Asian Composers Showcase
Premiere Concert 2015

ACS 2015 Premiere Concert
ACS 2015 Premiere Concert | Photo: TIMF

The world premiere of the four new compositions took place at the Tongyeong International Music Festival (TIMF) on March 29, 2015. Soo-Yeoul Choi directed the Ensemble TIMF. 

An international jury has awarded this year’s Goethe-Award to composer Jeehoon Seo for his composition Phantasmes pour daegum et ensemble. The five jury members state their reasons for this decision as follows:

“The Jury of the 2015 Asian Composers Showcase acknowledges the outstanding quality of the four works premiered here today. 

All pieces displayed masterful use of musical writing skills; creating independent, organic and authentic voices which reflect the vibrancy and creative potential of contemporary music. In doing so, they make a meaningful and lasting contribution to the legacy of Isang Yun: Connecting the East and the West through very personal musical statements. The jury is confident that these voices will continue to be heard.

The jury was especially drawn to one particular work by its sophistication, its artistry, its richness in colour, its deep musical texture –  and its surprises. The sensitive dramaturgy, demonstrated an ability to adopt an unconventional approach to sound and orchestration, especially by skillfully integrating an „Asian“ wind instrument into a classical chamber ensemble. 

The 2015 Asian Composers Showcase Goethe-Award goes to Jeehoon Seo.”

In addition, Kwang Ho Cho received the Audience Award for his piece Garden of Silence I.

The Jury

Fazil Say Fazil Say | Photo: Marco Borggreve Fazıl Say, Artist in Residence and Composer in Residence of TIMF 2015, is a world famous pianist and composer. In 1997, he attracted international attention with the piano piece Black Earth. In the year 2007 he aroused international interest with his Violin Concerto 1001 Nights in the Harem and scored a further great success with his first symphony, the Istanbul Symphony, premiered in 2010 at the conclusion of his five-year residency at the Konzerthaus Dortmund. Fazıl Say’s works are issued worldwide by the renowned music publishers Schott.

Yip Wing-sie Yip Wing-sie | Photo: Yvonne Chan Yip Wing-sie is a highly respected and influential figure in Asia’s orchestral music scene. In 1985, she won the First Prize as well as Lyre d’Or in the 35th Concours International de Jeunes Chefs d’Orchestre de Besançon, France. She was principal conductor and later music director of Guangzhou Symphony Orchestra as well as resident conductor of Hong Kong Philharmonic Orchestra and received the honour of Chevalier de l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres from the French Ministry of Culture and Communication. Music director and conductor of Hong Kong Sinfonietta since 2002, Yip has taken the orchestra on tour to Canada, the USA, Japan, France, Italy, Poland, China and South America.

Uzong Choe Uzong Choe | Photo: Uzong Choe Uzong Choe studied composition and theory of music at Seoul National University, Mozarteum in Salzburg, and Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique de Paris. He took first place in composition at Dong-A Music Competition, was awarded with Young Artist Award in 2006 and also was a nominee for Gaudeamus International Composers Award. Since 2001, he is a professor of the Department of Composition at Seoul National University. At the same time, he is working as the artistic director of Ensemble TIMF.

Hans-Georg Hofmann Hans-Georg Hofmann | Photo: Hans-Georg Hofmann Hans-Georg Hofmann studied music and literature in Halle/Saale (Germany) and earned his PhD at the University of Bern. After his employement at the Kammerorchester Basel he is now working for the Sinfonieorchester Basel, where he is responsible for the artistic management. He was curator of the festival “Schweizgenössisch” at Radialsystem Berlin and since 2013 he is also the president of the festival “KlangBasel” in Switzerland.

Stefan Dreyer Stefan Dreyer | Photo: Chosun Ilbo Stefan Dreyer is head of Goethe-Institut Korea and regional director of East Asia.