Asian Composers Showcase Premiere Concert 2017

Asian Composers Showcase 2017
Photo: TIMF

The world premiere of the four new compositions took place at the Tongyeong International Music Festival (TIMF) on April 3, 2017. Christopher Lee directed the Ensemble TIMF. 
 
An international jury has awarded this year’s Goethe-Award to composer Jung-eun Park for her composition “Dancing Boxes”. The five jury members state their reasons for this decision as follows:

“The Jury of the 2017 Asian Composers Showcase acknowledges the superb quality of the four compositions premiered here today.
 
The four pieces are in keeping with the spirit of Isang Yun and contribute to his legacy as a mediator between East and West. All pieces displayed masterful use of musical writing skills and the creative potential of contemporary composition in Asia. The jury is confident that these voices will continue to be heard.
 
The jury was especially drawn to one particular work by its complexity and its creative use of recurring motifs.
 
The 2017 Asian Composers Showcase Goethe-Award goes to Jung-eun Park for her work ‘Dancing Boxes’.”

Jung-eun Park also received the Audience Award.

The Jury

Uzong Choe Photo: Uzong Choe Uzong Choe studied composition and theory of music at the Seoul National University, at the Mozarteum in Salzburg and at the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique de Paris. He is professor of composition and theory of music at the Seoul National University and artistic director of the Ensemble TIMF since 2001, as well as music director of the Ensemble "Georipae" since 1994. His works have ranged over a wide variety of musical styles and aesthetic standpoints - from early music to musical comedy, and his recent works especially reflect his research on European polyphony, Korean traditional music and music theater.
 
Christopher Lee Photo: Christopher Lee Christopher Lee, a Korean-Austrian conductor, has emerged as one of the most promising conductors of his young generation. He has performed with Bucheon Philharmonic, Busan Philharmonic Orchestra, KBS Symphony Orchestra, Korean Symphony Orchestra, Stuttgart Chamber Orchestra, Kanazawa Orchestra Ensemble and many other orchestras. He worked as the chief conductor of Ensemble TIMF of Tongyeong International Music Festival from 2010 to 2011. Currently, Christopher Lee is a Professor of Music at Inje University of Gimhae, Korea.
 
Roswitha Staege Photo: Roswitha Staege Roswitha Staege, born in Berlin, studied flute in Hamburg (Karlheinz and Gertrud Zoeller) and Berlin (James Galway). She won numerous national and international competitions, including the 1974 International ARD Competition in Munich. In the same year she became a solo flutist at the Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Saarbrücken. Roswitha Staege performed in all of Europe, the USA, Russia and Australia as well as Asia. As a soloist and chamber musician, she has been a guest at numerous festivals all over the world and gave courses in France, Germany, Austria, Japan and Switzerland. Many radio and television recordings as well as records in Germany and Japan prove the broad spectrum of their repertoire. Since 1994 she had a professorship at Saarland University of Music and Theater and in 1996, she was appointed to the Berlin University of the Arts, where she taught until 2016. She has been a member of the German Musikrat for twenty years, many of them as head of the woodwind jury, and served in jurys of the DAAD many times, including composition. Harold C. Schonberg characterized her as "a sensitive musician as well as an accomplished virtuoso" in the New York Times. She inspired Isang Yun to several compositions.
 
Walter-Wolfgang Sparrer Photo: Walter-Wolfgang Sparrer Walter-Wolfgang Sparrer, born in Mainz in 1953, studied music education and musicology with Carl Dahlhaus in Berlin, as well as German philology, history and philosophy. Since the early eighties, he has collaborated with Isang Yun on numerous introductory texts and essays on his music. Together with Hanns-Werner Heister he published the anthology “Der Komponist Isang Yun”, which was also translated into Korean and other languages. To support research on Isang Yun and the performance practices of his works, together with other friends of Yun he founded the International Isang Yun Society in 1996 and also publishes the yearbook Ssi-ol, as well as a CD series.
 
Marla Stukenberg Photo: Marla Stukenberg Marla Stukenberg is head of Goethe-Institut Korea and regional director of East Asia.

Asian Composers Showcase Premierenkonzert 2017

Asian Composers Showcase 2017
Foto: TIMF

Die vier Neukompositionen, die im Rahmen des Asian Composers Showcase entstanden sind, wurden am 3. April 2017 auf dem Tongyeong International Music Festival (TIMF) uraufgeführt. Christopher Lee dirigierte das Ensemble TIMF.

Eine international besetzte Fachjury verlieh den diesjährigen Goethe-Award, eine in diesem Jahr wieder mit 3.000.000 Won dotierte Auszeichnung für das überzeugendste Werk des Asian Composers Showcase, an Jung-eun Park für ihre Komposition Dancing Boxes.

