Reading 1989 Globally
On the interconnectivity between Asia and the Fall of the Berlin Wall

International Conference in cooperation with the Research Institute of Comparative History and Culture, Hanyang University. Nov. 6-8, 2014

Menschen auf der Berliner Mauer im November 1989 © Bundesstiftung Aufarbeitung, Fotobestand Uwe Gerig Menschen auf der Berliner Mauer im November 1989 Bundesstiftung Aufarbeitung, Fotobestand Uwe Gerig
It is twenty-five years since the Berlin Wall fell. On a grey November night the world was enthralled by the events unfolding in  Germany’s largest city. The country and city were still divided and yet to be officially re-united. What did the crumbling of the “iron curtain”  signify for the rest of the world, which itself was still mostly divided into an Eastern and Western block?  What were the outside forces that might have facilitated the fall of the Berlin Wall and German reunification? Taking a distinctly Asian perspective, historians and social scientists from Asia and Europe will take a fresh look at the fall of the  Berlin Wall and 1989 as a global turning point. A transnational approach will be applied in order to gain new insights.

Programm


The paper addresses the category of global moments in its relationship to the conceptual framework of critical junctures of globalization as a useful tool for rereading global history before he comes to its application to 1989. It differentiates between three dimensions in the use of such a category. First of all it looks at the role of critical, sometimes even revolutionary rupture in longer lasting processes. These “turning points” may be important to different places and regions but not necessarily to the whole world. The second dimension of that notion that is related to the “message” or “meaning” of such a caesura across cultures, continents and power configurations is also important. What will become more and more important is a third dimension of the notion of a global moment which is related to memory. What is striking already is the fact that “1989” that was associated to so many “endings” has developed a new dimension of meaning which is related to the coloured revolutions as well as to the Arab Spring – as a new beginning in the history of emancipatory movements.
 
Matthias Middell is a professor in the department of history at the University of Leipzig. His main research interests include global history with emphasis on spatial configurations; cultural transfers between France and Germany as well as the history of historiography in the 19th and 20th century. Among his recent publications includes Self-Reflexive Area Studies (2013), and Transnational Challenges to National History Writing.

This article aims to explore the selective use of the German past of the Nazi regime during and after the 1989 June Fourth Movement at Tiananmen Square from the perspective of transcultural memory making. During the movement, the pro-democracy protesters manipulated many “foreign” pasts to rationalize their sacred cause and to discredit the official oppression. Among many, they recalled the German “ghosts” of Nazi in their posters, handbills, and underground newsletters in order to describe the PRC government as a totalitarian dictator regime. In the post-Wall period, in order to call for official rehabilitation of the June Fourth Movement, pro-democracy advocates would on the one hand compare the PRC government’s military suppression of the June Fourth Movement to the Nazi regime’s injustice, and, on the other hand, urge the PRC government to learn lessons from the German overcoming with their national trauma of the Nazi Holocaust. In 1989 and after, we see the memory making of the transculturally selective use of the German past around Tiananmen for the Chinese sake.

Tsung-Yi Pan is a specialist in the field of memory studies. He is especially interested in exploring the material and spatial foundation of the construction of Chinese official memory and national identity. He is conducting a national project concerning the construction of national memorial spaces in capital cities, such as the “Memory District” in Taipei, Holocaust Memorial in Berlin, Red Square in Moscow, Lincoln Memorial in D.C., and Gwanghwamun Square in Seoul.

On January 7th, 1989, Hirohito, the Emperor Showa, died. Since his enthronement in 1926, he ruled Japan for twenty years with limitless power. Even after Japan’s defeat in 1945, Hirohito remained on the throne for forty-four more years as a “symbol” of Japanese democracy and peace. It might be a mere coincidence that both the fall of the Berlin Wall and the death of Hirohito happened in the same year, 1989. On the other hand, considering that it was the Cold War world order that enabled Hirohito’s continuous reign without being held responsible for the devastating warfare, the two incidents entail a symbolic meaning. In an attempt to overcome the bleak postwar history that began with defeat and occupation, the death of Emperor Showa became a turning point from which Japan began constructing its new national identity. This presentation attempts to shed light on the new development and conflicts concerning the reconstruction of Japan’s national identity by focusing on the process of the designation of Showa Day.
 
