Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

December 17, 2018
The Merck Social Translating Project at the Frankfurt Book Fair 2018

The Social Translating Podium Discussion at the Weltempfang
The Social Translating Podium Discussion at the Weltempfang | Photo: Goethe-Institut/Markus Kirchgessner

“It’s like juggling two worlds” – a conversation between translators Anchalee Topeongpong (Bangkok) and Ashani Ranasinghe (Colombo) at the Frankfurt Book Fair on October 13, 2018.

It is Saturday afternoon and the Frankfurt Book Fair has opened its doors to private visitors. In hall 4.1, the stands of the publishers and the hallways are bustling with activity. Anchalee and Ashani are having a cup of coffee in the “Weltempfang” area, where a translation slam has just begun.
 
Both women translated Thomas Melle’s novel “The World at your Back”, Anchalee into Thai and Ashani into Sinhalese. Together with the eight other translators who participated in the Merck Social Translation Project, they attended the world’s largest book fair in October 2018 in Frankfurt, Germany. This is also where the pilot project is scheduled to end. In addition to the panel discussion on the previous Thursday, where Dr. Marla Stukenberg, the director of the Goethe-Institut in Seoul, South Korea, which masterminded the project, author Thomas Melle and three of the translators (Sunanda Mahajan, Jisung Kim and Ariuntsegseg Ganbold) presented the project, they visited  the Rowohlt Verlag publishing house, took a behind-the-scenes tour of the Frankfurt Book Fair and had meetings with independent publishers. They also had some time to schedule activities of their own and explore the trade fair.

The coffee break gave the two experienced translators an opportunity to reflect on their experience participating in the Merck Social Translating Project.

The translator group at the Rowohlt booth The translator group at the Rowohlt booth | Photo: Goethe-Institut/Meng-Ru Yang
Ashani: (…) In my mind, three key words best describe the last year of the exchange and my translation work: challenge, combat and survival.
 
Anchalee: Oh, I can absolutely relate to “survival”. (laughs) But tell me, what was that like for you?
 
Ashani: Well, the challenge was mostly because of the topic. It is something of an autobiographical novel, where Thomas Melle, to summarize, describes three episodes of his bipolar disorder. In Sri Lanka, the disease is not a taboo topic, but we don’t talk about it much.

This brings me to my second point, combat. If translation were a stage, then two cultures were locked in combat with each other on that stage, more or less. And as a translator, I had to mediate between them. On the one hand, you have the author: What is he doing in this novel, what is his writing like? And on the other hand, you have readers in my country: What are they to read, how will they understand what is written? This “combat” occurred not just on a linguistic level, but also in terms of meaning and of style. Some of it also happened on the sidelines, for instance when selecting a title. There were several instances where I needed to add additional explanations. To give just one example, one we already talked about a lot: the play on words “Sauna und doch so fern” (literally: “sauna and yet so far”). It was just not possible to translate this into Sinhalese without losing both the pun and the notion of “loneliness”. This required multiple sentences in my language. The third point is “survival”. The other translators on the platform provided excellent support and our mutual exchange was fantastic.
 
Anchalee: I completely agree in terms of the challenge. Disease is a topic that we rarely talk about in Thailand. However, in my case, the publisher had taken a personal interest in the novel. She was interested in the literary implementation of the topic of disease. I initially thought that the topic was what presented the main challenge. But then I took a closer look at the language. It presented one challenge after another. In several instances, I got stuck. Some days, I would spend hours translating a single phrase. The other translators were in the same situation, of course. The question was how to translate Melle’s language? It’s like juggling two worlds, something of a tightrope act. But that is also what makes it so exciting.

You mentioned the “sauna” example. I tried to retain the play on words, it was supposed to have this humorous connotation and not be so serious. Thai is a tonal language, we have five tones so that meanings can be easily varied by using a different intonation. For instance, we have five versions of the sound “sau”. Depending on the intonation, it can mean “pillar” (rising tone) or “sad” (high tone). I opted for the sad version and then added an additional variation. The result was this: “Sauna, mai tong sao na!” So a word-for-word translation might be “Sauna, don’t be so sad!”.
Translators Ranasinghe and Ganbold with author Thomas Melle Translators Ranasinghe and Ganbold with author Thomas Melle | Photo: Goethe-Institut/Marilen Daum
Ashani: What feedback have you gotten on your work so far?
 
