Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

April 4, 2018
About the Merck Social Translating Project

Sunanda Mahajan
Photo: Goethe-Institut Korea/OZAK

By Sunanda Mahajan. Translating a literary text is always a daring feat. When the Goethe-Institut asked me to participate in the Social Translating Project, I naturally looked forward to the project. At the same time, it occurred to me that I first needed a proper explanation of the term. I suddenly asked myself: “I will translate, but what is so social about it?”

Translating a literary text is always a daring feat. When the Goethe-Institut asked me to participate in the Social Translating Project, I naturally looked forward to the project. At the same time, it occurred to me that I first needed a proper explanation of the term. I suddenly asked myself: “I will translate, but what is so social about it?” There was a lot of excitement when I flew to Seoul in November. The meeting with the team at the Goethe-Institut ― whose staff had designed and initiated the project both in terms of the content and technical aspects ― and the founder of the Lectory platform was very productive. We became familiar with technical aspects and other things, and the mode of virtual communication on the Lectory platform was explained and practiced. Furthermore, the dialogue with the other translators provided insight into various translation practices. Unfortunately, Thomas Melle, the author of the text we were to translate, was unable to attend due to illness. The translators in attendance very much missed having direct contact with him. His presence would have added another dimension to the meeting. But thanks to modern technology we were able to schedule a video conference with the author, which went very well and proved to be a good substitute.

At the beginning, I had no idea how much the virtual meeting and the option to insert questions, answers, comments, and audio-visual references supports the actual translation process. But after taking my first somewhat uncertain steps, I quickly managed on my own and the Lectory communication was useful. My experience with translation is that with every text I have to search in a lot of dictionaries, track down lots of other sources, and even have to consult a friendly native speaker in order to understand contexts, references, and allusions to cultural, social, and political details. With social translating I was able to spare myself these detours. I have nothing but praise for Thomas Melle in this regard; his input was always the best guidance. He not only gives the reader new insight into the text, but also points out other ways to approach the text. Interaction from other native speakers on the Lectory platform with our group of very diligent and efficient translators had very positive effects on our discourse.

I assume that the Lectory platform can also be used productively for teaching, particularly in literature classes. It could help students to read more intensively and to share their opinions more freely, which is not always easy in seminars.
 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

4. April 2018
Zum Merck Social Translating Projekt

Sunanda Mahajan
Foto: Goethe-Institut Korea/OZAK

Von Sunanda Mahajan. Das Übersetzen eines literarischen Textes ist jedes Mal ein Wagnis. Als ich vom Goethe-Institut nach einer Beteiligung am Social Translating Projekt gefragt wurde, freute ich mich natürlich auf das Projekt. Gleichzeitig fiel mir auf, dass ich den Begriff zunächst richtig klären muss. Spontan stellte sich mir die Frage “I will translate, but what is so social about it?“

Das Übersetzen eines literarischen Textes ist jedes Mal ein Wagnis. Als ich vom Goethe-Institut nach einer Beteiligung am Social Translating Projekt gefragt wurde, freute ich mich natürlich auf das Projekt. Gleichzeitig fiel mir auf, dass ich den Begriff zunächst richtig klären muss. Spontan stellte sich mir die Frage “I will translate, but what is so social about it?“ Daher war die Aufregung groß, als ich im November nach Seoul flog. Das Treffen mit dem Team des Goethe-Instituts, dessen Mitarbeiterinnen das Projekt sowohl inhaltlich als auch technisch entworfen und in Gang gesetzt haben, und dem Gründer der Lectory-Plattform war sehr ergiebig. Wir wurden mit technischen und anderen Dingen vertraut gemacht und der Modus der virtuellen Kommunikation auf der Lectory-Plattform wurde erklärt und geübt. Weiterhin ermöglichte der Dialog mit den anderen Übersetzerinnen und Übersetzern Einblicke in verschiedene Varianten der eigentlichen Übersetzungspraxis. Thomas Melle, der Autor des zu übersetzenden Textes, meldete sich leider krank. Der direkte Kontakt fehlte uns, den dort versammelten Übersetzerinnen und Übersetzern, sehr. Das Treffen hätte durch seine Anwesenheit eine andere Dimension bekommen. Aber mit den modernen technischen Mitteln konnten wir eine Video-Konferenz mit dem Autor vereinbaren, die dann sehr gut lief und sich als guter Ersatz erwies.   

Zu Beginn habe ich nicht geahnt, wie sehr das virtuelle Treffen und die Möglichkeit, Fragen, Antworten, Kommentare und audio-visuelle Bezüge einzufügen, den eigentlichen Vorgang des Übersetzens unterstützt. Aber nach den ersten etwas unsicheren Schritten kam ich schnell zurecht und die Lectory-Kommunikation wurde nutzbringend. Meine Erfahrung beim Übersetzen ist, dass ich bei  jedem Text in vielen Wörterbüchern nachschlagen, vielen anderen Quellen nachgehen und zusätzlich noch  einen freundlichen Muttersprachler konsultieren muss, um Kontexte, Bezüge und Anspielungen auf kulturelle, soziale und politische Einzelheiten zu verstehen. Beim Social Translating konnte ich mir diese Umwege sparen. Thomas Melle kann man hier nur loben, seine Inputs sind immer die beste Orientierung. Er bringt dem Leser nicht nur neue Einsichten in den Text, sondern weist auch auf andere Zugänge zum Text hin. Das Zusammenspiel weiterer Muttersprachler auf der Lectory Platform  mit unserer Gruppe von sehr fleißigen und effizienten Übersetzern hatte für den Diskurs sehr positive Auswirkungen.

Ich nehme an, dass die Lectory Platform auch im Bereich der Lehre, insbesondere beim Literaturunterricht, gewinnbringend eingesetzt werden kann. Man könnte dadurch die Studierenden zur intensiven Lektüre und zum hemmungsfreien Meinungsaustausch bringen, was bei Seminaren manchmal nicht einfach ist.

<< zurück
 nächster Beitrag >>

  Seitentrenner 1

Top