Younghae Han is a professor of Japanese Studies at Graduate School of International Studies, Seoul National University. Her research interests are civil society, collective memory, diaspora and identity. She is the author of several books including Tokyo Metropolice: civil society, disparity, ethnicity (editor, co-author, 2012), Multicultural Japan and Identity Politics (co-author, 2010), Japanese Community and Grassroot Social Movement (2004), Understanding Contemporary Japanese Society (2001).

The collapse of the Cold War system provided a good opportunity for South Korea not only to expand its market to the former communist area, but to improve relationship with her traditional enemy, North Korea and China. As a result, trade size was increased dramatically and new relationship with North Korea and China was started since 1989. However, at the same time, strong conservative idea with statism was emerged since 1989. A terror as well as publication by the conservative groups were started shortly since 1989. This paper would like to examine what triggered this phenomena and what would happened since 1989 in Korean politics and academia. 
 
Tae Gyun Park is a professor of Graduate School of International Studies at Seoul National University. He was also a visiting fellow and special student at Harvard-Yenching Institute. His most recent publication includes An Ally and Empire, US Korea Relationship between 1945 and 1980 (2013).

The representative post-war Japanese "foku" (folk song as a genre of J-Pop song), the "Children Who Don't Know War” premiered at the Expo '70 (Osaka) in 1970, and was sung as an antiwar song in conjunction with the anti-Vietnam War movement at the same time. However, this song suggested not only a longing for world peace by the war inexperienced generation, but also the generational conflict between the "Adults Who Know War" and themselves. In Japan, the year 1995 was the biggest turning point in terms of structural transformation after 1989 because of the Great Hanshin earthquake and the Tokyo subway sarin attack carried out by the cult group, Aum Shinrikyo. Twenty five years later, the young people known as "Children Who Don't Know War" turned to the right, toward the rehabilitation of their Grand fathers ’honor from their war responsibilities. I will examine the meaning of this drastic turn in the war recognition of the younger generation as well as their postwar recognition.
 
Hideto Tsuboi, Dr. (1959-) is a Japanese literary and cultural scholar, Professor of the International Research Center for Japanese Studies, Kyoto, whose publication includes Fest of Voices: Modern Japanese Poetry and War (University of Nagoya Press, 1997), Modernity of the Sensibilities: Voice, Body and Representation (University of Nagoya Press, 2006), and Sexuality Speaks: Sex/Gender and Body in the Literature in Twentieth-Century Japan (University of Nagoya Press, 2012).

Despite the global nature of the so-called ‘third wave’ of democratisation of the late 20th century, our knowledge of how these developments were connected across regions is still limited. Although much work has been done on these processes in different regional contexts, and comparative work carried out on post-authoritarian transitions and memories, there has yet to be any sustained scholarship that examines the ‘entangledness’ of these changes in the context of global processes of the late Cold War and its aftermath. This paper will explore the case of eastern Europe. Drawing both on my own research in Hungary and other examples drawn from the region, this paper will explore additional areas of influence: how did a range of actors – from politicians, to economic experts and dissidents – place themselves within a transformation which was happening globally? How did knowledge of, and practices derived from, areas which had undergone, or were undergoing, major transformations shape eastern European actors’ understandings of change within their own societies, and influence processes of transformation?
 
James Mark is a Professor of History at the University of Exeter, UK. He is author of The Unfinished Revolution, Making Sense of the Communist Past in Central-Eastern Europe (Yale, 2010), and co-author of Europe’s 1968, Voices of Revolt (OUP, 2013) and Che in Budapest, and Global Revolution in the Eastern Bloc (in preparation).

When students occupied Tiananmen Square in May of 1989, the Western Media read it as a democracy movement and a sign for the coming collapse of Communist rule in China. However, the CCP (Communist Party of China) is still in power today.  25 years after the so-called “June 4-Incident”, the paper will compare the student movement of 1989 with the social movements in 1957 and 1966. All three movements broke out against the background of a split in the central leadership of the CCP and a crisis of state socialism in Eastern Europe. Building on discussions about social movements, the paper will work out patterns of protest in the PRC (People’s Republic of China) from the 1950s to the 1980s. Furthermore, it will be shown why the conflicts between state and society ended in violence. It is clear that events in Eastern Europe had an important impact on China. However, the nature of the protests and Communist rule seems to be different. Last but not least, the paper will explain how the CCP survived the crisis of 1989.