Anchalee: People had different opinions about the book. But everyone agreed that it required courage and a willingness to take risks. Which is very fitting for the entire project, really, since it is such a new concept. And after all, we are all quite willing to take risks.
It really accomplished a lot. Looking back, we achieved a lot. This is a unique, innovative project. And it hews close to reality. We live in a digital world where work processes are meant to be fast and effective. And for this project, in addition to these requirements of the translation work, the exchange was at the heart of everything. We were able to learn a great deal from each other and gained deep insights into each other’s cultures.
 
Ashani: Since the topic of the novel is something rarely discussed in our country, everything hinges upon how the book is advertised.
 
Anchalee: If they find the right advertising angle, I’m sure it will be very successful once it is published. The key is not to scare readers away by focusing on the topic of a “disease”. Instead, we need to highlight that this is “a new topic, a new author, his internal world and his unique linguistic presentation”.
 
Ashani: Exactly, because this disease and personal experiences with it are something we see all over the world, even if it is not something authors in every country necessarily write about. With our publisher, we found an approach that works. The publisher is friends with a theater group, a group of actors, really. He wants to accompany the presentation of the book with a theater performance. The play can serve as a forum of exchange. We don’t plan to put the entire novel on as a play, just a small part, maybe one of the longer scenes. It will be staged at the university, at my German studies department. We want to present it as a bilingual production, which means my students will be able to discuss the topic. One of the issues we raised was whether the main role should be played by a man or a woman.
 
Anchalee: The cover of your translation shows a person with a wide-brimmed hat. It is unclear whether it’s a woman or a man.
 
Ashani: Right, the cover is ambivalent. The person is shown in the bottom right corner, not at the center of the cover. Red happens to be my favorite color.

Melle’s novel is about a man, of course, about the author himself. But the story of the disease can affect anyone, it affects everyone. That is why we have this question regarding the play, whether it should be a man or a woman.

My editor was worried about whether the topic would sell. In Sri Lanka, we have one leading topic in German-language literature, which is Hitler and holocaust. My translations about this and related topics were well received and reviewed. After I translated Patrick Süskind’s novel “Perfume”, people asked me why this topic was interesting to me. In terms of Germany, like I said, people are mainly interested in Hitler, World War II and the survivors of the holocaust.

Therefore, we want to try to distance ourselves from this clichéd notion at the university. For me, Thomas Melle’s novel is my second effort in this direction after “Perfume”. The editor was, as I mentioned, skeptical. We’ll have to see what the critics have to say.
 
Anchalee: That’s why it is a good thing that the Goethe-Institut launched this new initiative.
 
Ashani: We hope that the play will help develop new concepts and images in relation to literature and that these will create an interest in other topics.
Topeongpong at the Lilienfeld Booth Topeongpong at the Lilienfeld Booth | Photo: Goethe-Institut/Marilen Daum
Anchalee: Diseases occur all over the world, they are universal. But Thomas Melle’s novel also sparked something new in the German-speaking world with the way he talks about his own disease. This did not previously exist in German-language literature. I think that people generally don’t like to talk about their weaknesses. So Thomas displayed great courage. Linguistically, he is outstanding.
 
Ashani: I completely agree.
 
Anchalee: The choice of title is in itself already a linguistic novelty, but also tricky for translators. We initially wanted to retain all aspects of “The world at your back”. But that was just not possible. We definitely needed to keep “world” and some mention of the disease. So we chose the title “In the bipolar world”. However, “bipolar” is not a medical term in Thai, it could also mean “confused” or “in confusion”, which might also refer to the world.
 
Ashani: In my case, the publisher decided on the title and selected something that corresponds to “bipolar”. A literal translation might be “I’m losing myself” or maybe “The Lost Self”.

When I think about the courage Thomas Melle displayed, I couldn’t imagine that for myself.

By the way, this is not only my first visit to the Frankfurt book fair, but also the very first time ever a Sinhalese translation is being presented on this large stage.
The Podium Discussion with audience The Podium Discussion with audience | Photo: Goethe-Institut/Markus Kirchgessner
Anchalee: The fair seems incredibly colorful and lively. Our joint visit and the program were great.
 
Ashani: An exciting program.
 
