STRINGS OF HOPE 2021 MENTORSHIP

STRINGS OF HOPE 2021 MENTORENPROGRAMM
© Les Musicales Baabdath

The Strings of Hope 2021 Mentorship Program is a collaborative project between The Goethe-Institut Libanon, Les Musicales de Baabdath, The Lebanese National Higher Conservatory of Music and 5 members of the DSO (Deutsche Symphony Orchestra): Adele Bitter (cellist), Elena Rindler (violinist), Susanne Lerche Linder (violist), Clemens Linder (violinist), and Holger Groschopp (pianist).

The aim of the program is to initiate 14 students of The Lebanese National Higher Conservatory of Music to the art and techniques of European and German Chamber Music by strengthening their skills in performing a varied repertoire in varied small formations.
 
During the first part of the program, the German mentors will guide the Lebanese students through a jointly chosen repertoire for a period of 3 months (August-September). The mentorship sessions will be delivered online from Berlin.
 
The second part of the program consists in a 1-week intensive rehearsal and stage performance sessions delivered face-to-face to the students in Beirut at the spacious premises of the Lebanese National Conservatory of Music. The Goethe-Institut Libanon invites the German mentors to stay in Lebanon from October 26 until 31.
 
On Saturday October 30, the student musicians will perform a chamber music concert in the framework of Les Musicales de Baabdath festival. Admission to the performance is free and on booking basis. Further information regarding the performance will follow.
 
Throughout both the face-to-face sessions and the live concert parts of the project, all necessary Covid-19 precautionary measures will be respected.
 
The Students:
Piano: Emmanuel Sebaali, Wiaam Haddad,
Viola: Wissam Abdel Nour, Majd Saad
Violin: Kevin Kanaan, Rita Asdiguian, Sara Helou, Eduard Dayan, Ramzi Kandalaft, Marwa Eid, Alexandra Derkaloustian, Jad Mrad
Cello: Yelinea Khoury, Christian Haddad
 
About the Mentors, all members of the Deutsche Symphony Orchestra:
 
Adele Bitter - Cello:
Ms. Bitter was a student at the University of Music and Performing Arts in Frankfurt am Main. She obtained her Concert Exam with distinction from Josef Schwab at the Hanns Eisler University of Music in Berlin.
She completed additional studies with Lee Fiser (LaSalle Quartet) in Cincinnati / USA and received the diploma of the Markneukirchen International Music Competition. As a member of the ›Ensemble Modern‹, she worked among others at the renowned festivals of Edinburgh and Lucerne.
She was also a member of the Orchestra Academy of the State Opera Unter den Linden Berlin and the Gustav Mahler Youth Orchestra. Since 2001 Adele Bitter has been the auditor in the German Symphony Orchestra Berlin. She played solo concerts with the Berliner Sinfoniker, the orchestra of the Mainz State Theater and the Badische Staatskapelle Karlsruhe.
Adele Bitter is involved in Early Music as a Continuo specialist, among others with Ton Koopman. She recently completed her additional studies in historical performance practice / Baroque violoncello at the Schola Cantorum Basiliensis with Christophe Coin. She founded the Adamello Quartet with members of the German Symphony Orchestra Berlin to express her love for Chamber Music.
 
Clemens Linder - Violin:
Mr. Linder, studied with Maria Kikel, Klara Flieder and Ernst Kovacic in Vienna. In 1991 he won first Prize at the National Youth Music Competition, in 1994 the Advancement Award of the Vienna Symphony Orchestra and in 2000 the Award of the Federal Ministry for Education, Science and Culture.
He performed Solo and Chamber Music with partners such as Ernst Kovacic, Thomas Larcher, Valentin Erben, Jörg Widmann and the Hartog Quartet.
Since 2002 Clemens Linder has been the second violin auditor at the Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin. Since 2004 he is lecturer at the Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler and since 2005 regular section leader of the Mahler Chamber Orchestra.
 
Susanne Lerche Linder - Viola:
Mrs. Linder studied music in Freiburg and Saarbrücken and has a major in Viola. Body work accompanied her through her studies. In 2004, as member of the Mahler Chamber Orchestra, she decided to pursue her fascination for Feldenkrais and began training as a Feldenkrais teacher in Munich. Her teachers were Miriam Pfeffer and Russell Delman, who both learned from Moshé Feldenkrais and worked closely with him.
Since 2008 she has been passing-on her experience to other people through courses and individual lessons.
She is also a permanent viola teacher at the City West music school with a focus on movement-based learning.
 
