Asian Composers Showcase Premiere Concert 2018

Asian Composers Showcase 2018
Photo: TIMF © Sihoon Kim

The world premiere of the five compositions of the Asian Composers Showcase took place at the Tongyeong International Music Festival (TIMF) on April 7, 2018. Minhyung Lee directed the Ensemble TIMF.

An international jury awarded this year’s Goethe-Award, which includes a prize of 2.000,- Euro as well as a composition commission. After a long debate, the jury selected Song Yang for her composition Thawing. The award ceremony concluded with a reception.
 

The Jury

Younghi Pagh-Paan Photo: Harald Rehling Younghi Pagh-Paan, born in Cheongju, South Korea, was appointed Professor of Composition at the Hochschule der Künste in Bremen in 1994. Here she founded the Atelier Neue Musik, which she directed until her retirement in January 2011. Pagh-Paan has won numerous awards, including the Order of Civil Merit of the Republic of Korea (2006). She lives in Bremen and Panicale (Italy).

 
Christian Jost Photo: Sihoon Kim Christian Jost, composed numerous operas and symphonies and conducted orchestras around the world. Since 2015, he presents the contemporary music concert series 2 x hören - zeitgenössisch at Konzerthaus Berlin. He is composer in residence at Tongyeong International Music Festival 2018.


Slavomír Hořínka Photo: Sihoon Kim Slavomír Hořínka, born in the Czech Republic in 1980, has composed for various ensembles, including the Czech Philharmonic Orchestra, the Berg Orchestra, and the Benewitz Quartet. He currently teaches at the Academy of Performing Arts in Prague.



Cord Meijering Photo: Barbara Aumüller Cord Meijering, the Dutch composer, is director of the Darmstadt Academy of Music since 2005. His works are performed in Germany, Korea, and many other countries.



 
Minhyung Lee Photo: Sihoon Kim Minhyung Lee, began his career as a finalist at the Concours Besançon and at the competition of the MDR Symphony Orchestra. He was awarded the “Royal Trust Award” by the Royal Scottish Academy in 2017 and conducted the ensemble TIMF for the Asian Composers Showcase 2018.

Asian Composers Showcase Premierenkonzert 2018

Asian Composers Showcase 2018
Foto: TIMF © Sihoon Kim

Die fünf Kompositionen des Asian Composers Showcase wurden am 7. April 2018 auf dem Tongyeong International Music Festival (TIMF) uraufgeführt. Minhyung Lee dirigierte das Ensemble TIMF.

Eine international besetzte Fachjury verlieh den diesjährigen Goethe-Award, eine mit 2.000,- Euro sowie einem Kompositionsauftrag dotierte Auszeichnung für das überzeugendste Werk des Asian Composers Showcase. Nach längerer Diskussion entschied sich die Jury für Song Yang und ihre Komposition Thawing. Die Preisverleihung endete mit einem Empfang.
 

Die Jury

Younghi Pagh-Paan Foto: Harald Rehling Younghi Pagh-Paan, geboren in Cheongju, Süd-Korea, wurde 1994 zur Professorin für Komposition an die Hochschule für Künste Bremen berufen. Sie gründete dort das Atelier Neue Musik, das sie bis zu ihrer Verabschiedung im Januar 2011 leitete. Für ihr Schaffen erhielt sie zahlreiche internationale Auszeichnungen, unter anderem den Order of Civil Merit der Republik Korea (2006). Heute lebt sie in Bremen und Panicale (Umbrien).
     
Christian Jost Foto: Sihoon Kim Christian Jost, hat zahlreiche Opern und Symphonien komponiert und als Dirigent mit Orchestern in der ganzen Welt zusammengearbeitet. Seit 2015 leitet er am Konzerthaus Berlin die Konzertreihe 2 x hören - zeitgenössisch. Er ist Komponist in Residence des Tongyeong International Music Festival 2018.


Slavomír Hořínka Foto: Sihoon Kim Slavomír Hořínka, 1980 in Tschechien geboren, hat für verschiedene Ensembles wie dem Tschechische Philharmonie Orchestra, Berg Orchestra und Benewitz Quartet komponiert. Er lehrt an der Akademie der musischen Künste in Prag.



Cord Meijering Foto: Barbara Aumüller Cord Meijering, der niederländische Komponist, ist seit 2005 der Direktor der Akademie für Tonkunst Darmstadt. Seine Stücke werden neben Deutschland und Korea auch in zahlreichen weiteren Ländern aufgeführt.



Minhyung Lee Foto: Sihoon Kim Minhyung Lee, begann seine Karriere als Finalist beim Concours Besançon und beim Wettbewerb des MDR Sinfonieorchesters. Er wurde 2017 mit dem „Royal Trust Award“ der Royal Scottish Academy ausgezeichnet und dirigierte für den Asian Composers Showcase 2018 das Ensemble TIMF.