Felix Wemheuer is professor for Modern China Studies at the University of Cologne. He published several articles and books on the Mao era and the Great Leap Forward Famine. In 2014, Yale University Press published his monograph Famine Politics in Maoist China and the Soviet Union.

As one of the three divided states bequeathed from the cold war era, Taiwan was impacted by the fall of the Berlin War in paradoxical ways. The unification of the FRG and the GDR did arouse a wave of heated discussions on demilitarizing Taiwan’s relation with the People’s Republic of China; yet in the next decade or so, we also witness the rising tide of the separationist stream which sought to solve the “divided statehood” conundrum with a declaration of Taiwan’s independence. Furthermore, if the fall of the Berlin Wall and the breakdown of the Eastern European bloc demoralized the leftist forces worldwide, a segment of Taiwan’s left audaciously its fate to the ultimate unification with the PRC, a highly unpopular political choice that delegitimized the left’s pursuits of distributive justice and social equity. This paper uses public records, news archives, and left-wing publications to unravel the contradictory undercurrents between the Taiwanese nationalism and class politics.

Hwa-Jen Liu is an associate professor of sociology at the National Taiwan University. She received her Ph.D. from the University of California at Berkeley and a post-doctoral fellowship from the Fairbank Center of Harvard University. Her research interests include social movements, late industrialization, historical/comparative, and social theory.

The year 1989 marks a seismic shift in the Cold War system of the postwar world. Freed from the yoke of the Manichean politics of the global Cold War, the post-1989 historical imagination shed new lights to the perceived reality of the past through a transnationally, trans-regionally & trans-continentally envisioned future. That explains why Historikerstreit mushroomed in the post-1989 global politics. Mass dictatorship represents one of those Historikerstreite triggered by the post-1989 historical imagination. Liberated from the Manichean demonology of dictatorship, colonialism, genocide and collective guilt, mass dictatorship urged an iconoclastic historical imagination of the twentieth century past and provoked a sharp Historikerstreit in South Korea in 1999. As a person who initiated the mass dictatorship controversy, I will try an ego history-cum-global history of historiography in investigating mass dictatorship in the context of the seismic shift of the global intellectual climate since 1989. The trace of the mass dictatorship debate in South Korea and its transnational echoes exemplify the entangled history of 1989 in the dimension of the historical imagination and global intellectual history.
 
Jie-Hyun Lim is a professor at the department of history at Hanyang University, South Korea. He is a director of Research Institute of Comparative History and Culture, Hanyang University. His publication includes Imperial Arrogance and Colonial Prejudice dialogue with Sakai Naoki (2009) and Antagonistic Complicity (2005). He is an editor of Mass Dictatorship in the Twentieth Century series (Palgrave).

Lecture recording

Matthias Middell (University of Leipzig, Germany): "1989 as a global moment?"
Audio wird geladen

Tsung-Yi Pan (National Dong Hwa University, Taiwan): "Recalling the Native and Alien “Ghosts” around Tiananmen in 1989: A Transnational Perspective of Memory Making"
Audio wird geladen

Hideto Tsuboi (International Research Center for Japanese Studies, Japan): „1995 as Turning Point: Debates over Historical Perceptions in Post Cold-War Japan“
Audio wird geladen

Hwa-Jen Liu (National Taiwan University, Taiwan): „As the Wall Fell, Are We Still Separated by the Sea? Taiwanese Identity and Class Politics in the Post-1989 Era“
Audio wird geladen

Jie-Hyun Lim (Hanyang University, Südkorea): „Mass Dictatorship in Post-1989 Historical Imagination“
Audio wird geladen

Top

Reading 1989 Globally
On the interconnectivity between Asia and the Fall of the Berlin Wall

Internationale Konferenz in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Research Institute of Comparative History and Culture der Hanyang University, 6. - 8. November 2014