Holger Groschopp - Piano:
Mr. Groschopp pursued his piano studies in Berlin with Georg Sava. In addition, he studied composition with Isang Yun and song interpretation with Aribert Reimann and Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau. His extensive solo career has taken him to most European countries, the Middle and Far East as well as North and Central America.
Holger Groschopp performed as soloist at major European festivals (Berlin, Salzburg, Montepulciano etc.) and played chamber music with many prominent musicians. He is considered an expert in Contemporary Music and worked intensively with composers such as Isang Yun, Pierre Boulez, Aribert Reimann, Hans Werner Henze, Heinz Holliger and others. He has had also, a close collaboration with Claudio Abbado, Sir Simon Rattle, the Berlin Philharmonic, the DSO Berlin and the Mahler Chamber Orchestra. His six CD’s released on the Capriccio label with transcriptions by Ferruccio Busoni were given highest acclaim by a range of international critics, including highest recommendation in BBC Music Magazine and the US magazine Fanfare.
 
Elena Rindler - Violin:
Ms. Rindler received her first violin lessons at the age of six. She later studied in Lübeck her teachers were Elisabeth Weber, Ning Feng and Hagai Shaham. Over the years she has received scholarships from the Oscar and Vera Ritter Foundation Hamburg and the Possehl Foundation Lübeck. In the 2013 | 2014 season Elena Rindler was funded by the Ferenc Fricsay Academy of the DSO; In addition, she gained further orchestral experience as a member of the Junge Deutsche Philharmonie and as a temporary worker at the Hamburger Camerata. She attended master classes, among others with Thomas Brandis, Nora Chastain, Stephan Picard, Latica Honda-Rosenberg and Donald Weilerstein. Chamber music activities have also taken her to festivals such as the Brahms Festival Lübeck, Young Euro Classic and the Heidelberger Frühling.

STRINGS OF HOPE 2021 MENTORENPROGRAMM

STRINGS OF HOPE 2021 MENTORENPROGRAMM
© Les Musicales Baabdath

Das Strings of Hope 2021 Mentorenprogramm ist ein kollaboratives Projekt zwischen dem Goethe-Institut Libanon, Les Musicales de Baabdath, dem Lebanese National Higher Conservatory of Music und 5 Mitgliedern des DSO (Deutsches Symphonie Orchester): Adele Bitter (Cellistin), Elena Rindler (Violinistin), Susanne Lerche Linder (Bratschistin), Clemens Linder (Violinist) und Holger Groschopp (Pianist).

Durch das Programm sollen 14 Studierende des Lebanese National Higher Conservatory of Music in die Kunst und die Techniken der europäischen und deutschen Kammermusik eingeführt werden, um ihre Fähigkeiten bei der Aufführung eines breit gefächerten Repertoires in verschiedenen kleineren Formationen zu festigen.
 
Während des ersten Programmteils werden die libanesischen Studierenden von den deutschen Mentoren durch ein gemeinsam ausgewähltes Repertoire über einen Zeitraum von 3 Monaten (August-September) geführt. Die Mentoring-Veranstaltungen werden online von Berlin aus durchgeführt.
 
Der zweite Programmteil besteht aus einer einwöchigen Probe und Bühnenauftritten, die den Studierenden in Beirut persönlich in den großzügigen Räumlichkeiten des Lebanese National Conservatory of Music vermittelt werden. Das Goethe-Institut Libanon lädt die deutschen Mentoren vom 26. bis 31. Oktober in den Libanon ein.
 
Am Samstag, dem 30. Oktober, tragen die Musikstudierenden ein Kammermusikkonzert im Rahmen des Les Musicales de Baabdath Festival vor. Der Eintritt zur Veranstaltung ist frei und auf Vorbestellung. Weitere Informationen zur Veranstaltung folgen noch.
 
Während der Veranstaltungen vor Ort als auch bei dem Live-Konzert als Teil des Projekts werden alle notwendigen vorbeugenden Covid-19 Maßnahmen vorgenommen.
 
Die Studierenden:
Klavier: Emmanuel Sebaali, Wiaam Haddad,
Bratsche: Wissam Abdel Nour, Majd Saad
Violine: Kevin Kanaan, Rita Asdiguian, Sara Helou, Eduard Dayan, Ramzi Kandalaft, Marwa Eid, Alexandra Derkaloustian, Jad Mrad
Cello: Yelinea Khoury, Christian Haddad
 
Über die Mentoren, die alle Mitglieder des Deutschen Symphonie Orchesters sind:
 
Adele Bitter - Cello:
Fr. Bitter hat an der Hochschule für Musik und Darstellende Kunst Frankfurt am Main studiert. Sie bestand ihr Konzertexamen mit Auszeichnung von Josef Schwab an der Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler in Berlin.
Sie absolvierte zusätzliche Studien unter Lee Fiser (LaSalle Quartet) in Cincinnati / USA und wurde mit dem Diplom des Internationalen Instrumentalwettbewerbs Markneukirchen ausgezeichnet. Als Mitglied des ›Ensemble Modern‹ arbeitete sie unter anderem auf den namhaften Festivals in Edinburgh und Luzern.
Sie war zudem Mitglied der Orchesterakademie der Staatsoper Unter den Linden und des Gustav Mahler Jugendorchesters. Seit 2001 ist Adele Bitter Vorspielerin im Deutschen Symphonie Orchester Berlin. Sie spielte Solokonzerte mit den Berliner Symphonikern, dem Orchester des Staatstheaters Mainz und der Badischen Staatskapelle Karlsruhe.
Adele Bitter engagiert sich im Bereich der Alten Musik als Continuospezialistin unter anderem mit Ton Koopman. Sie hat kürzlich ihr Zusatzstudium im Fach Historische Aufführungspraxis absolviert / Barockvioloncello an der Schola Cantorum Basiliensis bei Christophe Coin. Sie gründete das Adamello Quartett mit Mitgliedern des Deutschen Symphonie Orchesters Berlin als Ausdruck ihrer Liebe zur Kammermusik.
 
