Asian Composers Showcase Concert 2019

Asian Composers Showcase 2019
Photo: TIMF

The five compositions of the Asian Composers Showcase were performed on April 6, 2019 at the Tongyeong International Music Festival (TIMF). Lio Kuokman conducted the Hong Kong New Music Ensemble.

An international jury headed by Jörg Süßenbach awarded this year’s Goethe-Award, which includes a prize of 2.000,- Euro as well as a composition commission. After a long debate, the jury selected Juri Seo for her composition Respiri – in memoriam Jonathan Harvey. The award ceremony concluded with a reception.
 

THE JURY

Alexander Liebreich Photo: Sammy Hart Alexander Liebreich, former Artistic Director of Tongyeong International Music Festival, concludes his tenure as Chief Conductor and Artistic Director of the Polish National Radio Symphony Orchestra at the end of the current season. Since 2018 he is newly appointed Chief Conductor and Artistic Director at the Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra and serves as Artistic Director at the Richard-Strauss Festival in Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany. From 2006 to 2016, Liebreich held the position of Artistic Director and Principal Conductor of the Munich Chamber Orchestra.
 
Toshio Hosokawa Photo: Kaz Ishikawa Toshio Hosokawa, born in Hiroshima in 1955, came to Germany in 1976 and studied composition with Isang Yun, Brian Ferneyhough and later Klaus Huber. He creates his distinctive musical language from the fascinating relationship between western avant-garde art and traditional Japanese culture and his orchestral and music theatre works are performed around the world. Among numerous awards and honors, Hosokawa has been a member of the Academy of Arts Berlin since 2001. He is the Artistic Director of the Takefu International Music Festival and Suntory Hall’s International Program for Music Composition. He is composer in residence at Tongyeong International Music Festival 2019.
 
Jakub Jankowski Photo: Jakub Jankowski Jakub Jankowski, born in 1994, is a young composer based in Adelaide, South Australia. He received various commissions and his music has been performed at international festivals by prestigious musicians. Jankowski is a graduate of the Elder Conservatorium of Music at the University of Adelaide, and holds a Bachelor of Music degree with Honours in Composition. He is composer in residence at Tongyeong International Music Festival 2019.
 
Yubeen Kim Photo: Yubeen Kim Yubeen Kim, born in Daejeon, South Korea, started to play the flute at the age of nine. He studied at Yewon Art School in Seoul and at the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique in Lyon with Philippe Bernold and José Daniel Castellon. He was been awarded prizes at, amongst others, the Ewha-Kyunghyang Competition in Korea, the Kobe International Competition in Japan, and the Prague Spring Competition. Regularly performing in Korea and in Europe, Kim became Principal Flute of the Konzerthaus- Orchester in Berlin in 2016.
 
Jörg Süßenbach Photo: Loredana La Rocca Jörg Süßenbach studied music at the Hochschule der Künste in Berlin and worked afterwards as a musician and music teacher. After further education in cultural management he took over a position in the PR and dramaturgy department at ROC (Rundfunkorchester und -Chöre GmbH Berlin), besides that he worked as a journalist and lecturer. Before joining the Goethe-Institut as the head of the music division in 2004, Süßenbach was the artistic and business director of a concert venue in Zurich.

Asian Composers Showcase Konzert 2019

Asian Composers Showcase 2019
Foto: TIMF

Die fünf Kompositionen des Asian Composers Showcase wurden am 6. April 2019 auf dem Tongyeong International Music Festival (TIMF) aufgeführt. Lio Kuokman dirigierte das Hong Kong New Music Ensemble.
 
Eine international besetzte Fachjury unter dem Vorsitz von Jörg Süßenbach verlieh den diesjährigen Goethe-Award, eine mit 2.000,- Euro sowie einem Kompositionsauftrag dotierte Auszeichnung für das überzeugendste Werk des Asian Composers Showcase. Nach längerer Diskussion entschied sich die Jury für Juri Seo und ihre Komposition Respiri – in memoriam Jonathan Harvey. Die Preisverleihung endete mit einem Empfang.

DIE JURY

Alexander Liebreich Foto: Sammy Hart Alexander Liebreich, ehemaliger künstlerischer Leiter des Tongyeong International Music Festival, schließt seine Amtszeit als Chefdirigent und künstlerischer Leiter des Nationalen Symphonieorchester des Polnischen Rundfunks mit Ende der laufenden Saison ab. Seit 2018 ist er Chefdirigent und künstlerischer Leiter des Prager Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchesters sowie künstlerischer Leiter des Richard-Strauss-Festivals in Garmisch-Partenkirchen. Von 2006 bis 2016 war Liebreich künstlerischer Leiter und Chefdirigent des Münchner Kammerorchesters.
 
Toshio Hosokawa Foto: Kaz Ishikawa Toshio Hosokawa, geboren 1955 in Hiroshima, kam 1976 nach Deutschland, wo er Komposition bei Isang Yun, Brian Ferneyhough und später Klaus Huber studierte. Seine unverwechselbare Musiksprache ist inspiriert von den faszinierenden Beziehungen zwischen westlicher Avantgarde und traditioneller japanischer Kultur. Seine Orchester- und Musiktheaterarbeiten werden weltweit aufgeführt. Neben zahlreichen Preisen und Auszeichnungen ist Hosokawa seit 2001 Mitglied der Akademie der Künste Berlin. Er ist künstlerischer Leiter des Takefu International Music Festival und des International Program for Music Composition der Suntory Hall in Tokyo. Er ist Composer in Residence beim Tongyeong International Music Festival 2019.
 
Jakub Jankowski Foto: Jakub Jankowski Jakub Jankowski, geboren 1994, ist ein junger Komponist aus Adelaide, Australien. Er erhielt zahlreiche Kompositionsaufträge und seine Musik wurde auf internationalen Festivals von renommierten Musikern gespielt. Jankowski ist Absolvent des Elder Conservatorium of Music an der Universität von Adelaide und hat einen Bachelor of Music mit Auszeichnung in Komposition erhalten. Er ist Composer in Residence beim Tongyeong International Music Festival 2019.
 
Yubeen Kim Foto: Yubeen Kim Yubeen Kim wurde in Daejeon, Südkorea, geboren und begann im Alter von neun Jahren Flöte zu spielen. Er studierte an der Yewon Art School in Seoul und am Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique in Lyon bei Philippe Bernold und José Daniel Castellon. Er gewann Preise unter anderem bei der Ewha-Kyunghyang Music Competition in Korea, der Kobe International Competition in Japan und beim internationalen Musikwettbewerb “Prager Frühling”. Kim tritt regelmäßig in Korea und Europa auf und wurde 2016 Soloflöte des Konzerthaus-Orchesters in Berlin.
 
Jörg Süßenbach Foto: Loredana La Rocca Jörg Süßenbach studierte Musik an der Hochschule der Künste in Berlin und arbeitete danach als Musiker und Musiklehrer. Nach einer Weiterbildung im Kulturmanagement übernahm er eine Position in der PR- und Dramaturgie-Abteilung der Rundfunkorchester und -Chöre GmbH Berlin und arbeitete daneben als Journalist und Dozent. Bevor er 2004 als Leiter des Bereichs Musik zum Goethe-Institut kam, war Süßenbach künstlerischer und kaufmännischer Leiter eines Konzert-Veranstaltungsortes in Zürich.