Menschen auf der Berliner Mauer im November 1989 © Bundesstiftung Aufarbeitung, Fotobestand Uwe Gerig Menschen auf der Berliner Mauer im November 1989 Bundesstiftung Aufarbeitung, Fotobestand Uwe Gerig
Vor 25 Jahren fiel die Berliner Mauer. Die Welt schaute auf die größte Stadt des noch geteilten Deutschlands, das sich bereits ein Jahr später wiedervereinigen sollte. Was für eine Bedeutung hatte dieses Ereignis für den Rest der Welt, der damals noch in Ost- und Westblock geteilt war? Was für Einflüsse außerhalb Deutschlands haben die Wiedervereinigung begünstigt und ermöglicht? Vor allem die Ereignisse in China im Juni 1989 könnten eine entscheidende Rolle gespielt haben. Wissenschaftler aus Asien und Europa werden den Mauerfall und das Jahr 1989 einer neuen Betrachtung unterziehen, und zwar aus der Perspektive Asiens. Ein transnationaler Ansatz soll gewählt werden, um neue Erkenntnisse zu gewinnen.

Programm


Der Vortrag analysiert kritische globale Momente als nützliches Instrument für die Neuinterpretation der Weltgeschichte vor 1989. Dabei wird zwischen drei Dimensionen unterschieden: Die erste Dimension befasst sich mit kritischen, manchmal sogar revolutionären Wendepunkten, die für einzelne Gebiete und Regionen, aber nicht zwangsläufig für die ganze Welt relevant sind. Die zweite Dimension bezieht sich auf die „Bedeutung“ solcher kritischen Augenblicke für Kulturen, Kontinente und Machtverhältnisse. Die dritte Dimension globaler Momente, die sich mit Gedächtnis auseinandersetzt, wird zunehmend wichtiger. Auffällig ist, dass das Jahr 1989, das mit so vielen „Schlusspunkten“ assoziiert wird, auch in Verbindung mit den Farbrevolutionen oder dem arabischen Frühling steht – und zwar als Neuanfang in der Geschichte der emanzipatorischen Bewegungen.
 
Matthias Middell ist Professor für Geschichte an der Universität Leipzig. Seine Hauptforschungsinteressen umfassen globale Geschichte mit dem Schwerpunkt auf Raumstudien; Kulturaustausch zwischen Frankreich und Deutschland; und die Geschichte der Geschichtsschreibung im 19. und 20. Jahrhundert. Zu seinen jüngsten Veröffentlichungen gehören Self-Reflexive Area Studies (2013), und Transnational Challenges to National History Writing.

Der Vortrag erforscht die Vereinnahmung der deutschen Nazi-Vergangenheit während und nach der „4.-Juni-Bewegung“ auf dem Tiananmen Platz 1989 aus der Perspektive des transkulturellen Erinnerns. Während der Protestbewegung wurden zahlreiche „fremde“ Vergangenheiten von den pro-demokratischen Demonstranten manipuliert, um ihren ideologischen Kampf zu rationalisieren und die offizielle Unterdrückung zu diskreditieren. In Postern, Flugblättern, und Rundbriefen wurden deutsche „Geister“ des Nationalsozialismus in Erinnerung gerufen, um damit die Regierung der Volksrepublik China als totalitäres  Diktatorenregime darzustellen. In der Zeit nach dem Mauerfall wurde wiederum auf die deutsche Geschichte rekurriert, um für die offizielle Rehabilitierung der „4.-Juni-Bewegung“ zu plädieren. Zum einen wurde die militärische Unterdrückung der Bewegung mit der Ungerechtigkeit des Nazi-Regimes verglichen, zum anderen wurde die chinesische Regierung dazu aufgefordert, sich an der deutschen Vergangenheitsbewältigung ein Beispiel zu nehmen. Sowohl im Jahr 1989 als auch danach, können wir das Erinnern durch den transkulturell selektiven Einsatz der deutschen Vergangenheit im chinesischen Kontext von Tiananmen betrachten. 
 
Tsung-Yi Pan ist Spezialist im Bereich Erinnerungsforschung. Er interessiert sich besonders für das Erforschen der materiellen und räumlichen Grundlagen für die Konstruktion des offiziellen chinesischen Gedächtnisses und der nationalen Identität. Derzeit leitet er ein nationales Projekt, welches sich mit der Konstruktionen von nationalen Gedenkstätten in Hauptstädten befasst, beispielsweise das Gedenkviertel in Taipei, das Holocaust-Mahnmal in Berlin, der Rote Platz in Moskau, das Lincoln-Memorial in Washington D.C., und dem Gwanghwamun Platz in Seoul.

