International Relief Fund

Two Lebanese cultural institutions selected by the International Relief Fund for Cultural and Educational Organizations set up in response to the Covid-19 Pandemic.

Metropolis Cinema Association and Zoukak Theater Company have been selected from more than 140 applicants worldwide to receive grants to carry out projects to strengthen their institutional resilience and outreach.

The International Relief Fund is a joint initiative of the Federal Foreign Office, the Goethe-Institut and further intermediary organizations. It was set up as a direct response to the crisis caused by the Covid-19 Pandemic, to support cultural and educational organizations in countries where both sectors have no or very few alternative means of support to cope with the effects of the crisis. Selected projects are to be implemented in the period ranging from September 2020 to December 2020.

  • A call for applications has been launched for independent organizational structures, which have long been operating at the local level and that undertake activities to guarantee spaces for pluralistic societies and artistic freedom, inviting them to propose projects with a budget of up to 25,000 Euro.
  • This aid fund is designed to provide short-term financing for projects with a precise objective and timetable for maintaining, rebuilding and developing infrastructure. At the same time, it aims to cover the additional costs of activities such as the acquisition of new equipment or the development of new digital formats in response to the needs that have emerged with the crisis, so that institutions can continue to operate properly.

From Lebanon, Metropolis Cinema Association and Zoukak Theater Company have been successful in the application process with the following proposed projects.

Metropolis Cinema Association is a non-profit organization dedicated to promoting independent cinema in Lebanon and the MENA region through diverse programming, industry training, young audience outreach, and preservation of film heritage in order to allow for greater accessibility to alternative films locally and regionally.

Metropolis on Wheels is a mobile cinema project that consists of indoor and outdoor film screenings followed by discussions in various cities and villages across Lebanon. At the heart of this project are the partnerships with various cultural institutions and venues in the country that will be collaborating with Metropolis to open up its programs to new audiences. In a time of socio-political and economical instabilities, Metropolis wishes to decentralize its screenings to create a more flexible program, one that can move, transform and adapt according to the new challenges. The screenings will be followed by discussion sessions that will focus on the cinema as a space for a shared collective experience of dialog and exchange.

An article by Jim Quilty about the project

Zoukak Theater Company was founded in 2006 as a non-hierarchical structure dedicated to theater practice as a social and political engagement, with a belief in theater as a space for collective reflection and in collectivity as a position against marginalizing systems. The theater company positions itself outside the dominant discourses through direct actions within marginalized communities.

Recovery of Zoukak Studio is a project that was launched as a direct response to the explosion that took place in the heart of Beirut on August 4, 2020 - noting that Zoukak's studio is located a mere 1 kilometer from where it exploded. The company believes that in times of severe social crisis, culture is as important as humanitarian aid and heritage restoration, as it enables the creation of a variety of narratives that help residents stay, dream, feel, work and live. The team has come up with an initiative that positions the studio at the crossroads of different paths of action, and which is driven by three main guidelines; the first is to create a safe space for groups from civil society to gather and plan their next actions; the second is a hub for psychological support for those affected and through tools of theater therapy, while the third is a space for artistic creation for a number of associated artists, aspiring theater makers and young trainee.

The international 2020 Relief Fund for Organizations in Culture and Education was set up on the initiative of the Federal Foreign Office and the Goethe-Institut together with partners who came together in a consortium for this purpose. The Foreign Office provided basic funding of three million euros, the allocation of which is coordinated by a team at the Goethe-Institut. Numerous cultural organizations and private donations from Germany, including the Berliner Künstlerprogramm of the DAAD, the German UNESCO Commission, the S.Fischer Foundation, the Stiftung Mercator, the Robert Bosch Stiftung and the Siemens Stiftung and the Goethe-Institut, have also provided funds or are participating with their own projects.

The International Relief Fund is an initiative of:
AA + GI En

Consortium partners are:
Bosch + Fischer

Internationaler Hilfsfonds

Bewerbungen von zwei libanesische Kulturinstitutionen für den Internationalen Hilfsfonds 2020 für Organisationen in Kultur und Bildung ausgewählt. Der Fonds wurde als Reaktion auf die Covid-19 Pandemie ins Leben gerufen.

Die Projekte von Metropolis Cinema Assoziation und Zoukak Theater Company wurden aus weltweit mehr als 140 Bewerbungen ausgewählt. Beide Institutionen stärken durch die vorgeschlagenen Initiativen die institutionelle Resilienz sowie Reichweite ihrer Programme.

Der Internationale Hilfsfonds, eine gemeinsame Initiative des Auswärtiges Amtes, des Goethe-Instituts und weitere Mittelorganisationen, wurde als direkte Reaktion auf die Covid-19 Pandemie eingerichtet. Durch den Fonds werden Kultur- und Bildungsorganisationen in Ländern unterstützt in welchen kaum Möglichkeiten zur Unterstützung von kulturellen Akteuren zur Bewältigung der Krise und deren Auswirkungen existieren. Die ausgewählten Projekte werden im Zeitraum September 2020 bis Dezember 2020 umgesetzt.