Anchalee: I think it’s fantastic that we’re the “pioneers” and that the Merck Social Translating Project is being presented here. It would be nice if we had additional ways of presenting it, maybe something audiovisual or digital via a monitor at a stand. That would be my suggestion for a potential second round of such a project.

I definitely do not regret participating and would participate again.
 
Ashani: I second that completely.
 
Anchalee: I’d like to participate as an observer or to support the next group of translators. Or in the selection of the book.
 
Ashani: For translators, it’s just very helpful and provides great support.
 
Anchalee: When you’re working on a translation, you often don’t have time to exchange ideas with other translators; we usually work under extreme time pressure. There is one main thing I learned, which is how important this exchange is and that you actually save a lot of time you would otherwise spend researching or clarifying meanings. I’d like to make use of this kind of forum again for future book translations, it’s just a great opportunity.
 
Ashani: We are living in a world that moves rapidly, and literature can help make this world a little “smaller” in the sense that you can develop and gain a better understanding for certain topics. Translators focus the gaze on reading, on literature. This is where you can display tolerance, create a connection, portray the diversity of our world, of other opinions, and of how important tolerance is. This is also true among translators.

This project put every facet of this on display. It was about translating Thomas’ novel and the exchange with him and each other. And this exchange did not stay in the digital realm, with the visit in Seoul last year and now with the Frankfurt Book Fair. Yesterday, we all came together at the “Germania” tavern. We were all really tired, but we all had “Ebbelwoi” together, that is what life is about.
 
As the joint coffee break with its lively retrospective on the translation process and the outlook for the future came to an end, Anchalee and Ashani continued their tour of the book fair before gathering for a final dinner celebration with all the other translators who took part in the project.

 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

17. Dezember 2018
Das Merck Social Translating Projekt auf der Frankfurter Buchmesse 2018

Social Translating Podiumsdiskussion am Weltempfang
Social Translating Podiumsdiskussion am Weltempfang | Foto: Goethe-Institut/Markus Kirchgessner

„Man jongliert mit zwei Welten“ - ein Gespräch zwischen den Übersetzerinnen Anchalee Topeongpong (Bangkok) und Ashani Ranasinghe (Colombo) auf der Frankfurter Buchmesse am 13. Oktober 2018.

Samstagmittag, Halle 4.1, Publikumstag auf der Frankfurter Buchmesse und es herrscht reger Verkehr zwischen den Verlagsständen. Anchalee und Ashani verschnaufen bei einem Kaffee im Areal des Weltempfangs, auf der soeben ein Translation Slam begonnen hat.
 
Anchalee hat Thomas Melles Roman „Die Welt im Rücken“ ins Thailändische und Ashani ins Singhalesische übersetzt. Gemeinsam mit den acht anderen teilnehmenden Übersetzerinnen und Übersetzern des Merck Social Translation Projektes besuchten sie im Oktober 2018 in Frankfurt die größte Buchmesse der Welt. Hier findet das Pilotprojekt seinen Abschluss. Neben der Podiumsdiskussion am vorangegangenen Donnerstag, bei der Dr. Marla Stukenberg, Leiterin des federführenden Goethe-Instituts Seoul, der Autor Thomas Melle und drei der Übersetzer/innen (Sunanda Mahajan, Jisung Kim, Ariuntsegseg Ganbold) das Projekt vorstellten, stehen Besuche beim Rowohlt Verlag, einer Führung hinter die Kulissen der Frankfurter Buchmesse oder Besuche unabhängiger Verlage auf dem Programm. Zusätzlich bleibt Zeit, um eigene Termine wahrzunehmen oder sich in den Messehallen umzuschauen.

Die Kaffeepause bietet den beiden erfahrenen Übersetzerinnen Gelegenheit, ihre Erfahrungen aus dem Merck Social Translating Projekt Revue passieren zu lassen.

Die Übersetzergruppe beim Rowohlt Stand Die Übersetzergruppe beim Rowohlt Stand | Foto: Goethe-Institut/Meng-Ru Yang
Ashani: (…) Für mich beschreiben vor allem drei Stichworte das letzte Jahr während des Austauschs und meiner Übersetzungsarbeit: Herausforderung, Kampf und Überleben.

Anchalee: Oh, ja, mit „Überleben“ kann ich sofort etwas anfangen (lacht). Aber beschreib mal, wie das für dich war.
 
