Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

December 5, 2017
Becoming familiar with another world

Ariuntsetseg Ganbold
Photo: Ariuntsetseg Ganbold

Interview with Ariuntsetseg Ganbold. As part of the Merck Social Translating Project, Ariuntsetseg Ganbold is translating Thomas Melle’s „Die Welt im Rücken (The World at Your Back)“ into Mongolian. In this interview, she spoke about her impressions after the initial meeting with the other translators at the Goethe-Institut Seoul.

Ms. Ariuntsetseg, you just returned from the meeting to kick-off the Merck Social Translating Project. What was especially exciting, nice, or surprising?
 
A total of ten translators from nine different countries in Asia are participating in this project. We are translating the novel Die Welt im Rücken (The World at Your Back) by Thomas Melle into ten different languages. An online platform is available to support our work, which allows us to interact with the author, the other translators, the project coordinators, and a moderator. All of the participants met each other in Seoul, and we discussed how the platform works and the next steps. It’s good to meet everyone in person since the online platform, of course, cannot replace personal interaction. It also lowers inhibitions to ask questions when you have met everyone in person.

Social Translating: The translators Photo: Goethe-Institut Korea/OZAK
What is special for you about social translating compared to “normal” translating? And how is it to work so closely on the translation with the author of the novel?
 
We just spoke about that during the meeting in Seoul. It was interesting that the ten translators not only come from different countries, but also had different backgrounds and opinions. For example, Le from Vietnam held the view that: “Translating is lonely work. With social translating the translator is not alone and is more motivated that he or she would be otherwise.” For me as an editor at a publishing house, it is incredibly important that the translation is free of errors. Especially when the book has challenging language, things can quickly go wrong. Social translating helps a lot when it is important to clarify difficult terms and figures of speech. If there’s something that I don’t understand, I can even ask the author and other translators right away. That helps a great deal and shows me what I need to pay attention to in particular. That also saves me a lot of time and work.
Subroto lesend Foto: Goethe-Institut Korea
Ten translators from nine countries in Asia are working together on the translation of Thomas Melle’s novel “Die Welt im Rücken (The World at Your Back)”. Does everyone have the same questions and difficulties with the translation? Or are there major differences from country to country?
 
We often have the same questions and problems with the translation, perhaps because all of us are from Asia. It starts with the title Die Welt im Rücken (The World at Your Back). Do we all have to translate the title literally or can you translate it loosely and differently to suit your respective culture? After all, the same book will be published in different languages at the same time. And then there are a lot of technical terms from the fields of psychology and psychiatry. The autobiographical book focuses on the author’s manic depression (bipolar disorder) and how he attempts to deal with the illness. This illness is hardly ever discussed in our society. Do the English terms have to be borrowed in the translation or should you try to describe or explain the terms? There are also many words and terms that are familiar to German readers, but not to Asian readers such as Prenzlauer Berg. Should we simply write the name or explain that Prenzlauer Berg is a district in Berlin known for its hipster café culture, many organic stores, etc.? We discussed these kinds of questions.
 
What is the greatest challenge with the Mongolian translation?
 
As previously mentioned, I worry about the unknown scenes in the book. Our readers might not know some of the people or things that appear in the book. It is a literary book, which is why everything can’t be paraphrased or explained in footnotes. There are a lot of things that you have to leave exactly as they are in the book. After all, there are also native-speaker readers who don’t know certain things. Becoming familiar with another world and making it accessible is challenging. But I don’t see that as a problem, but rather as a challenge and motivation to experience new things.
Audience Photo: Goethe-Institut Korea/OZAK
What makes Thomas Melle’s novel interesting for Mongolia? Which topics are relevant for Mongolian society?
 
Through his novel you can experience and understand what it is like to have a mental illness. The author has bipolar disorder and wrote very vividly about his illness. Mental illness is rarely discussed in Mongolia. But according to experts, even in Mongolia more and more people are suffering from mental illness. The family members and friends of those affected often don’t know how to deal with it, and the mentally ill are often ostracized from society. By translating the book, we are also helping to raise awareness about this topic in society. Perhaps this will spark a discussion about how mental illness is dealt with in Mongolia. Apart from that, it is an impressive autobiographical novel that convinces both formally and in terms of its content, and is even entertaining. I can certainly recommend it to anyone interested in literature.
 