Ihre Entscheidung begründeten die fünf Jurymitglieder wie folgt:

„Die Jury des Asian Composers Showcase 2017 empfand alle vier Uraufführungen heute als Kompositionen von herausragender Qualität.

Die vier Kompositionen führen den Geist von Isang Yun fort und tragen zu seinem Vermächtnis als Mittler zwischen Ost und West bei. Alle vier Stücke zeugten von meisterhaften kompositorischen Fähigkeiten und dem kreativen Potential zeitgenössischer Komposition in Asien. Wir sind uns sicher, dass wir noch mehr von diesen starken Stimmen hören werden.

Eines der Werke hat die Jury aufgrund seiner Komplexität und seinem kreativen Umgang mit wiederkehrenden Motiven besonders überzeugt.

Der Asian Composers Showcase Goethe-Award 2017 geht an Jung-eun Park für ihre Komposition Dancing Boxes.“

Jung-eun Park wurde ebenfalls mit dem Audience Award ausgezeichnet. 

Die Jury

Uzong Choe Foto: Uzong Choe Prof. Uzong Choe studierte Komposition und Musiktheorie an der Seoul National University, am Mozarteum in Salzburg und am Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique de Paris. Er ist Professor für Komposition und Musiktheorie an der Seoul National University und seit 2001 künstlerischer Leiter des Ensemble TIMF, sowie seit 1994 musikalischer Leiter des Ensembles Georipae. Seine Werke umfassen eine Vielzahl musikalischer Stile und ästhetischer Positionen, von alter Musik bis zum Musical. Seine jüngsten Arbeiten spiegeln vor allem seine Forschung zur europäischen Polyphonie, traditioneller koreanischer Musik sowie Musiktheater wieder.
      
Christopher Lee Foto: Christopher Lee Prof. Christopher Lee, ein koreanisch-österreichischer Dirigent, ist einer der vielversprechendsten Dirigenten seiner Generation. Er hat mit dem Bucheon Philharmonic Orchesra, dem Busan Philharmonic Orchestra, dem KBS Symphony Orchestra, dem Korean Symphony Orchestra, dem Stuttgarter Kammerorchester, dem Kanazawa Orchestra Ensemble und vielen anderen Orchestern zusammengearbeitet. Er war Chefdirigent des Ensemble TIMF des Tongyeong International Music Festivals von 2010 bis 2011. Derzeit ist Christopher Lee Professor für Musik an der Inje University in Gimhae, Korea.

Roswitha Staege Foto: Roswitha Staege Prof. em. Roswitha Staege wurde in Berlin geboren und studierte Flöte in Hamburg bei Karlheinz und Gertrud Zoeller, sowie in Berlin bei James Galway. Sie gewann zahlreiche nationale und internationale Wettbewerbe, darunter den Internationalen ARD-Wettbewerb 1974 in München. Im selben Jahr wurde sie Soloflötistin des Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchesters Saarbrücken. Neben Auftritten in Europa, den USA, Russland, Australien und Asien sowie zahlreichen Rundfunk- und Fernsehaufnahmen war sie als Solistin und Kammermusikerin Gast bei Festivals auf der ganzen Welt. Als Professorin lehrte sie zuerst an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater des Saarlandes und dann von 1996 bis 2016 an der Berliner Hochschule der Künste. Neben langjähriger Mitgliedschaft im Deutschen Musikrat als Vorsitzende der Bläserjury war sie sie Mitglied in zahlreichen Jurys des DAAD, auch für Komposition. Harold C. Schonberg charakterisierte sie in der New York Times als „eine sensible Musikerin und eine anerkannte Virtuosin.“ Sie inspirierte Isang Yun zu mehreren Kompositionen.

Walter-Wolfgang Sparrer Foto: Walter-Wolfgang Sparrer Dr. Walter-Wolfgang Sparrer, 1953 in Mainz geboren, studierte in Berlin Schulmusik und Musikwissenschaft bei Carl Dahlhaus sowie Germanistik, Geschichte und Philosophie. Seit Anfang der achtziger Jahre schrieb er in Zusammenarbeit mit Isang Yun zahlreiche Werkeinführungstexte und Aufsätze zu seiner Musik. Mit Hanns-Werner Heister gab er den Sammelband Der Komponist Isang Yun heraus, der u.a. auch ins Koreanische übersetzt wurde. Zur Erforschung des Werkes und des Wirkens Isang Yuns, sowie zur Erhaltung dessen Aufführungspraxis gründete er mit anderen Freunden Yuns 1996 die Internationale Isang Yun Gesellschaft, deren Jahrbuch Ssi-ol er herausgibt, ebenso wie eine CD-Reihe.

Marla Stukenberg Foto: Goethe-Institut Korea/OZAK Dr. Marla Stukenberg ist Direktorin des Goethe-Institut Korea und Leiterin der Region Ostasien.