Am 7. Januar 1989 starb Hirohito, der Showa-Kaiser. Nach seiner Inthronisierung 1926 herrschte er zwanzig Jahre lang über Japan mit unbegrenzter Macht. Auch nach der Niederlage Japans in 1945 blieb Hirohito weitere vierundvierzig Jahre auf dem Thron, als „Symbol“ der Demokratie und des Friedens. Wahrscheinlich ist es reiner Zufall, dass Hirohito im Jahr des Berliner Mauerfalls starb. Dennoch erhalten beide Ereignisse einen besonderen symbolischen Wert, wenn man bedenkt, dass es die Weltordnung des Kalten Krieges war, die Hirohitos fortlaufende Herrschaft ermöglicht hat. Für die Gräueltaten des Krieges wurde er nie verantwortlich gemacht. Der Tod des Showa-Kaisers wurde zum Wendepunkt für die Bewältigung der düsteren Nachkriegsgeschichte, die mit Niederlage und Besetzung anbrach.  Japan begann erst zu diesem Zeitpunkt mit der Konstruktion einer neuen nationalen Identität. Diese Präsentation versucht, Licht auf die neuen Entwicklungen und Konflikte hinsichtlich der Rekonstruktion der nationalen Identität Japans zu werfen. Die Bedeutung des Showa-Gedenktags spielt hierbei eine besondere Rolle.
 
Younghae Han ist Professorin für Japanwissenschaften an der Graduate School of International Studies der Seoul National University. Ihre Forschungsinteressen liegen im Bereich Zivilgesellschaft, kollektives Gedächtnis, Diaspora, und Identität. Sie ist Autorin zahlreicher Werke, darunter Tokyo Metropolice: civil society, disparity, ethnicity (Herausgeberin und Co-Autorin, 2012), Multicultural Japan and Identity Politics (Co-Autorin, 2010), Japanese Community and Grassroot Social Movement (2004), Understanding Contemporary Japanese Society (2001).

Das Ende des Kalten Krieges bot gleich zwei gute Gelegenheit für Südkorea: die Märkte in den ehemaligen kommunistischen Raum zu erweitern und die Beziehung zu den traditionellen Feinden, Nordkorea und China, zu verbessern. Das Handelsvolumen stieg infolgedessen dramatisch an. Neue Beziehung zu Nordkorea und China wurde aufgebaut. Zeitgleich zeichneten sich starke konservative Ideen des Etatismus ab. Terror, Agitation und politische Propaganda gingen nach 1989 von konservativen Gruppierungen entfacht. Dieses Papier untersucht die Auslöser dieses Phänomens und Entwicklungen in der koreanischen Politik und Wissenschaft seit 1989.
 
Tae Gyun Park ist Professor an der Graduate School of International Studies der Seoul National University. Er ist ein ehemaliger Gaststipendiat am Harvard-Yenching Institut. Seine zuletzt erschienene Veröffentlichung trägt den Titel An Ally and Empire, US Korea Relationship between 1945 and 1980 (2013).

Das „foku“ (Volkslied als Genre des J-Pops) der japanischen Nachkriegszeit, „Kinder die keinen Krieg kennen“, wurde bei der Expo '70 in Osaka uraufgeführt. Es wurde als Anti-Kriegslied in Zusammenhang mit der Anti-Vietnamkrieg-Bewegung gesungen. Dieses Lied deutet allerdings nicht nur auf die Sehnsucht der kriegsunerfahrenen Generation nach Weltfrieden, sondern auch auf den Generationskonflikt zwischen den „Kindern“ und den „Erwachsenen, die Krieg kennen“. 1995 war der wichtigste Wendepunkt für die strukturellen Veränderungen Japans: Es war das Jahr des Erdbebens von Kobe und dem Giftgasanschlag der Aum-Sekte in der Tokioter U-Bahn. Fünfundzwanzig Jahre nach der Expo’70 waren die inzwischen erwachsenen „Kinder, die keinen Krieg kennen“ zunehmend Teil der politischen Rechte. Sie forderten die Rehabilitation der Ehre ihrer Großväter für ihre Kriegsdienste. An diesem Beispiel wird die Bedeutung dieses drastischen Wandels in der Wahrnehmung des Krieges der jüngeren Generation untersucht.
 