Ashani: Also, eine Herausforderung war es in erster Linie wegen des Themas. Es ist ja eine Art autobiographischer Roman, in dem Thomas Melle, kurz gesagt, drei Episoden seiner Krankheit der bipolaren Störung beschreibt. Bei uns in Sri Lanka ist diese Erkrankung zwar kein Tabuthema, aber dennoch wird nicht viel darüber gesprochen.

Und das führt gleich zum zweiten Stichpunkt, nämlich dem Kampf. Wenn die Übersetzung eine Bühne ist, dann kämpften dort sozusagen zwei Kulturen miteinander. Und ich als Übersetzerin musste zwischen ihnen vermitteln. Einerseits ist da der Autor, was macht er in diesem Roman, wie schreibt er? Und andererseits sind da die Leser in meinem Land, was sollen sie lesen, wie verstehen sie das Geschriebene? Der Kampf wurde nicht nur sprachlich geführt, sondern auch hinsichtlich der Bedeutung, des Stils, und es gab Nebenschauplätze, wie etwa die Wahl des Titels. Es waren an etlichen Stellen weiterführende Erklärungen meinerseits notwendig. Nur ein kleines Beispiel, über das wir schon viel gesprochen haben: das Wortspiel „Sauna und doch so fern“. Das ließ sich einfach nicht ins Singhalesische übertragen, ohne dass der Sprachwitz und gleichzeitig der Anklang der „Einsamkeit“ verloren gegangen wären. Das bedurfte mehrerer Sätze in meiner Sprache. Der dritte Punkt ist das „Überleben“. Ich fand großartige Unterstützung durch die anderen Übersetzer auf der Plattform und den Austausch miteinander.

Anchalee: In puncto Herausforderung stimme ich dir voll und ganz zu. Das Thema Krankheit wird in Thailand nur selten thematisiert. In meinem Fall war es aber so, dass die Verlegerin ein persönliches Interesse an diesem Roman hatte. Sie  interessierte sich für die literarische Verarbeitung des Themas Krankheit. Am Anfang dachte ich, die Herausforderung liegt im Thema. Aber dann beschäftigte ich mich intensiver mit der Sprache. Das war ein Hürdenlauf. An etlichen Stellen bin ich steckengeblieben und verbrachte an manchen Tagen stundenlang mit der Übersetzung einer einzigen Wendung. Die anderen Übersetzer waren ja in der gleichen Lage. Die Frage war, wie lässt sich Melles Sprache übertragen? Man jongliert mit zwei Welten, wie bei einem Seiltanz. Aber genau das ist auch das Spannende.

Du hast eben das Beispiel „Sauna“ erwähnt. Ich habe versucht, das Wortspiel zu erhalten, es sollte diese humorvolle Konnotation haben, nicht so bluternst sein. Das Thailändische ist eine tonale Sprache, wir haben fünf Töne, da lassen sich Bedeutungen durch eine andere Betonung sehr gut variieren. Es gibt also fünf Mal „sau“. Je nach Betonung kann es etwa „Säule“ (steigender Ton) oder „traurig“ (hoher Ton) bedeuten. Ich habe mich für das „Traurige“ entschieden und habe noch etwas variiert. Heraus kommt folgendes: „Sauna, mai tong sao na!“ Also wörtlich übersetzt etwa „Sauna, sei doch nicht traurig!“
Übersetzerinnen Ranasinghe und Ganbold mit Autor Thomas Melle Übersetzerinnen Ranasinghe und Ganbold mit Autor Thomas Melle | Foto: Goethe-Institut/Marilen Daum
Ashani: Wie war bisher das Feedback zu deiner Arbeit?
 
Anchalee: Es gab unterschiedliche Meinungen zum Buch. Einig sind sich aber alle darüber, dass Mut und Experimentierfreude dazugehört. Das passt ja auch zu dem gesamten Projekt, da es neuartig ist. Und wir sind doch alle experimentierfreudig.

Es hat unheimlich viel gebracht. Wenn ich zurückblicke, haben wir viel erreicht. Es ist ein einmaliges, innovatives Projekt. Und es ist nah an der Realität. Wir leben in der digitalen Welt, Arbeitsprozesse sollen schnell und effektiv sein. Und hier stand neben diesen Anforderungen an die übersetzerische Arbeit der Austausch im Mittelpunkt. Wir konnten viel voneinander lernen, wir haben tiefe Einblicke in die Kulturen der anderen gewonnen.
 
