Ensemble TIMF. 
 

An international jury has awarded this year’s Goethe-Award to composer Jeehoon Seo for his composition Phantasmes pour daegum et ensemble. The five jury members state their reasons for this decision as follows:

“The Jury of the 2015 Asian Composers Showcase acknowledges the outstanding quality of the four works premiered here today. 

All pieces displayed masterful use of musical writing skills; creating independent, organic and authentic voices which reflect the vibrancy and creative potential of contemporary music. In doing so, they make a meaningful and lasting contribution to the legacy of Isang Yun: Connecting the East and the West through very personal musical statements. The jury is confident that these voices will continue to be heard.

The jury was especially drawn to one particular work by its sophistication, its artistry, its richness in colour, its deep musical texture –  and its surprises. The sensitive dramaturgy, demonstrated an ability to adopt an unconventional approach to sound and orchestration, especially by skillfully integrating an „Asian“ wind instrument into a classical chamber ensemble. 

The 2015 Asian Composers Showcase Goethe-Award goes to Jeehoon Seo.”

In addition, Kwang Ho Cho received the Audience Award for his piece Garden of Silence I.

The Jury

Fazil Say Fazil Say | Photo: Marco Borggreve Fazıl Say, Artist in Residence and Composer in Residence of TIMF 2015, is a world famous pianist and composer. In 1997, he attracted international attention with the piano piece Black Earth. In the year 2007 he aroused international interest with his Violin Concerto 1001 Nights in the Harem and scored a further great success with his first symphony, the Istanbul Symphony, premiered in 2010 at the conclusion of his five-year residency at the Konzerthaus Dortmund. Fazıl Say’s works are issued worldwide by the renowned music publishers Schott.

Yip Wing-sie Yip Wing-sie | Photo: Yvonne Chan Yip Wing-sie is a highly respected and influential figure in Asia’s orchestral music scene. In 1985, she won the First Prize as well as Lyre d’Or in the 35th Concours International de Jeunes Chefs d’Orchestre de Besançon, France. She was principal conductor and later music director of Guangzhou Symphony Orchestra as well as resident conductor of Hong Kong Philharmonic Orchestra and received the honour of Chevalier de l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres from the French Ministry of Culture and Communication. Music director and conductor of Hong Kong Sinfonietta since 2002, Yip has taken the orchestra on tour to Canada, the USA, Japan, France, Italy, Poland, China and South America.

Uzong Choe Uzong Choe | Photo: Uzong Choe Uzong Choe studied composition and theory of music at Seoul National University, Mozarteum in Salzburg, and Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique de Paris. He took first place in composition at Dong-A Music Competition, was awarded with Young Artist Award in 2006 and also was a nominee for Gaudeamus International Composers Award. Since 2001, he is a professor of the Department of Composition at Seoul National University. At the same time, he is working as the artistic director of Ensemble TIMF.

Hans-Georg Hofmann Hans-Georg Hofmann | Photo: Hans-Georg Hofmann Hans-Georg Hofmann studied music and literature in Halle/Saale (Germany) and earned his PhD at the University of Bern. After his employement at the Kammerorchester Basel he is now working for the Sinfonieorchester Basel, where he is responsible for the artistic management. He was curator of the festival “Schweizgenössisch” at Radialsystem Berlin and since 2013 he is also the president of the festival “KlangBasel” in Switzerland.

Stefan Dreyer Stefan Dreyer | Photo: Chosun Ilbo Stefan Dreyer is head of Goethe-Institut Korea and regional director of East Asia.

Asian Composers Showcase Premierenkonzert 2015

ACS 2015 Premierenkonzert
ACS 2015 Premierenkonzert | Foto: TIMF

Die vier Neukompositionen, die im Rahmen des Asian Composers Showcase enstanden sind, wurden am 29. März 2015 auf dem Tongyeong International Music Festival (TIMF) uraufgeführt. Soo-Yeoul Choi dirigierte das Ensemble TIMF.

Eine international besetzte Fachjury verlieh den diesjährigen Goethe-Award an den Komponisten Jeehoon Seo für die Komposition Phantasmes pour daegum et ensemble. Ihre Entscheidung begründeten die fünf Jurymitglieder wie folgt:

„Die Jury des Asian Composers Showcase 2015 möchte zunächst die herausragende Qualität aller vier Stücke, die heute uraufgeführt wurden, hervorheben.
 