Hideto Tsuboi, Dr. (1959-) ist ein japanischer Literatur- und Kulturwissenschaftler. Er ist Professor am International Research Center for Japanese Studies in Kyoto. Zu seinen Veröffentlichungen zählen unter anderem Fest of Voices: Modern Japanese Poetry and War (University of Nagoya Press, 1997), Modernity of the Sensibilities: Voice, Body and Representation (University of Nagoya Press, 2006), und Sexuality Speaks: Sex/Gender and Body in the Literature in Twentieth-Century Japan (University of Nagoya Press, 2012).

Trotz der globalen Natur der sogenannten „dritten Welle“ der Demokratisierung des späten 20. Jahrhunderts ist unser Wissen über die überregionalen Verbindungen dieser Entwicklungen noch begrenzt. Obwohl an den Prozessen in den verschiedenen regionalen Kontexten bereits viel gearbeitet, und vergleichbare Arbeit zu post-autoritären Übergängen und Gedächtnissen geleistet wurde, gibt es noch keine nachhaltigen Forschungsansätze, die die „Verwicklungen“ dieser Veränderungen im globalen Kontext des späten Kalten Krieges und dessen Nachspiel untersuchen. Dieses Präsentation erforscht den Fall Osteuropas: Auf der Basis sowohl meiner eigenen Forschungsarbeit in Ungarn als auch anderen Beispielen aus der Region, werden zusätzliche Einflussbereiche untersucht: In welcher Beziehung standen die vielen Akteure -- Politiker, Wirtschaftsexperten, und Dissidenten -- zu den Umbrüchen, die auf globaler Ebene stattfanden? Inwiefern haben die Erfahrungen anderer Gebiete, die solche wesentlichen Übergänge durchlebten, das Verständnis der osteuropäischen Akteure für Veränderungen in ihren eigenen Gesellschaften geprägt? Welchen Einfluss hatten diese globalen Erfahrungen auf die osteuropäischen Transformationsprozesse?
 
James Mark ist Professor für Geschichte an der University of Exeter, Großbritannien. Zu seinen zahlreichen Veröffentlichungen gehören The Unfinished Revolution, Making Sense of the Communist Past in Central-Eastern Europe (Yale, 2010), Europe’s 1968, Voices of Revolt (OUP, 2013), Che in Budapest, und Global Revolution in the Eastern Bloc (in Vorbereitung).

Als Studenten den Tiananmen Platz im Mai 1989 besetzen, wurde das Ereignis von westlichen Medien als Demokratiebewegung und Zeichen für den kommenden Zusammenbruch des Kommunismus in China aufgefasst. Die KPCh (Kommunistische Partei Chinas) ist jedoch heute noch immer an der Macht. 25 Jahre nach dem sogenannten „4.-Juni-Vorfall“ vergleicht diese Arbeit die Studentenbewegung von 1989 mit den sozialen Bewegungen in 1957 und 1966. Alle drei Bewegungen brachen aus vor dem Hintergrund einer Spaltung in der zentralen Führerschaft der KPCh und einer Krise des Staatsozialismus in Osteuropa. Basierend auf Diskussionen über soziale Bewegungen werden Protestmuster in der Volksrepublik China von den 1950ern bis zu den 1980ern herausgearbeitet. Darüber hinaus wird gezeigt, warum Konflikte zwischen Staat und Gesellschaft in Gewalt mündeten. Es ist unbestritten, dass Ereignisse in Osteuropa wichtige Auswirkungen auf China hatten. Dennoch scheint der Charakter der Proteste und der kommunistischen Regierung anders zu sein. Letztlich wird erklärt, inwiefern die KPCh die 1989 Krise überstanden hat.
 
Felix Wemheuer ist Professor für Moderne China-Studien an der Universität zu Köln. Er hat zahlreiche Artikel und Bücher über die Mao-Ära und die Hungersnot des Großen Sprungs nach vorn geschrieben. 2014 wurde seine Monographie „Famine Politics in Maoist China and the Soviet Union“ von Yale University Press veröffentlicht.