Ashani: Da man in unserem Land wenig über das Thema des Romans spricht, kommt es darauf an, wie man das Buch dort bewirbt.

Anchalee: Wenn die richtige Werbung für das Buch gefunden ist, wird es bei der Veröffentlichung einschlagen, da bin ich mir sicher. Man darf die Leser nicht mit dem Thema „Krankheit“ abschrecken. Man muss vielmehr darauf abzielen, dass es sich um ein „neues Thema, einen neuen Autor und dessen innere Welt und seiner einmaligen sprachlichen Darstellung“ handelt.

Ashani: Ja, denn eine solche Erkrankung und überhaupt persönliche Erfahrungen damit gibt es ja überall auf der Welt, auch wenn nicht in jedem Land  darüber geschrieben wird. Wir haben mit dem Verlag einen Ansatz gefunden. Der Verleger ist mit einer Theatergruppe bzw. einer Gruppe von Schauspielern befreundet. Er möchte die Vorstellung des Buches mit der Inszenierung eines Theaterstücks begleiten. Die Aufführung kann als Forum des Austauschs dienen. Nicht der gesamte Roman soll als Theaterstück aufgeführt werden, sondern nur ein Teil, eine längere Szene etwa. Als Aufführungsort eignet sich die Universität, meine Germanistik-Abteilung. Das Stück soll zweisprachig aufgeführt werden. Meine Studenten werden über das Thema diskutieren können. Eine der Fragen, die wir bisher diskutierten, lautet, ob ein Mann oder eine Frau die „Hauptrolle“ spielen wird.
 
Anchalee: Auf dem Cover deiner Übersetzung ist eine Abbildung einer Person mit einem Hut mit breiter Krempe. Da weiß man auch nicht, ob es sich dabei um eine Frau oder einen Mann handelt.
 
Ashani: Ja, das Cover drückt Ambivalenz aus. Die Person ist am unteren linken Rand zu sehen, nicht etwa in der Mitte des Covers, die Farbe Rot ist zufälligerweise meine Lieblingsfarbe.

In Melles Roman geht es natürlich um einen Mann, also Melle selbst. Aber die Geschichte der Erkrankung kann jeden Menschen treffen, sie geht alle an. Daher auch im Theaterstück die Frage: Mann oder Frau.

Meine Lektorin fragte, ob sich das Thema wohl verkaufen lässt. In Sri Lanka haben wir im Hinblick auf deutschsprachige Literatur vor allem ein Topthema, das sind Hitler und der Holocaust. Meine Übersetzungen, die sich darum oder um ein verwandtes Thema drehten, erhielten gute Besprechungen und Feedbacks. Als ich Patrick Süskinds Roman „Das Parfum“ übersetzt hatte, wurde ich gefragt, was so interessant an diesem Thema sei. Wenn es um Deutschland geht, interessieren wie gesagt vor allem Hitler, der zweite Weltkrieg und die Überlebenden des Holocausts.

An der Uni wollen wir daher versuchen, uns von dieser klischeehaften Vorstellung zu lösen. Für mich ist Thomas Melles Roman neben „Das Parfum“ daher der zweite Versuch in diese Richtung. Die Lektorin ist wie gesagt skeptisch, es bleibt abzuwarten, wie der Roman besprochen wird.

Anchalee: Deshalb ist es gut, dass das Goethe-Institut etwas Neuartiges in dieser Richtung angestoßen hat.
 
Ashani: Wir versprechen uns von dem Theaterstück, dass neue Vorstellungen und Bilder im Zusammenhang mit der Literatur entstehen und Interesse an anderen Themen geweckt wird.
Topeongpong beim Lilienfeld Stand Topeongpong beim Lilienfeld Stand | Foto: Goethe-Institut/Marilen Daum
Anchalee: Krankheiten kommen überall vor, sie sind etwas Universales. Aber Thomas Melle hat auch im deutschsprachigen Raum etwas Neues angestoßen, mit der Art wie er über seine eigene Erkrankung schreibt. Das gab es vorher so nicht in der deutschsprachigen Literatur. Ich denke, über Schwächen spricht man überall im Allgemeinen ungern. Insofern hat Thomas großen Mut gezeigt. Sprachlich ist er herausragend.