  • Die Ausschreibung des Fonds richtete sich an unabhängige Organisationsstrukturen die seit langem auf lokaler Ebene tätig sind und die sich dafür einsetzen, Räume für pluralistische Gesellschaften und künstlerische Freiheit zu schaffen. Projekte konnten bis zu einem Budget von bis zu 25.000 Euro eingereicht werden.
 
  • Der Hilfsfonds leistet eine kurzfristige Finanzierung für Projekte mit einem klar definierten Ziel und Zeitplan für die Instandhaltung, den Wiederaufbau und die Entwicklung von Infrastruktur. Zudem können zusätzliche Kosten für Aktivitäten wie die Anschaffung neuer Geräte oder die Entwicklung neuer digitaler Formate als Reaktion auf die mit der Krise entstandenen Bedürfnisse gefördert werden. Institutionen werden dabei unterstützt ihre Aktivitäten und Projekte unter den Bedingungen der Pandemie fortführen zu können.
Die Projekte von Metropolis Cinema Assoziation und Zoukak Theater Company wurden im Bewerbungsprozess ausgewählt.

Die Metropolis Cinema Assoziation ist eine gemeinnützige Organisation zur Förderung des unabhängigen Kinos im Libanon und in der MENA-Region. Metropolis bietet ein vielfältiges Programm und engagiert sich für die Ausbildung in der Branche, die Erschließung eines jungen Publikums und die Bewahrung des Filmerbes. Auf lokaler und regionaler Ebene fördert Metropolis damit Zugänge zum unabhängigen Film für ein breites Publikum.

Metropolis on Wheels ist ein mobiles Kinoprojekt, welches Indoor- und Open-Air-Filmvorführungen mit anschließenden Diskussionen in verschiedenen Städten und Dörfern des Libanon vorsieht. Im Mittelpunkt des Projekts stehen die Partnerschaften von Metropolis mit verschiedenen Kultureinrichtungen und Veranstaltungsorten im ganzen Libanon und das Schaffen von Zugängen zum Film für neue Zielgruppen. In Zeiten gesellschaftspolitischer und wirtschaftlicher Unsicherheit fördert Metropolis die Dezentralisierung mit einem flexiblen Programm welches sich entsprechend den neuen Herausforderungen bewegen, verändern und anpassen kann. Die Diskussionsrunden im Anschluss an die Filmvorführungen stärken das Kino als einen Raum für kollektive Erfahrung des Dialogs und des Austausches.
 
Die Zoukak Theater Company wurde 2006 als nicht-hierarchische Struktur gegründet. Zoukak versteht seine Theaterpraxis als soziales und politisches Engagement und das Theater Ort für gemeinsame Reflexion und kollektive Position gegen marginalisierende Systeme. Die Theaterkompanie positioniert sich durch direkte Aktionen innerhalb marginalisierter Gemeinschaften und damit außerhalb der dominanten Diskurse.

Recovery of Zoukak Studio ist eine direkte Reaktion auf die Explosion im Zentrum Beiruts am 4. August 2020 – das Studio Zoukak liegt nur einen Kilometer von der Explosionsstelle entfernt. Die Theaterkompanie unterstreicht in ihrem Projektvorschlag den Stellenwert von Kultur, gerade in Zeiten schwerer sozialer Krisen, und ihre Relevanz vis-a-vis humanitärer Hilfe und der Restaurierung des Kulturerbes. Kultur ermöglicht eine Vielzahl von Erzählungen sichtbar zu machen, die den Bewohner*innen dabei helfen kann zu bleiben, zu träumen, zu fühlen, zu arbeiten und zu leben. Das Team hat eine Initiative entwickelt, die das Studio an der Schnittstelle verschiedener Aktionspfade positioniert und von drei Hauptleitlinien geleitet wird; erstens soll ein sicherer Raum für Gruppen aus der Zivilgesellschaft geschaffen werden, in dem diese sich versammeln und ihre nächsten Aktionen planen können; zweitens soll ein Zentrum für psychologische Unterstützung der Betroffenen mit den Möglichkeiten der Theatertherapie geschaffen werden, drittens soll ein Raum für das künstlerische Schaffen von assoziierten Künstler*innen von Zoukak, angehenden Theatermacher*innen und jungen Auszubildenden entstehen.
 
Der Internationale Hilfsfonds für Organisationen in Kultur und Bildung 2020 wurde auf Initiative des Auswärtigen Amts und des Goethe-Instituts gemeinsam mit Partnern eingerichtet, die sich hierfür in einem Konsortium zusammengefunden haben. Das Auswärtige Amt stellte die Grundfinanzierung von drei Millionen Euro zur Verfügung, das Goethe-Institut koordiniert den gesamten Fonds mit einem mehrköpfigen Team. Zahlreiche Kulturorganisationen und private Stiftungen aus Deutschland haben ebenfalls Mittel zur Verfügung gestellt oder beteiligen sich mit eigenen Projekten, darunter das Berliner Künstlerprogramm des DAAD, die Deutsche UNESCO-Kommission, die S. Fischer Stiftung, die Stiftung Mercator, die Robert Bosch Stiftung, die Siemens Stiftung sowie das Goethe-Institut.

Der Internationale Hilfsfonds ist eine Initiative von:
AA + GI D

Konsortialpartner sind:
Bosch + Fischer-01