Alle vier sind Ergebnis meisterhaft eingesetzter Kompositionsfähigkeiten und bringen unabhängige, organische und authentische Stimmen zu Gehör, die von der Resonanzkraft und dem kreativen Potential zeitgenössischer Musik zeugen. Sie erweisen sich als bedeutsame und nachhaltige Beiträge zum Erbe Isang Yuns: Der Verbindung von Ost und West mit sehr persönlichen musikalischen Positionen. Die Jury ist überzeugt, dass diese Stimmen auch weiterhin gehört werden.
 
Besonders überzeugen konnte die Jury ein Werk, durch seine Raffinesse, seine Kunstfertigkeit, sein Farbreichtum und seine tiefe musikalische Textur – und durch seine Überraschungen. In der sensiblen Dramaturgie zeigte sich ein großes Talent, sich Klang und Instrumentation auf unkonventionellen Wegen zu nähern. Das zeigte sich insbesondere in der gekonnten Integration eines "asiatischen" Blasinstrumentes in ein klassisches Kammerensemble.
 
Der Asian Composers Showcase Goethe-Award 2015 geht an Jeehoon Seo.“

Darüberhinaus wurde Kwang Ho Cho für sein Stück Garden of Silence I mit dem Audience Award ausgezeichnet. 
 

Die Jury


Fazil Say Fazil Say | Foto: Marco Borggreve Fazıl Say, Artist in Residence und Composer in Residence des TIMF 2015, ist ein weltbekannter Pianist und Komponist. Mit seinem Klavierstück Black Earth erregte er 1997 Aufmerksamkeit in der Welt der Musik. Er zog wiederum internationales Interesse auf sich mit dem Violinkonzert 1001 Nights in the Harem und feierte große Erfolge mit seiner ersten Symphonie, der Istanbul Symphony, die 2010 nach seiner fünfjährigen Residenz am Konzerthaus Dortmund uraufgeführt wurde. Fazıl Says Kompositionen werden weltweit von dem renommierten Musikverlag Schott vertrieben.

Yip Wing-sie Yip Wing-sie | Foto: Yvonne Chan Yip Wing-sie ist in der Musikwelt Asiens eine einflussreiche und hoch respektierte Dirigentin. Sie gewann 1985 den Ersten Preis sowie die Lyre d'or beim 35. Concours International de Jeunes Chefs d’Orchestre de Besançon in Frankreich. Sie war Chefdirigentin und später auch musikalische Leiterin des Guangzhou Symphony Orchestra sowie Gastdirigentin des Hong Kong Philharmonic Orchestra. Außerdem wurde sie vom französischen Ministerium für Kultur und Kommunikation als Chevalier de l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres ausgezeichnet. Als musikalische Leiterin der Hong Kong Sinfoniette, ein Amt, das sie seit 2002 ausübt, war sie mit dem Orchester auf Tournee in Kanada, den USA, Japan, Frankreich, Italien, Polen, China und Südamerika.

Uzong Choe Uzong Choe | Foto: Uzong Choe Uzong Choe studierte Komposition und Musiktheorie an der Seoul National University, am Mozarteum in Salzburg und am Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique in Paris. Er belegte den ersten Platz im Kompositionswettbewerb der Dong-A Music Competition, wurde 2006 mit dem Young Artist Award ausgezeichnet und außerdem für den Gaudeamus International Composers Award nominiert. Seit 2001 lehrt er als Professor für Komposition an der Seoul National University und arbeitet gleichzeitig als künstlerischer Leiter des Ensemble TIMF.

Hans-Georg Hofmann Hans-Georg Hofmann | Foto: Hans-Georg Hofmann Hans-Georg Hofmann studierte Musik und Literatur in Halle/Saale, anschließend promovierte er an der Universität Bern. Nach einer Anstellung beim Kammerorchester Basel arbeitet er zur Zeit für das Sinfonieorchester Basel, wo er für das künstlerische Management zuständig ist. Er war Kurator des Festivals Schweizgenössisch im Radialsystem Berlin. Seit 2013 ist er außerdem Präsident des schweizer Festivals KlangBasel.

Stefan Dreyer Stefan Dreyer | Foto: Chosun Ilbo Stefan Dreyer ist Direktor des Goethe-Institut Korea und Leiter der Region Ostasien.