Ashani: Ja, da bin ich deiner Meinung
 
Anchalee: Allein die Wahl des Titels ist sprachlich neu, aber auch knifflig für Übersetzer. Wir wollten ursprünglich alle Elemente des Titels „Die Welt im Rücken“ beibehalten. Aber das ging einfach nicht. Die „Welt“ sollte in jedem Fall erhalten bleiben und ein Bezug zur Erkrankung. Wir haben den Titel entsprechend gewählt „In der bipolaren Welt“. „Bipolar“ ist allerdings kein medizinischer Fachbegriff, auf Thai kann es auch heißen „konfus“, das heißt, auch die Welt kann konfus sein.
 
Ashani: In meinem Fall hat sich der Verlag für den Titel entschieden und hat eine Entsprechung zu „bipolar“ gewählt, wörtlich übertragen ließe sich das mit „Ich verliere mich“ oder aber auch „Verlorenes Ich“.

Wenn ich mir vorstelle, welchen großen Mut Thomas Melle gezeigt hat. Ich selbst kann mir das für mich nicht vorstellen.

Übrigens ist das nicht nur mein erster Besuch auf der Frankfurter Buchmesse, sondern zum ersten Mal ist überhaupt eine singhalesische Übersetzung auf dieser großen Bühne vertreten.
Die Podiumsdiskussion mit Publikum Die Podiumsdiskussion mit Publikum | Foto: Goethe-Institut/Markus Kirchgessner
Anchalee: Die Messe erlebe ich als unglaublich bunt und lebendig. Unser gemeinsamer Besuch und das Programm waren  toll.
 
Ashani: Ein spannendes Programm.
 
Anchalee: Ich finde es klasse, dass wir die „Pioniergruppe“ sind und das Merck Social Translating Projekt hier vorgestellt wird. Schön wäre, wenn man darüber hinaus noch weitere Vorstellungsmöglichkeiten hätte, etwa Audiovisuelles oder Digitales über einen Monitor an einem Stand. Das wäre mein Vorschlag für eine mögliche zweite Runde eines solchen Projekts.

Ich habe das Mitmachen in keinem Fall bereut und würde noch einmal mitmachen.
 
Ashani: Da schließe ich mich ganz an.

Anchalee: Ich würde gern als Zaungast dabei sein oder unterstützend für die nächste Gruppe der Übersetzer. Oder bei der Auswahl des Buches.
 
Ashani: Für Übersetzer ist es einfach eine große Hilfe und Unterstützung.
 
Anchalee: Man hat beim Übersetzen ja häufig keine Zeit für einen Austausch mit anderen Kollegen, man übersetzt meist unter enormem Zeitdruck. Aber eins habe ich vor allem gelernt, wie wichtig dieser Austausch ist und dass man viel Zeit, etwa für Recherchen oder die Klärung vieler Bedeutungen, spart. Für weitere Bücher würde ich einen solchen Austausch gerne wieder nutzen können. Es ist eine große Chance.
 
Ashani: Wir leben in einer schnellen Welt und die Literatur kann dazu beitragen, die Welt etwas „kleiner“ zu machen, im dem Sinne, dass man ein besseres Verständnis Themen gegenüber aufbringen und gewinnen kann. Die Übersetzer lenken den Blick auf das Lesen, die Literatur. Hier lässt sich Toleranz zeigen, eine Verbindung aufbauen, die Vielseitigkeit der Welt abbilden, andere Meinungen, und wie wichtig es ist, tolerant zu sein. Das zeigt sich auch unter den Übersetzern.

Das Projekt zeigt das in aller Fülle. Es ging um die Übersetzung von Thomas' Roman und den Austausch mit ihm und unter uns. Und dieser Austausch war mit dem Besuch in Seoul im letzten Jahr und nun der Messe in Frankfurt nicht nur digital. Gestern Abend, als wir in der Kneipe Germania waren und eigentlich alle müde waren, da kamen wir bei einem Ebbelwoi zusammen, das ist Leben.

Die Kaffeepause mit lebhaftem Rückblick auf die Zeit des Übersetzens und Ausblick auf künftige Aktivitäten geht zu Ende, Anchalee und Ashani setzen ihren Rundgang auf der Messe fort, bevor sie am Abend mit allen Übersetzerinnen und Übersetzern zu einem gemeinsamen letzten Abendessen zusammen kommen werden.

 
<< zurück
 nächster Beitrag >>

  Seitentrenner 1

Top