Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

April 18, 2018
“I personally became a bit more ‘social’ through the project”

Ki-Sook Lee
Photo: Goethe-Institut Korea/OZAK

By Ki-Sook Lee. Korean translator Ki-Sook Lee wasn’t really a user of social media networks. But at the kick-off meeting, she noticed that translation is also possible in a “social” context.

At first, the term social translating was completely foreign to me. And I had no idea how the project would go. Through our discussions and talks at the first meeting in Seoul in November, what I was supposed to do online with the author and the other Asian translators as part of the project eventually became clear to me. From the kick-off meeting, I realized that translation is also possible in a “social” context. I wasn't really a user of social media networks, but I personally became a bit more “social” through the project.
 
The kick-off meeting and the talks with the other translators gave me the opportunity to discuss the same text with colleagues from Asia and for us to share opinions, experiences, and information with each other.
 
The online meetings and the Lectory platform helped me a lot with the translation. First, I was able to resolve some of the things that were unclear in the text thanks to direct feedback from the author. Otherwise, these things would have remained unclear for a long time or I would have had to deal with them in a personal e-mail exchange with the author. Second, the exchange with the other translators was inspiring. I was able to find out how they understood or interpreted certain passages in the text, whether they might be running into the same difficulties that I was, and how they were dealing with them. Third, collaborating on the Lectory platform provided an opportunity for personal reflection for me. While translating, I sometimes asked myself whether my many incorrect interpretations had to do with insufficient knowledge of German or a lack of imagination on my part. As a result of this, I believe you can make great strides in working as a translator.

<< back
 next entry >>

  Seitentrenner 1

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

18. April 2018
„Mit dem Projekt bin ich persönlich etwas ‚sozialer‘ geworden”

Ki-Sook Lee
Foto: Goethe-Institut Korea/OZAK

Von Ki-Sook Lee. Eigentlich war die koreanische Übersetzerin Ki-Sook Lee keine Nutzerin Sozialer Netzwerke. Doch beim Auftakttreffen merkte sie, dass Übersetzen auch „sozial” möglich ist.

Am Anfang war mir der Begriff des Social Translating völlig fremd. Und ich hatte keine Vorstellung davon, wie das Projekt ablaufen würde. Erst beim Treffen im November in Seoul wurde mir durch unsere Diskussionen und Gespräche allmählich klar, was ich im Rahmen des Projekts mit dem Autor und den anderen asiatischen Übersetzerinnen und Übersetzern online tun sollte. Vom Auftakttreffen habe ich die Erkenntnis mitgenommen, dass das Übersetzen auch „sozial” möglich ist. Außerdem war ich eigentlich keine Nutzerin Sozialer Netzwerke, aber mit dem Projekt bin ich persönlich etwas „sozialer” geworden.
 
Das Auftakttreffen und das Gespräch mit den anderen Übersetzerinnen und Übersetzern gaben mir die Gelegenheit, mit den Kolleginnen und Kollegen aus Asien über denselben Text diskutieren und Meinungen, Erfahrungen und Informationen miteinander austauschen zu können.
 
Die Online-Treffen auf der Lectory-Plattform haben mir bei der Übersetzung sehr geholfen. Erstens konnte ich manche Unklarheiten im Text durch die direkten Feedbacks des Autors beseitigen, die sonst lange unklar geblieben wären oder die ich durch einen persönlichen E-Mail-Austausch mit dem Autor hätte bewältigen müssen. Zweitens war der Austausch mit den anderen Übersetzerinnen und Übersetzer anregend. Ich konnte in Erfahrung bringen, wie sie bestimmte Textstellen verstanden bzw. interpretierten, ob sie vielleicht auf dieselben Schwierigkeiten stießen wie ich und wie sie damit umgingen. Drittens war die Zusammenarbeit auf der Lectory-Plattform für mich eine Gelegenheit der Selbstreflexion. Beim Übersetzen fragte ich mich manchmal, ob meine vielen Fehlinterpretationen an meinen unzureichenden Deutschkenntnissen liegen oder an meiner fehlenden Vorstellungskraft. Dadurch, glaube ich, kann man in der Übersetzungstätigkeit einen großen Schritt weiter kommen.


  Seitentrenner 1

Top