What are the next steps for the project? When can we read the translation of “Die Welt im Rücken” in Mongolian?
 
Over the next few months all of the translators will continue to work on their translations and stay in contact with each other and the author on the platform. In October of 2018, all of the translations will be done and will be presented at the Frankfurt Book Fair. The Goethe-Institut is organizing all of this, and Merck Korea is financing it. I would like to express my sincerest thanks to the Goethe-Institut Korea and Merck Korea for this fantastic idea and work.
 
<< back
 next entry >>

  Seitentrenner 1

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

5. Dezember 2017
Die Herausforderung, eine andere Welt kennen zu lernen

Ariuntsetseg Ganbold
Foto: privat

Interview mit Ariuntsetseg Ganbold. Ariuntsetseg Ganbold übersetzt im Rahmen des Merck Social Translating Projekts Thomas Melles „Die Welt im Rücken“ ins Mongolische. Im Interview spricht sie nach dem Initialen Treffen der Übersetzerinnen und Übersetzer  am Goethe-Institut Seoul über ihre Eindrücke.

Frau Ariuntsetseg, Sie sind soeben vom Auftakttreffen zum Merck Social Translating Projekt aus Seoul zurückgekehrt: Was war besonders spannend, schön oder überraschend?
 

An diesem Projekt nehmen insgesamt zehn Übersetzer und Übersetzerinnen aus neun verschiedenen asiatischen Lӓndern teil. Wir übersetzen den Roman „Die Welt im Rücken“ von Thomas Melle aus dem Deutschen in zehn verschiedene Sprachen. Zur Unterstützung unserer Arbeit steht eine Online-Plattform zur Verfügung, durch die wir uns mit dem Autor, den anderen Übersetzern und Übersetzerinnen, den Projektkoordinatoren und einer Moderatorin austauschen können. In Seoul haben alle Beteiligten sich persönlich kennengelernt, wir haben die Funktionsweise der Plattform und das weitere Vorgehen besprochen. Es ist gut, alle persönlich zu kennen, denn den persönlichen Austausch kann natürlich auch die Online-Plattform nicht ersetzen. Das senkt auch die Hemmschwelle, Fragen zu stellen, wenn man die Leute alle persönlich einmal getroffen hat.

 Social Translating: Die Übersetzerinnen und Übersetzer Foto: Goethe-Institut Korea/OZAK
Was ist für Sie das Besondere am Social Translating – im Vergleich zum „normalen“ Übersetzen? Und wie ist es, so eng mit dem Autor des Romans an der Übersetzung zu arbeiten?

Darüber wurde gerade beim Treffen in Seoul gesprochen. Interessant war es, dass die zehn Übersetzer nicht nur aus verschiedenen Lӓndern kommen, sondern auch verschiedene Hintergründe und Meinungen hatten. Zum Beispiel Le aus Vietnam war der Ansicht: „Übersetzen ist eine einsame Arbeit. Durch Social Translating ist der Übersetzer nicht alleine und motivierter als sonst.“ Für mich als Redakteurin in einem Verlag ist wahnsinnig wichtig, dass die Übersetzung inhaltlich fehlerfrei ist. Besonders wenn das Buch sprachlich anspruchsvoll ist, geht schnell etwas schief. Social Translating hilft sehr, wenn es darum geht, schwierige Begriffe und Redewendungen zu klären. Falls ich etwas nicht verstehe, kann ich sogar direkt den Autor und andere Übersetzer fragen. Das hilft sehr und zeigt mir, worauf ich besonders achten muss. Das spart mir auch sehr viel Zeit und Arbeit.
Subroto lesend Foto: Goethe-Institut Korea
Zehn Übersetzerinnen und Übersetzer aus neun asiatischen Ländern arbeiten gemeinsam an der Übersetzung von Thomas Melles Roman „Die Welt im Rücken“. Haben alle die gleichen Fragen und Schwierigkeiten mit der Übersetzung? Oder unterscheidet sich das stark von Land zu Land?

