Asian Composers Showcase Premiere Concert 2016

Premiere Concert 2016
Photo: TIMF

The world premiere of the four new compositions took place at the Tongyeong International Music Festival (TIMF) on March 28, 2016. Soo-Yeoul Choi directed the Ensemble TIMF. 

An international jury has awarded this year’s Goethe-Award to composer Noriko Koide for her composition Hotei. The six jury members state their reasons for this decision as follows:

“The Jury of the 2016 Asian Composers Showcase Award enjoyed the four new works superbly presented by Ensemble TIMF under the Baton of Soo-Yeoul Choi.

The four compositions carried forceful ideas and showed great potential. We will certainly be hearing more by these strong musical voices from Asia.

As difficult as it was to determine one outstanding composition, the jury finally came to a conclusion: One piece displayed especially vivid compositional craftsmanship and many interesting instrumental effects, maintaining intensity from beginning to end. Furthermore it was fresh in its musical substance and highly imaginative in its treatment of the required instrumentation, thus combining economy of musical means with a high degree of expressivity and individuality.

The 2016 Asian Composer’s Showcase Goethe-Award goes to Noriko Koide for her composition Hotei.”

Noriko Koide also received the Audience Award.

The Jury

Peter Swinnen © free of rights Peter Swinnen studied composition at the Koninklijk Conservatorium in Brussels. His compositions include soloworks and chamber music pieces for diverse instruments, lieder, tone poems for large orchestra, symphonies, concerti, cantatas, ballets, films and music theatre, with and without electronics. Many of them are available on records. He currently serves as director of the Koninklijk Conservatorium Brussel and president of the International Society of Contemporary Music.
 
Henk Heuvelmans Photo: Herre Vermeer Henk Heuvelmans received a doctorate in musicology from the Universiteit Utrecht and has been active in new music life since 1981, working for Gaudeamus and being on the board of many national and international organisations, ensembles, venues, and festivals. He currently serves as director of Muziekhuis Utrecht and Gaudeamus Muziekweek, as well as vice-president of the International Society of Contemporary Music.
 
Jocelyn Clark Photo: Shelly Lightburn Jocelyn Clark, after graduating from high school in Juneau (Alaska), has spent the better part of the last 20 years in Japan, China, and Korea studying music. Having by now premiered over 30 new works for Korean gayageum, she also co-founded/directed the Alaskan new music festival, CrossSound, for which she commissioned and produced more than 60 new works for Alaskan artists and audiences between 1999-2009. In 2001, Jocelyn founded the East Asian zither new music ensemble IIIZ+ in Darmstadt. Jocelyn has degrees from Wesleyan University (CT) and Harvard University. She served on the Alaska State Council on the Arts (2004-2009), and currently serves on the Jeonju International Sori Festival Board. She is a professor at Pai Chai University.
 
Uzong Choe Photo: Uzong Choe Uzong Choe studied composition and theory of music at Seoul National University, Mozarteum in Salzburg, and Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique de Paris. He took first place in composition at Dong-A Music Competition, was awarded with Young Artist Award in 2006 and also was a nominee for Gaudeamus International Composers Award. Since 2001, he is a professor of the Department of Composition at Seoul National University. At the same time, he is working as the artistic director of Ensemble TIMF.
 
Toni J. Krein Photo: Toni J. Krein Toni Krein is a dramaturg and cultural manager with extensive experience in the field of concert and music theatre. He was artistic director of Alte Oper Frankfurt, co-founder of Frankfurter Feste and head dramaturg at Luzerner Theater. Since December 2010, he is president of orchester.ch (Association of Swiss Professional Orchestras). He is also board member of Zürcher Kammerorchester, Kammermusikfest Lockenhaus, as well as Davos Festival.
 
Reimar Volker Photo: Goethe-Institut Korea / Aaron Choe Reimar Volker studied music education at Hochschule der Künste Berlin. He holds a PhD in musicology from Technische Universität Berlin. For the past ten years he has been working for Goethe-Institut with postings in Egypt, India and currently in Korea as the regional head of cultural programs in East Asia.

Asian Composers Showcase Premierenkonzert 2016

Premierenkonzert 2016
Foto: TIMF

Die vier Neukompositionen, die im Rahmen des Asian Composers Showcase entstanden sind, wurden am 28. März 2016 auf dem Tongyeong International Music Festival (TIMF) uraufgeführt. Soo-Yeoul Choi dirigierte das Ensemble TIMF.
 

Eine international besetzte Fachjury verlieh den diesjährigen Goethe-Award, eine in diesem Jahr wieder mit 3.000.000 Won dotierte Auszeichnung für das überzeugendste Werk des Asian Composers Showcase, an Noriko Koide für ihre Komposition Hotei. Ihre Entscheidung begründeten die sechs Jurymitglieder wie folgt:

„Die Jury des Asian Composers Showcase 2016 hat mit großem Interesse die vier Uraufführungen erlebt in ihrer großartigen Interpretation des Ensemble TIMF unter der Leitung von Soo-Yeoul Choi.