Als einer der drei geteilten Staaten, die aus dem Kalten Krieg geboren wurden, hat sich der Fall der Berliner Mauer auf paradoxe Art und Weise auf Taiwan ausgewirkt: Die deutsche Wiedervereinigung entfachte hitzige Diskussionen über die Entmilitarisierung der Beziehung Taiwans zur Volksrepublik China; dennoch bezeugt das darauffolgende Jahrzehnt eine wachsende Separatismus-Strömung: Die Unabhängigkeit Taiwans war als Lösung für das Problem der „geteilten Staatlichkeit“ vorgesehen. Darüber hinaus hatte der Fall der Berliner Mauer und der Zusammenbruch des Ostblocks die Demoralisierung der politischen Linken zur Folge. In Taiwan fand sich ein Teil der politischen Linke sogar mit dem Schicksal der Perspektive einer Wiedervereinigung mit China ab. Dies stellte eine politisch unbeliebte Entscheidung dar, die zur Delegitimierung linker Vorstellungen von sozialer Gerechtigkeittführte. Diese Arbeit verwendet öffentliche Akten, Nachrichtenarchive, und linkspolitische Publikationen, um die widersprüchlichen Unterströmungen zwischen taiwanesischem Nationalismus und Klassenpolitik zu entwirren.
 
Hwa-Jen Liu ist Professorin für Soziologie an der Nationaluniversität Taiwan. Sie promovierte an der University of California, Berkeley und hat im Anschluss ein Forschungsstipendium am Fairbank Center der Harvard University absolviert. Ihre Forschungsinteressen umfassen soziale Bewegungen, Spätindustrialisierung, vergleichende Geschichtswissenschaft und Sozialtheorien.

Das Jahr 1989 bedeutete für die Nachkriegszeit eine wesentliche Abwendung vom System des Kalten Krieges: Befreit vom Joch der manichäischen Politik des Kalten Krieges, warf das post-1989 Zeitalter neues Licht auf die Realitätswahrnehmungen der Vergangenheit durch eine transnationale, transregionale, und transkontinentale Zukunftsvision. Dies erklärt auch warum der Historikerstreit in der post-1989 globalen Politik pilzartig aufschoss. Massendiktatur zählt zu den Historikerstreiten, die von der post-1989er Geschichts-Wahrnehmung provoziert wurden. Frei vom manichäischen Verständnis von Diktatur, Kolonialismus, Genozid und Kollektivschuld, drängte Massendiktatur auf eine ikonoklastische Geschichtsvorstellung des 20. Jahrhunderts und löste damit 1999 einen scharfen Historikerstreit in Südkorea aus. Als Initiator der Massendiktaturkontroverse strebe ich eine Egogeschichte bzw. globale Geschichte der Geschichtsschreibung an, indem ich Massendiktaturen im Kontext der richtungsweisenden Veränderungen in intellektuellen Kreisen seit 1989 untersuche. Die Spuren der Massendiktaturdebatte in Südkorea und ihr transnationalerNachhallillustrieren die verworrene Geschichte des Jahres 1989, und zwar sowohl im Hinblick auf die Dimensionen historischer Vorstellungskraft als auch in Bezug auf die globale Geschichte des intellektuellen historischen Diskurses.
 
Jie-Hyun Lim ist Professor für Geschichte an der Hanyang University, Südkorea. Er leitet das Research Institute of Comparative History and Culture (RICH) der Hanyang University. Zu seinen Veröffentlichungen gehören Imperial Arrogance and Colonial Prejudice Dialog mit Sakai Naoki (2009) und Antagonistic Complicity (2005). Er ist ein Herausgeber von Mass Dictatorship in the Twentieth Century series (Palgrave).

Audiomitschnitte

Matthias Middell (Universität Leipzig): „1989 as a global moment?“
Audio wird geladen

Tsung-Yi Pan (National Dong Hwa University, Taiwan): „Recalling the Native and Alien “Ghosts” around Tiananmen in 1989: A Transnational Perspective of Memory Making“
Audio wird geladen

Hideto Tsuboi (International Research Center for Japanese Studies, Japan): „1995 as Turning Point: Debates over Historical Perceptions in Post Cold-War Japan“
Audio wird geladen

Hwa-Jen Liu (National Taiwan University, Taiwan): „As the Wall Fell, Are We Still Separated by the Sea? Taiwanese Identity and Class Politics in the Post-1989 Era“
Audio wird geladen

Jie-Hyun Lim (Hanyang University, Südkorea): „Mass Dictatorship in Post-1989 Historical Imagination“
Audio wird geladen

Top