Wir haben häufig die gleichen Fragen und Probleme bei der Übersetzung, vielleicht weil wir alle aus Asien sind. Es fängt schon mit dem Titel Die Welt im Rücken an. Müssen wir den Titel alle wӧrtlich übersetzen oder kann man sinngemӓß und jeweils anders für die eigene Kultur übersetzen? Schließlich wird ein und dasselbe Buch gleichzeitig in verschiedenen Sprachen erscheinen. Und dann gibt es in dem Buch auch viele Fachwӧrter aus den Bereichen Psychologie und Psychiatrie. Im Zentrum des autobiographischen Buches steht die manische Depression (bipolare Störung) des Autors und wie er mit der Krankheit umzugehen versucht. Von dieser Krankheit wird in unserer Gesellschaft kaum gesprochen. Muss man dann in der Übersetzung die englischen Termini übernehmen oder sollte man versuchen, die Begriffe zu umschreiben oder zu erklären? Es gibt auch viele Wӧrter und Begriffe, die den deutschen Lesern bekannt sind, aber eben den asiatischen nicht, wie zum Beispiel Prenzlauer Berg. Sollen wir einfach den Namen hinschreiben oder erklӓren, dass der Prenzlauer Berg ein Viertel Berlins ist, das für seine Hipster-Cafe-Kultur und seine vielen Bioläden etc. bekannt ist? Diese Art von Fragen haben wir besprochen.

Was ist die größte Herausforderung bei der mongolischen Übersetzung?

Wie oben erwӓhnt mache ich mir Sorgen wegen der unbekannten Szenen im Buch. Einige Personen oder Dinge, die im Buch vorkommen, kennen unsere Leser vielleicht nicht. Das ist ein literarisches Buch. Deswegen kann nicht alles paraphrasiert oder durch Fußnoten erläutert werden. Vieles muss man genauso lassen wie im Buch. Schließlich gibt es auch muttersprachliche Leser, die bestimmte Sachen nicht kennen. Das ist dann eine Herausforderung, eine andere Welt kennen zu lernen und sich erschließen zu müssen. Darin sehe ich aber kein Problem, sondern eine Herausforderung und Motivation, Neues zu erfahren.
Publikum Foto: Goethe-Institut Korea/OZAK
Was macht Thomas Melles Roman für die Mongolei interessant? Welche Themen sind für die mongolische Gesellschaft relevant?

Durch seinen Roman kann man erleben und verstehen wie es ist, eine psychische Stӧrung zu haben. Der Autor hat eine bipolare Störung und sehr eindrücklich über seine Krankheit geschrieben. Psychische Stӧrungen werden in der Mongolei selten thematisiert. Aber laut Fachleuten leiden auch in der Mongolei immer mehr Menschen unter psychischen Krankheiten. Familienangehӧrige und Freunde der Betroffenen wissen oft nicht, wie sie damit umgehen sollen, und die Kranken selbst werden von der Gesellschaft oft ausgegrenzt. Mit der Übersetzung des Buches leisten wir auch einen Beitrag dazu, dieses Thema in der Öffentlichkeit bekannter zu machen. Vielleicht wird es eine Diskussion über den Umgang mit psychischen Erkrankungen in der Mongolei anstoßen. Darüber hinaus ist es ein beeindruckender, formal wie inhaltlich überzeugender und auch unterhaltsamer autobiographischer Roman, den ich jedem literarisch Interessierten nur empfehlen kann.

Wie geht es jetzt mit dem Projekt weiter? Wann können wir die Übersetzung von „Die Welt im Rücken“ auf Mongolisch lesen?
 
In den nächsten Monaten werden alle Übersetzer weiter an ihren Übersetzungen arbeiten und dabei über die Plattform untereinander und mit dem Autor in Kontakt bleiben. Im Oktober 2018 sollen alle Übersetzungen fertig sein und auf der Frankfurter Buchmesse präsentiert werden. Das alles organisiert das Goethe-Institut und finanziert die Firma Merck Korea. Für diese großartige Idee und Arbeit bedanke ich mich bei dem Goethe-Institut Korea und Merck Korea ganz herzlich.
  Seitentrenner 1

Top