Die vier Kompositionen enthalten prägnante Ideen und zeigen großes Potential. Wir sind uns sicher, noch mehr von diesen starken Stimmen aus Asien zu hören.

So schwer es auch für uns war, eine herausragende Komposition zu ermitteln, so sind wir doch zu einer Entscheidung gekommen: Eines der Stücke offenbart ganz besonders lebhafte handwerkliche Fertigkeit und zeichnet sich durch einen musikalischen Spannungsbogen aus, der das ganze Stück hindurch aufrecht erhalten wird und sich u.a. herleitet von besonders origineller Instrumentierung. Mit innovativer musikalischer Substanz und höchst einfallsreicher Verwendung der vorgeschriebenen Besetzung erzielt das Stück zudem einen hohen Grad an Ausdruckskraft und Individualität bei ausgewogenem Einsatz der musikalischen Mittel.

Der Asian Composers Showcase Goethe-Award 2016 geht an Noriko Koide für ihre Komposition Hotei.“

Noriko Koide wurde ebenfalls mit dem Audience Award ausgezeichnet.

Die Jury                                              

Peter Swinnen © gemeinfrei Peter Swinnen studierte Komposition am Koninklijk Conservatorium in Brüssel. Seine Kompositionen umfassen Solo- und Kammermusikwerke für verschiedene Instrumente, Lieder, Tondichtungen für großes Orchester, Symphonien, Konzerte, Kantaten, Ballette, Filmmusik und Musiktheater, sowohl mit als auch ohne elektronische Instrumente. Viele seiner Werke sind in Aufnahmen erhältlich. Derzeit ist er Direktor des Koninklijk Conservatorium Brussel und Präsident der Internationalen Gesellschaft für Neue Musik.
 
Henk Heuvelmans Foto: Herre Vermeer Henk Heuvelmans promovierte in Musikwissenschaft an der Universiteit Utrecht und ist seit 1981 in der Welt der Neuen Musik aktiv. Er arbeitet für Gaudeamus und ist außerdem im Vorstand zahlreicher nationaler und internationaler Organisationen, Ensembles, Veranstaltungsorten und Festivals. Derzeit ist er Direktor des Muziekhuis Utrecht und der Gaudeamus Muziekweek sowie Vizepräsident der Internationalen Gesellschaft für Neue Musik.
 
Jocelyn Clark Foto: Shelly Lightburn Jocelyn Clark ist in Juneau (Alaska) aufgewachsen und hat den Großteil der letzten zwanzig Jahre in Japan, China und Korea verbracht, wo sie Musik studierte. Sie hat bisher mehr als dreißig neue Werke für die koreanische Zither Gayageum zur Premiere gebracht. Das von ihr mitbegründete Festival für Neue Musik CrossSound gab unter ihrer künstlerischen Leitung von 1999 bis 2009 über sechzig neue Kompositionen in Auftrag und brachte sie in Alaska mit lokalen Künstlern zur Premiere. Sie gründete zudem 2001 in Darmstadt das Neue Musik-Ensemble für ostasiatische Zithern IIIZ+. Jocelyn Clark hat an der Wesleyan University (Connecticut) und der Harvard University studiert. Sie war Mitglied des Alaska State Council on the Arts (2004-2009) und ist zur Zeit Mitglied des International Jeonju Sori Festival Board. Sie ist zur Zeit Professorin an der Pai Chai University.
 
Uzong Choe Foto: Uzong Choe Uzong Choe studierte Komposition und Musiktheorie an der Seoul National University, am Mozarteum in Salzburg und am Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique in Paris. Er belegte den ersten Platz im Kompositionswettbewerb der Dong-A Music Competition, wurde 2006 mit dem Young Artist Award ausgezeichnet und außerdem für den Gaudeamus International Composers Award nominiert. Seit 2001 lehrt er als Professor für Komposition an der Seoul National University und arbeitet gleichzeitig als künstlerischer Leiter des Ensemble TIMF.
 
Toni J. Krein Foto: Toni J. Krein Toni J. Krein ist Dramaturg und Kulturmanager mit weitreichender Erfahrung im Bereich Konzert und Musiktheater. Er war künstlerischer Betriebsdirektor der Alten Oper Frankfurt, Mitbegründer der Frankfurter Feste und leitender Dramaturg am Luzerner Theater. Seit Dezember 2010 ist er Präsident von orchester.ch, dem Verband Schweizerischer Berufsorchester. Daneben engagiert sich Krein u.a. im Vorstand des Zürcher Kammerorchester ZKO und beim Kammermusikfest Lockenhaus sowie im Stiftungsrat des Davos Festival.
 
Reimar Volker Foto: Goethe-Institut Korea / Aaron Choe Reimar Volker studierte Musikpädagogik an der Hochschule der Künste Berlin und hat in Musikwissenschaft an der Technischen Universität Berlin promoviert. Er arbeitet seit zehn Jahren am Goethe-Institut, unter anderem in Ägypten, Indien und zur Zeit in Korea als Leiter der Programmarbeit in der Region Ostasien.