Clemens Linder - Violine:
Hr. Linder studierte bei Maria Kikel, Klara Flieder und Ernst Kovacic in Wien. Er gewann 1991 den 1. Preis beim Bundesjugendwettbewerb, 1994 den Förderpreis der Wiener Symphoniker und erhielt  2000 den Würdigungspreis des Bundesministeriums für Bildung, Wissenschaft und Kultur.
Er absolvierte solistische und kammermusikalische Auftritte mit Partnern wie Ernst Kovacic, Thomas Larcher, Valentin Erben, Jörg Widmann und dem Hartog Quartett.
Seit 2002 ist Clemens Linder Vorspieler der zweiten Violine beim Deutschen Symphonie-Orchester Berlin. Seit 2004 ist er Lehrbeauftragter an der Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler und seit 2005 regelmäßig Stimmführer beim  Mahler Chamber Orchestra.
 
Susanne Lerche Linder - Bratsche:
Mrs. Linder studierte Musik in Freiburg und Saarbrücken und hatte als Hauptfach Bratsche. Die Körperarbeit war ein ständiger Begleiter während ihres Studiums. 2004 war sie Mitglied des Mahler Chamber Orchestra und entschied, ihrer Faszination für Feldenkrais zu folgen, um eine Ausbildung als Feldenkrais Lehrerin in München zu beginnen. Ihre Lehrer*innen waren Miriam Pfeffer und Russell Delman, die beide bei Moshé Feldenkrais gelernt und eng mit ihm zusammengearbeitet hatten.
Seit 2008 gibt sie ihre Erfahrung an andere Menschen in Kursen und im Einzelunterricht weiter.
Sie hat zudem einen Lehrauftrag für Bratsche an der Musikschule City West mit Schwerpunkt auf bewegungsbasiertem Lernen.
 
Holger Groschopp - Klavier:
Hr. Groschopp erhielt seine Klavierausbildung in Berlin bei Georg Sava. Ergänzend studierte er Komposition bei Isang Yun und Liedinterpretation bei Aribert Reimann und Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau. Seine umfangreiche Solokarriere führte ihn in die meisten europäischen Länder, nach Nah- und Fernost sowie Nord- und Mittelamerika.
Holger Groschopp trat als Solist bei großen europäischen Festivals auf (Berlin, Salzburg, Montepulciano usw.) und spielte Kammermusik mit vielen namhaften Musikern. Er gilt als Experte für zeitgenössische Musik und arbeitete intensiv mit Komponisten wie Isang Yun, Pierre Boulez, Aribert Reimann, Hans Werner Henze, Heinz Holliger und anderen zusammen. Eine enge Zusammenarbeit pflegte er auch mit Claudio Abbado, Sir Simon Rattle, den Berliner Philharmonikern, dem DSO Berlin und dem Mahler Chamber Orchestra. Seine sechs beim Label Capriccio erschienenen CDs mit Transkriptionen von Ferruccio Busoni erreichten hohe Anerkennung bei der internationalen Fachkritik, darunter höchste Bewertungen im BBC Music Magazine und in der amerikanischen Zeitschrift Fanfare.
 
Elena Rindler - Violine:
Fr. Rindler erhielt ihren ersten Geigenunterricht im Alter von sechs Jahren. Später studierte sie in Lübeck; ihre Lehrer*innen waren Elisabeth Weber, Ning Feng und Hagai Shaham. Über die Jahre hat sie Stipendien von der Oscar und Vera Ritter-Stiftung und der Possehl-Stiftung Lübeck erhalten. In der Saison 2013 | 2014 wurde Elena Rindler durch die Ferenc-Fricsay-Academie des DSO gefördert; darüber hinaus sammelte sie weitere Orchestererfahrungen als Mitglied der Jungen Deutschen Philharmonie und als Aushilfe der Hamburger Camerata. Sie nahm an Meisterkursen teil, darunter bei Thomas Brandis, Nora Chastain, Stephan Picard, Latica Honda-Rosenberg und Donald Weilerstein. Kammermusikalische Tätigkeiten führten sie zudem zu Festivals wie dem Brahms Festival Lübeck, Young Euro Classic und dem Heidelberger Frühling.